Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Video File Formats > AVI, DivX/Xvid

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 23 Oct 2002, 07:45 PM   #1
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 6
Question-2 It's possible to encode divx with Graphedit ?

Anyone knows how to make a divx file (video : divx codec, audio : mp3) using only Graphedit ? Thanks.
luismmg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 Oct 2002, 09:43 PM   #2
Old member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 5,417
Default

I've seen a guide for it (and I can think of a rough filter combination to achieve that), but why would you want to do that? It's not the most versatile program when it comes to creating decent to excellent quality DivX.
Enchanter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 Oct 2002, 11:26 PM   #3
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 6
Unhappy-2 Why Graphedit to encode divx ?

The reason, why i would like to encode divx with the Graphedit is because it is the only program that i know that can read the most dificulte divx files codecs compilatition that we get over the Internet, and then re-enconde them to the standard format ( divx & mp3 ).
luismmg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 Oct 2002, 11:38 PM   #4
Old member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 5,417
Default

Quote:
dificulte divx files codecs compilatition
Such as? I've never known Virtual/nandub failing to open any DivX files, provided you have the right codec(s) installed.
Enchanter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 Oct 2002, 11:54 PM   #5
Old member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 5,417
Default

I hope this guide can be of some help to you.
Enchanter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 Oct 2002, 11:57 PM   #6
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 6
Default Some "The Others" divx file i got from Kazaa

I have the packs Nimo, ACE MegaPack and ELISOFT.

I downloaded from Kazaa a divx file from the movie "The Othersö that with all this packs installed didn't work in any player. So I render the file in Graphedit, and the graph it generated had broken links, so I link the arrows in the right places and so I was able to see the movie in Graphedit. Unfortunately I already deleted the file because I needed the space, so more details I can't give.
luismmg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 Oct 2002, 12:04 AM   #7
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 6
Unhappy-2

Thanks for the guide "Enchanter", but i already knew that guide, but i only know how to do uncompressed AVIs, compressed AVIs with divx and mp3 codecs i could not do.
luismmg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 Oct 2002, 09:10 AM   #8
Old member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 5,417
Default

Use "File Source (ASync)" to open your existing DivX file, in place of the "I-media Multiple MPEG-2...". Connect it to AVI Splitter. From there, you have likely two streams. Stream00 goes to DivX Decoder Filter, and Stream01 goes to the appropriate MP3 decoder. Both filters then connect to "I-media AVI Renderer" (I don't have this particular filer installed, but I'm positive it will work the same anyway).

My previous question still stands as to why you want to do it this complex way. There are better methods out there. For one, I suggest you open the DivX file you are having trouble with in Virtualdub and go to File -> File Information. It will reveal more information on the file and posting it here will enalble us to tell you what you need to do in order to be able to play the file.
Enchanter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 Oct 2002, 09:22 AM   #9
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 6
Default

The complex way is because i couldn't open the file in VirtuaDub as you said.
luismmg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 Oct 2002, 09:39 AM   #10
Old member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 5,417
Default

What error message did you get when you tried to open the file in VD?
Enchanter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 Oct 2002, 06:55 PM   #11
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 6
Default

It was the simple error message saying " Cannot determine file type of ... "
luismmg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 Oct 2002, 08:00 PM   #12
Old member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 5,417
Default

It is indicative that the file is not of AVI format. It might be others such as MOV, RM, VIV and other proprietary formats.

Since you said that you have successfully opened the file in Graphedit and viewed it (I assume the program has automatically created and connected all the links for you, correct?), you can make some minor modifications to the filter combo so that it will write out the new AVI file. I tried this with a Quicktime file and it opened nicely. I'll need to look for the "I-media AVI Renderer" so I can do some tests on it.

However, I personally think it's too much trouble figuring out what filter combination is required. A better method would be to determine what ACTUAL format the file is in (Try opening the file in Quicktime, Realplayer and anything else that you can think of). From there, you can search for the appropriate program to convert it to AVI.
Enchanter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT +10. The time now is 04:58 PM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com