Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Video File Formats > AVI, DivX/Xvid

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11 Jan 2003, 04:23 PM   #1
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 13
Question-2 no video in mpeg after using tmpgenc

I had this divx movie. i used tmpgenc to make a mpeg.
the output file only had sound - no video
what could be wrong?
Lord Setuweath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 Jan 2003, 05:57 PM   #2
Retired
 
setarip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 24,955
Default

1) Make certain that TMPGEnc is set to "System (Video+Audio)" at the lower righthand side

2) "Drag and drop" the .AVI file onto an already opened TMPGEnc. Does the filename appear in BOTH the "Video" and "Audio" sourcefile boxes? If it appears in only the "Audio" sourcefile box, close TMPGEnc and do the following:

1) Load the file into VirtualDub

2) From the "File" dropdown menu, select "File Information"

3) Post (here) EVERYTHING you see (both video and audio information), or post a screen capture .jpg of the information box
setarip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 Jan 2003, 06:21 AM   #3
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 13
Exclamation-2

The preblem is that all that is set right - it is set to System(audio+video), and it appears in both sourceboxes
Lord Setuweath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 Jan 2003, 06:28 AM   #4
Retired
 
setarip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 24,955
Default

If that's the case, it's most unusual that TMPGEnc didn't generate an error message regarding its inability to process the videostream. Therefore, as I mentioned previously, do the following:

1) Load the file into VirtualDub

2) From the "File" dropdown menu, select "File Information"

3) Post (here) EVERYTHING you see (both video and audio information), or post a screen capture .jpg of the information box

Last edited by setarip; 12 Jan 2003 at 07:41 AM
setarip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 Jan 2003, 06:43 AM   #5
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 13
Default

here it is
Lord Setuweath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 Jan 2003, 07:05 AM   #6
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 13
Default AVI Information

It didn't attach it for some reason.

Video Stream:
Frame size, fps (us per frame)....576*304, 23.976fps (41708 us)
# of frames (time):........................................... ......67510 (46:55)
Decompressor:..................................... ...........DivX Pro 5.0 Codec
Number of key frames:........................................... .................838
Min/avg/max/total key frame size:....862/19135/60907 (15660K)
Min/avg/max/total delta frame size:......0/5047/48968 (328662K)

Audio Stream:
Sampling rate:............................................. ....................44100Hz
Channels:......................................... .............................0 (Stereo)
Sample precision:........................................ ...........................0-bit
Compression:........................Fraunhofer IIS MPEG Layer-3 Codec
Preload skew:............................................. 8000 samples (0.18s)
# of frames:........................................... .............................67500
Min/avg/max/total key frame size:..............8/667/8000 (43996K)
Lord Setuweath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 Jan 2003, 07:10 AM   #7
Super Moderator
 
UncasMS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 9,047
Default

make sure to have divx5 installed!
__________________
UncasMS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 Jan 2003, 07:27 AM   #8
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 13
Default

I am sure that it is installed

plus, there is video in the original file
Lord Setuweath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 Jan 2003, 07:32 AM   #9
Super Moderator
 
UncasMS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 9,047
Default

i'm not sure if there might be tmpeg version which do NOT support divx5

have you successfully converted divx5 before?

if not, look around for a different tmpeg version if no better input will come on this matter.
UncasMS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 Jan 2003, 07:45 AM   #10
Retired
 
setarip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 24,955
Default

"Channels:........................................ ..............................0 (Stereo)"

Am I correct in assuming that this is a typo and that the information actually shows the number 2 before "(Stereo)"?
setarip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 Jan 2003, 08:00 AM   #11
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 13
Default

yes, it is supposed to be 2

and no, i have never converted divx5 successfully before
Lord Setuweath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 Jan 2003, 08:06 AM   #12
Retired
 
setarip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 24,955
Default

As UncasMS mentioned, if you're using an older version of TMPGEnc (which may not support the DivX v.5.xx codecs), you should try downloading and installing the most recent version - which I believe is TMPGEnc v.2.59...

If that doesn't do the trick for you, a "last resort" solution would be to change the file's video codec, as follows:

1) Load the .AVI into VirtualDub

2) Set "Audio" to "Direct Stream Copying"

3) Set "Video" to "Full Processing Mode"

4) From under the "Video" dropdown menu, click on "Compression"

5) Select the codec that you want to change TO - If possible, set the adjustable settings to the same as the original file

6) From the "File" dropdown menu, select "Save as AVI" and enter a new filename for the modified file
setarip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 Jan 2003, 08:08 AM   #13
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 13
Default

Actually I have version 2.59.47.155
Lord Setuweath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 Jan 2003, 08:14 AM   #14
Retired
 
setarip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 24,955
Default

Well, I'm certainly mystified then - since other posters to these boards have indicated that they've successfully used TMPGEnc to convert Divx v.5.xx files.

I would, therefore, suggest that you try the aforementioned "last resort" procedure that I described...
setarip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 Jan 2003, 08:21 AM   #15
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 13
Default

I guess i will have to try it

By the way, I forgot to metion this, but my virtual dub, when you open ANY movie, it does not show anything, nor neither does tmpgenc when you try the selection option
Lord Setuweath is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT +10. The time now is 10:43 AM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com