Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Video File Formats > AVI, DivX/Xvid

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10 Apr 2005, 05:12 PM   #1
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2
Default Encoding Avi --> Mpeg1 using TMPGEnc takes me 5 hrs!

Hi,

I am doing an encoding of AVI (1hr clip) --> Mpeg1 using TMPGEnc.
My settings is: MPEG-1, 352X240 29.97fps 2 layer VBR 2, 44Khz 128kbps.

It takes me about 5 hours to encode. My system is: AMD Athlon XP 1.8 (1500Mhz), 512 SDRAM(PC-133), Voodoo2 3000 16MB Graphics, 80GB IDE-7200rpm Maxtor HDD. Windows XP (with DMA enabled for hdd controller)

I am curious to know if this is perfectly normal for a system that I have to encode at such a speed? As I know, my graphics card is old, I wonder if upgrading my graphics card has any improvement on the encoding?

Pls help & advice.
Thanks.
d_chew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 Apr 2005, 07:48 PM   #2
Retired
 
setarip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 24,955
Default

"It takes me about 5 hours to encode. My system is: AMD Athlon XP 1.8 (1500Mhz)"

This doesn't sound out of line for TMPGEnc and your system...
setarip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 Apr 2005, 12:47 AM   #3
Demigod of Digital Video
 
LT. Columbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 10,671
Default

especially for VBR. i always use CBR but i did use it a while ago and i believe that tmpgenc makes 2 passes....CBR encoding would be faster....and i agree with setarip, that encoding time (5hrs) seems perfectly normal with those settings and your pc
__________________
"One day men will look back and say I gave birth to the 20th Century". Jack The Ripper - 1888
Columbo moments...
"Double Shock" "The Greenhouse Jungle" "Swan Song" FORUM RULES
"You try to contrive a perfect alibi, and it's your perfect alibi that's gonna hang ya."
(An Exercise In Fatality, 1974)


LT. Columbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 Apr 2005, 03:27 PM   #4
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2
Default

May I enquire if upgrading a graphics card will help to improve performance of encoding?

My understanding of encoding performance is determined mostly by:

1. CPU (Mhz)
2. Multithread (if using software that support it)
3. Disk (RAID or SATA)
4. RAM


Pls advise.

Cheers
d_chew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 Apr 2005, 04:07 PM   #5
Retired
 
setarip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 24,955
Default

"May I enquire if upgrading a graphics card will help to improve performance of encoding?"

I don't believe so. What WILL improve the processing time when using TMPGEnc is to avoid multitasking (including Internet activity and any unnecessary programs running in either the foreground or background)...

Last edited by setarip; 11 Apr 2005 at 04:09 PM
setarip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 Apr 2005, 01:23 AM   #6
Digital Video Expert
Digital Video Expert
 
reboot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 695
Default

There are only two things that will really increase speed.
1) A much faster CPU.
2) A different encoder.
__________________
My DVDLab (and other) Guides
reboot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT +10. The time now is 01:57 AM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com