Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Video File Formats > AVI, DivX/Xvid

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 12 votes, 4.17 average. Display Modes
Old 13 Apr 2003, 02:12 AM   #1
Gold Member
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 100
Default resizing avi file...

I have one DivX movie now, but the quality is so bad. It is one cd and the resolution is 720x480. So I believe the main reason is this.I think if i can reduce the resolution somehow, it can be maybe a little bit better as video quality. So my question is, if there is any tool which helps me to reduce the resolution from .avi and create a new one?? Can Virtualdubmod make this?? any idea pleasee...??
secotelli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 Apr 2003, 02:24 AM   #2
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
Batman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Gotham City
Posts: 2,317
Default

Resizing the avi file is unlikely to improve quality. Re-sizing can be accomplished in virtualdub[mod], by using a resizing filter.
Batman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 Apr 2003, 02:26 AM   #3
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
SKD_Tech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: New Orleans, Louisiana
Posts: 1,512
Default

Open the file in VirtualDub(MOD)
Set Audio to Direct Stream Copy
Set Video to Full Processing Mode
Select Filters in the Video drop down menu
Select the resizing filter and configure it

And there ya go!
SKD_Tech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 Apr 2003, 06:50 AM   #4
Gold Member
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 100
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Batman
Resizing the avi file is unlikely to improve quality. Re-sizing can be accomplished in virtualdub[mod], by using a resizing filter.

then if it is not possible to improve the quality by that, is it possible with any way?? do you have any suggestion instead of resizing?? i really need help Batman.....
secotelli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 Apr 2003, 06:51 AM   #5
Gold Member
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 100
Default

By the way SKD_Tech, "configure it" then what?? then i click OK, but after that i dont know what to do... if i try to save as avi, then it says it will be VERY large file.. so i cant do it.. if you explain the end too, i will really appreciate... thanks a lot anyway...

Last edited by secotelli; 13 Apr 2003 at 07:08 AM
secotelli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 Apr 2003, 06:53 AM   #6
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
Batman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Gotham City
Posts: 2,317
Default

Filtering is the only other option. However, there are hundreds possibly thousands of different filters and/or combination of filters that can be used either in Virtualdub or AVISYNTH. You may want to describe in detail what the "quality" issue is (e.g. brightness? macroblocks?). Pay a visit to the avisynth page, and research some avisynth plugins in the doom9 forum.
Batman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 Apr 2003, 07:15 AM   #7
Gold Member
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 100
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Batman
Filtering is the only other option. However, there are hundreds possibly thousands of different filters and/or combination of filters that can be used either in Virtualdub or AVISYNTH. You may want to describe in detail what the "quality" issue is (e.g. brightness? macroblocks?). Pay a visit to the avisynth page, and research some avisynth plugins in the doom9 forum.

i dont know how to explain. my english is not good enough for that.. but macroblocks sound like my problem.. not brightness for sure.. i dont know if its called pixels or not, but this things are soo huge.. i cant explaaaaainn huge squares all around the picture.. when scene moves, for example people are dancing, then picture looks like divided into squares.. if you understand my problem, congratulations... then you are really good....
secotelli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 Apr 2003, 08:09 AM   #8
Super Moderator
 
UncasMS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 9,047
Default

encode the movie from start and use a resolution of 576-640 but dont go much higher for a 1cd rip.

i use lanczos resizer in all cases. maybe a smoother like convolution3d might help as well.
__________________
UncasMS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 Apr 2003, 01:33 AM   #9
Gold Member
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 100
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by UncasMS
encode the movie from start and use a resolution of 576-640 but dont go much higher for a 1cd rip.

i use lanczos resizer in all cases. maybe a smoother like convolution3d might help as well.
Uncas, I didnt encode this movie. I just downloaded it. If I could find the DVD of this movie I would have encoded of course.. and I am your student. You taught me how to encode movies, so there is no chance that my movies come out bad quality.. My master was sooo good.. But this situation is different... I downloaded a movie with e-mule, and wanna know if it is possible to make it a bit better than it is now...
secotelli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 Apr 2003, 01:58 AM   #10
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 6
Default

NNNNNoooooooooooo

In the avi is an amount of information. And if u dont have more, then there isnt more.

Only thing that could work is a little cosmetics. Smoothen it. This wont lead to better pictures. But to less annoying pictures.

greetinx Hemmi
hemmi2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 Apr 2003, 02:35 AM   #11
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
Batman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Gotham City
Posts: 2,317
Default

Before filtering try using the FFDSHOW playback filter, there are some options there to remove deringing/macroblocks.
Batman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 Apr 2003, 09:22 AM   #12
Gold Member
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 100
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Batman
FFDSHOW playback filter
what is that???
secotelli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 Apr 2003, 09:23 AM   #13
Gold Member
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 100
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by hemmi2
NNNNNoooooooooooo

In the avi is an amount of information. And if u dont have more, then there isnt more.

Only thing that could work is a little cosmetics. Smoothen it. This wont lead to better pictures. But to less annoying pictures.

greetinx Hemmi

Thank you Hemmi, but smoothen with which program and how??
secotelli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 Apr 2003, 09:36 AM   #14
Super Moderator
 
UncasMS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 9,047
Default

ffdshow is a alternative playback filter(pack)
http://sourceforge.net/projects/ffdshow/

ffdshow is a very reliable playback filter and many people use no other filter for playback, since ffdshow does an excellent job.

smoothing can be done with noise/antinoise filters like *smoothers* or convolution3d or ......
there are numerous vd/avisynth filters for this task
UncasMS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 Apr 2003, 10:08 AM   #15
Gold Member
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 100
Default

thanks a lot for helping me guys... but i couldnt have figured it out how to install this ffdshow yet... i downloaded it, but i cant make it work...
secotelli is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT +10. The time now is 06:59 AM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com