Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Video File Formats > AVI, DivX/Xvid

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 17 Apr 2002, 04:09 AM   #1
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 5
Question MP3 Codec missing in Flask 0.594

I do not get the MPEG Layer 3 option when I'm selecting an audio codec in Flask 0.594. I have uninstalled and re-installed the Radium codec but it still doesn't show up.

I've converted many movies on my old pc running Win98SE and never had a problem.

However, I am now trying on a new pc running Win2k Pro and I've run into this problem. I tried converting and leaving the audio as an uncompressed PCM but I then get a screwed up AVI (file size about 1.78GB) that I can't open.

Please help.

Thanks in advance.
JS23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Apr 2002, 07:04 AM   #2
khp
The Other
 
khp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Online
Posts: 2,161
Default

Try going into 'Control Panel'->'Sounds and Multimedia'->'Hardware'->'Audio Codecs'->'Properties'

Select the radium codec click properties and change the priority to 1.
__________________
Donate your idle CPU time for something usefull.
http://folding.stanford.edu/
khp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 Apr 2002, 01:11 AM   #3
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 5
Default

Yeah, sorry I forgot to mention I did that.

Thanks for the suggestion though.

I have Radium Pro codec installed 1.93 as well (I don't remember the exact number and I can't look right now because I'm not home). I disabled the pro codec and that had no effect either.
JS23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 Apr 2002, 03:29 AM   #4
khp
The Other
 
khp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Online
Posts: 2,161
Default

OK, you have more than one mp3 codec installed ?

Try removeing all but one, I think flask get confused when more than one mp3 codec is installed.
khp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Apr 2002, 10:45 PM   #5
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 5
Default

I tried to remove the Radium Pro Codec but I get a message that basically says I'm not allowed because it is needed by a device.

Is there a reason why the Radium Pro Codec doesn't show up as an MPEG Layer 3 option in Flask 0.594? (With the Radium 1.2?? uninstalled)
JS23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 Apr 2002, 12:31 AM   #6
khp
The Other
 
khp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Online
Posts: 2,161
Default

Sorry, if what I suggested so far doesn't work, I'am running out of idears...

You might try flask0.6 or xmpeg4.5 instead.
khp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 Apr 2002, 12:50 AM   #7
Old member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 5,417
Default

Try processing the audio separately. Extract the audio into uncompressed PCM .wav file using Graphedit or Vob2audio. Send the .wav file into an MP3 encoder, such as LAME, and create an MP3 track, which can be muxed together with the DivX video (from Flask). Virtual/nandub is the tool to use for the interleaving.
Enchanter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 Apr 2002, 05:30 AM   #8
khp
The Other
 
khp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Online
Posts: 2,161
Default

Just thought of something else ...

Do you have a sound card installed on your system ?, as I recall, audio encoding won't work very well in flask, if there is no sound card present on the system... Don't ask me why..
khp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 Apr 2002, 04:18 AM   #9
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 5
Default

I have a Sound Blaster Live 5.1 installed.

However, you just reminded me of something.

When I try to use my ATI DVD player I get an error message saying I need a sound card in order for it to work. However, I installed Power DVD and have no problems playing DVD's. I have no hardware or resource conflicts.

Could this problem be related?
JS23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 Apr 2002, 04:30 AM   #10
khp
The Other
 
khp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Online
Posts: 2,161
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by JS23
I have a Sound Blaster Live 5.1 installed.

I'am using a SB live myself, with the latest drivers I have had no problems, using both win98 and win2k.

Quote:
Could this problem be related?
I don't have a clue...
khp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3 May 2002, 12:59 AM   #11
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 5
Default

I found the problem.

I disabled all of the codecs that were currently installed (again) and the MPEG Layer 3 option appeared. I then re-enabled the codecs one by one until I found the problem.

The problem was an audio codec call ctmp3.acm.

I can only conclude that I missed disabling this one the first time I tried.

Anyway, thanks for your help KHP and you too Enchanter.

BTW can anyone point me to a good two-pass guide using DivX 4.12 with Flask 0.594.
JS23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 May 2002, 03:42 AM   #12
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 3
Default Thanks!!!

Thanks for the posting. I looked all over a lot of forums and could not find help for my problem. My audio codecs disappeared! could not compress for beans!!! and I uninstalled and reinstalled all my codecs, to no avail.
Now it works, for some reason, my audio codecs were disabeled-Don't Ask Me HOW!!!!
Anyway, it works now, so thanks a bunch....
Bo
bosem is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT +10. The time now is 08:19 AM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com