Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Video File Formats > AVI, DivX/Xvid

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 25 Mar 2002, 12:17 PM   #1

Question-2 FlaskMpeg Aviopen error

I'm kinda new to all this DivX encoding stuff, but I have read almost every gudie ther is on the subject, so I consider myself to be one of those dudes with lots of knowlegde, but zero experience! So when I encountered this error in FlaskMpeg, I was all "Uhhhh, There wasn't anything about this in the guide" The whole thing was that I tried to encode a regular DVD-movie to avi usig Flask and DivX 5.0 pro! I had all the settings figured out, I had opened the ifo-file with thunder.mism and so on and so forth!
When I were to select a codec to use in my encoding, I did as it said in the guide and selected Avi output, but there was just one single codec there that could be used, and It was Cinepak by radius. I never figured out why I couldn't select DivX! So I tried all the other options and found DivX in the OpenDML Avi Output configuration settings! Well Yippie, I Thought and configured the whole damn thing, and pressed flask it, when the f***ing program said something like "An error ocurred when trying to create the file....." I decided to try all options available, and downloaded all versions of Flask (5.694 - 1.1) But I got the same error over and over again! I tried to encode the file using Avi Output and cinepak by radius, and it went smooth! Why is this! Why cant I select DivX in the Avi Output configuration??

Please help me! I'm going mad! Should I give up and try another program?? In that case, which one??
mrBullseye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 Mar 2002, 04:44 PM   #2
Old member

Try frameserving with Avisynth or vFAPI straight into Virtual-/Nandub. It also gives you more options to tweak, which is always a good thing.