Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Video File Formats > AVI, DivX/Xvid

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 30 Nov 2002, 07:27 AM   #1
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15
Question-2 How to remove Divx 4.12 to install 5.02

I've installed Divx 5.02 Pro onto my system and for some reason my apps continue to show 4.12 as the Codec being used. I've looked in Control Panel/Add&Remove programs and don't see where I can remove it like 5.02. Anyone know where all it is installed so that I can get it off of my computer and start using 5.02?
peacock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 Nov 2002, 07:31 AM   #2
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
Batman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Gotham City
Posts: 2,317
Default

I believe divx 4.12 contains an uninstaller.
Batman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 Nov 2002, 08:04 AM   #3
khp
The Other
 
khp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Online
Posts: 2,161
Default

That's a little odd, Divx5 should quite happily override divx4 completly. Do you have administrative priviliges when preforming the divx5 install ? (only relevant on Win2k/XP).
__________________
Donate your idle CPU time for something usefull.
http://folding.stanford.edu/
khp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 Nov 2002, 08:23 AM   #4
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15
Default

Batman. The only uninstaller that shows up is for 5.02.

khp, I did try installing 4.12 on another computer then installed 5.02 and it looks to have worked fine. When I checked my divx dlls everything looks normal on the second system, but on the original system I have a couple dlls that are labeled (divx4.12.dll & divx4.dll).?

Thanks for the support both of you!!
peacock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 Nov 2002, 11:36 AM   #5
khp
The Other
 
khp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Online
Posts: 2,161
Default

If you continue to have problems you could try using a different package to get divx5 installed. Like the tsunami filter pack. You can get it from Uncas's page

http://www.atlandide.net/~uncasms/en/index.php
khp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 Nov 2002, 09:27 PM   #6
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15
Default

I'll try that!

Thanks again!!
peacock is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT +10. The time now is 11:08 PM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com