Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Video File Formats > AVI, DivX/Xvid

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 2 Jan 2003, 08:26 AM   #1
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Missoula, MT, USA
Posts: 21
Default Letterbox in TMPGEnc Plus ?

Can you do letterbox in TMPGEnc Plus? If not what's a good program that will do letterbox and avi to mpg.
Gweedo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2 Jan 2003, 08:54 AM   #2
Digital Video Technician
Digital Video Technician
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 462
Default

If I understood your question correct,you can do this.
Click on the Settings button and change Aspect Ratio under the Video tab to 16:9
gs0666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2 Jan 2003, 08:58 AM   #3
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Missoula, MT, USA
Posts: 21
Default

But then it just scrunches it all up.
Gweedo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2 Jan 2003, 09:04 AM   #4
Digital Video Technician
Digital Video Technician
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 462
Default

"But then it just scrunches it all up."

I don't understand what you mean here.

Also set Video arrange method to Fullscreen (keep aspect ratio 2)
under the Advanced tab
gs0666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2 Jan 2003, 09:07 AM   #5
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Missoula, MT, USA
Posts: 21
Default

That doesn't work.

What I mean is that it takes something this big | | and puts it into a place this big | |.
Gweedo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2 Jan 2003, 09:11 AM   #6
Digital Video Technician
Digital Video Technician
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 462
Default

Have you set Source Aspect Ratio to 16:9 Display.I did a .avi-->VCD conversion a couple of days ago and it worked great on my widescreen TV.
gs0666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2 Jan 2003, 09:17 AM   #7
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Missoula, MT, USA
Posts: 21
Default

Well that didn't exactly work but I did manage to get it all right by setting it to center (custom size) and playing around with the size. Thanks for your help though.
Gweedo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2 Jan 2003, 09:19 AM   #8
Digital Video Technician
Digital Video Technician
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 462
Default

Good for you
gs0666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2 Jan 2003, 09:34 AM   #9
Retired
 
setarip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 24,955
Default Just in case...

If your original .AVI DOES NOT have "black bars" above and below,try the following in TMPGEnc:

Click the "Video" tab and change applicable settings to: 352X240 (PAL 352x288), 4:3 (NTSC or PAL as appropriate) 525 Line. Click the "Advanced" tab and change applicable settings to: "16:9 Display", "Center (Keep aspect ratio)", and 352x240 (PAL 352x288).

Let us know of your success ;>}
setarip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2 Jan 2003, 09:42 AM   #10
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Missoula, MT, USA
Posts: 21
Default

Well, if it wasn't supposed to end up with the black bars I'd say that works nicely, but I'm going for the black bars so I'll just keep going with my conversion on what I already have set. Thanks anyways.
Gweedo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2 Jan 2003, 09:48 AM   #11
Retired
 
setarip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 24,955
Default

You've misinterpreted my post - What I have described WILL give you the desired "black bars"...
setarip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2 Jan 2003, 09:50 AM   #12
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Missoula, MT, USA
Posts: 21
Default

No, that was actually the first thing I thought, that it would give me the black bars. When I tried it though it didn't.
Gweedo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2 Jan 2003, 09:52 AM   #13
Retired
 
setarip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 24,955
Default

I won't press the issue (Although I KNOW that what I've proposed does indeed create the "black bars") - rather, I'll just congratulate you upon resolving your dilemma ;>}
setarip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 Feb 2005, 03:02 PM   #14
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1
Default

a thing i've noticed is that the program makes the avi's very choppy. is there a resolution to this as well?
-Derrick
CoolHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT +10. The time now is 04:37 PM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com