Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Video File Formats > AVI, DivX/Xvid

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11 May 2003, 11:55 AM   #1
Member
Member
 
eli2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: 4th Dimension
Posts: 67
Question Help Re-Encode DivX to smaller size

I'm trying to reduce a 30 minute clip by 12 MB and I'm trying to do this inside Nandub. I did something like load the AVI, went to Video > Full Processing, and Video > SBC Ops > Bitrate Calc and set the size to 179 MB. Then after that if I go to File > Save As AVI and start the processing, the program begins to make this huge AVI file that I think will reach 30 GB. The problem is I don't have that kind of free space. Did I do something wrong? I'm using VirtualDub 1.4d right now that was included in an older version of GordianKnot, 0.27 and I'm not planning on upgrading soon. Hmmm, so is there a different way to re-encode?

Thanks.
__________________
-Eli
eli2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 May 2003, 01:26 PM   #2
Retired
 
setarip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 24,955
Default

Sounds like you forgot to select a video codec (e.g. DivX) and are instead saving the file as Uncompressed video...
setarip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 May 2003, 02:55 PM   #3
Member
Member
 
eli2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: 4th Dimension
Posts: 67
Default

Mmmm, how do I select the codec? On the other menu under SBC Options, there were only two choices - Divx and MPEG4v2. Which should I have chosen? Is there a way to pick a real DivX codec. I selected DivX at first and Nandub said it wasn't a good idea to use a hacked version so I picked MPEG4v2. Would that have been the problem?
eli2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 May 2003, 04:32 PM   #4
Old member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 5,417
Default

Please make sure that you have either or both the codecs DivX 3.11 (not any of the more recent ones) and MS MPEG4 V2 installed.
Enchanter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 May 2003, 04:38 PM   #5
khp
The Other
 
khp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Online
Posts: 2,161
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by eli2k
Mmmm, how do I select the codec? On the other menu under SBC Options, there were only two choices - Divx and MPEG4v2.
You are using nandub, not virtualdub. For this to work you need to have divx3.11 or M$MP4-v2 installed (depending on your choise).

Quote:
Originally posted by eli2k

Which should I have chosen?
Whichever you prefer...

Quote:
Originally posted by eli2k

Is there a way to pick a real DivX codec.
Using virtualdub.

Quote:
Originally posted by eli2k

I selected DivX at first and Nandub said it wasn't a good idea to use a hacked version
That's perfectly normal.

Quote:
Originally posted by eli2k

so I picked MPEG4v2. Would that have been the problem?
Yes, if you select MPEG4v2 and you don't have it, you get uncompressed output.
__________________
Donate your idle CPU time for something usefull.
http://folding.stanford.edu/
khp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 May 2003, 06:08 AM   #6
Member
Member
 
eli2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: 4th Dimension
Posts: 67
Default

VirtualDub wouldn't work because the AVI was encoded using VBR. So I tried using DivX 3.11 and the output was okay, although it went under about 16 MB, so it sort of compressed more than I needed it to. Would it be better if I ran the thing that says Two Passes, or would it make no difference?

And the MS MPEG4 V2 codec - I seem to be able to play files encoded in that fine. Do I have to put its DLL or some other file in Nandub's directory?
eli2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 May 2003, 07:39 AM   #7
khp
The Other
 
khp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Online
Posts: 2,161
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by eli2k
Would it be better if I ran the thing that says Two Passes, or would it make no difference?
Yes.

Quote:
Originally posted by eli2k

And the MS MPEG4 V2 codec - I seem to be able to play files encoded in that fine. Do I have to put its DLL or some other file in Nandub's directory?
No, it only have to be installed on the system. I you see it in the list of video compression format's in virtualdub, it should work in nandub.
khp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT +10. The time now is 10:47 AM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com