Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Other > Archive (Closed) > Video File Formats > AVI, DivX/Xvid

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 9 Feb 2009, 07:36 AM   #1
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 9
Default Encoding uncompressed AVI and preserving quality

Hi,

I have an uncompressed AVI movie that is around 2GB in size. What I want to do is compress the file but not compress it so much that I loose any of the original quality.

For example, I used WinRar and it compressed the file to just over 700Mb which is what I want a video encoder to do. My problem is, how I get this level of compression with the various settings involved with video encoding (I don't understand half of them!)

I can't seem to work out how much compression is too much, where I start to loose the original quality. With WinRar I do not have this problem as I know it will simply compress it as much as possible, but preserving the original quality.

Can anyone give me any advice how to achieve this, and with which encoding settings?

Cheers
Jaffy
jaffy1229 is offline  
Old 9 Feb 2009, 01:34 PM   #2
Administrator
 
admin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 8,675
Default

You can try one of the many lossless codecs - these compress the video, but you do not lose quality with it:

http://www.digital-digest.com/search...lossless+codec
__________________
Visit Digital Digest and dvdloc8.com, My Blog
admin is offline  
Old 10 Feb 2009, 12:56 AM   #3
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
paglamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: 22░38'12.55" N, 88░25'20.87" E
Posts: 2,126
Default

I don't think lossless video codecs will be able to achieve the amount of compression( 2GB to 700 MB) that jaffy desires.
BTW, jaffy, what is the source of your uncompressed avi ? I seriously doubt that your video is uncompressed avi. Uncompressed avi will be nearly 2GB per minute. Is your video only a min. long ?
__________________

ONLY MOMENTS LINGER...DEWDROPS ON A FALLEN LEAF

Last edited by paglamon; 10 Feb 2009 at 01:21 AM
paglamon is offline  
Old 10 Feb 2009, 01:32 AM   #4
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
paglamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: 22░38'12.55" N, 88░25'20.87" E
Posts: 2,126
Default

jobspk,

As I had asked jaffy, what is the source of your "uncompressed" avi ? How do you know it is uncompressed ?
paglamon is offline  
Old 10 Feb 2009, 03:40 AM   #5
Administrator
 
admin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 8,675
Default

Sorry, I didn't read the post properly. It will be very hard to get 2 GB -> 700 MB compression without using some kind of lossy codec.
admin is offline  
Old 10 Feb 2009, 04:28 PM   #6
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,500
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by admin View Post
Sorry, I didn't read the post properly. It will be very hard to get 2 GB -> 700 MB compression without using some kind of lossy codec.
Hi Admin,

Can you give your link for these "Lossy Codecs"!

Thanks,

G!
gonwk is offline  
Old 10 Feb 2009, 06:58 PM   #7
Administrator
 
admin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 8,675
Default

Pretty much all codecs are lossy codecs, unless they are labeled as "lossless". DivX, XviD, H.264 ...
admin is offline  
Old 11 Feb 2009, 08:03 AM   #8
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by paglamon View Post
I don't think lossless video codecs will be able to achieve the amount of compression( 2GB to 700 MB) that jaffy desires.
BTW, jaffy, what is the source of your uncompressed avi ? I seriously doubt that your video is uncompressed avi. Uncompressed avi will be nearly 2GB per minute. Is your video only a min. long ?

The source is originally a MOV file from a Kodak Zi6 video recorder, I then coverted it to AVI with Quicktime with no compression. It is only 36 seconds long.
jaffy1229 is offline  
Old 11 Feb 2009, 02:54 PM   #9
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
paglamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: 22░38'12.55" N, 88░25'20.87" E
Posts: 2,126
Default

Is the AVI file better than the original MOV file ?
paglamon is offline  
Old 12 Feb 2009, 06:02 AM   #10
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by paglamon View Post
Is the AVI file better than the original MOV file ?

I am not sure, but I assume it is the same quality as when Quicktime converted it to AVI, it had no compression
jaffy1229 is offline  
Old 12 Feb 2009, 02:22 PM   #11
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
paglamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: 22░38'12.55" N, 88░25'20.87" E
Posts: 2,126
Default

Why did you have to convert it to AVI ?

Since Kodak Zi6 uses H264 codec, you are getting from the camera a video which is already compressed with a lossy codec. So, some amount of original data is already lost. Saving as uncompressed AVI can thus only preserve the data you have(but increasing the size many fold).The AVI can never be better than the original MOV.

Last edited by paglamon; 12 Feb 2009 at 02:30 PM
paglamon is offline  
Old 13 Feb 2009, 05:58 AM   #12
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by paglamon View Post
Why did you have to convert it to AVI ?

Since Kodak Zi6 uses H264 codec, you are getting from the camera a video which is already compressed with a lossy codec. So, some amount of original data is already lost. Saving as uncompressed AVI can thus only preserve the data you have(but increasing the size many fold).The AVI can never be better than the original MOV.

I cannot use the MOV file format in virtual dub, which is why I need it in AVI format.

This is why I am converting it, but not using any compression because I don't want to loose any of the quality from the original file.
jaffy1229 is offline  
Old 13 Feb 2009, 06:26 AM   #13
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
paglamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: 22░38'12.55" N, 88░25'20.87" E
Posts: 2,126
Default

I think you can open MOV file in Virtualdub via AVISynth script and a directshow filter(like QT alternative).
Anyway, AVIDemux can open MOV file(H264 encoded) straightaway.
paglamon is offline  
Old 13 Feb 2009, 06:58 AM   #14
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
paglamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: 22░38'12.55" N, 88░25'20.87" E
Posts: 2,126
Default

And now there is a plugin to import mov files into Virtualdub.See here:http://www.videohelp.com/tools/Virtualdub
paglamon is offline  
 

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
bad quality when encoding alien999999999 AVI, DivX/Xvid 3 12 Feb 2005 10:34 AM
AVI -> DVD encoding / quality? ..siggi.. DVD Authoring and Editing 8 9 Aug 2002 09:20 PM



All times are GMT +10. The time now is 02:28 PM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com