Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Video File Formats > AVI, DivX/Xvid

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 3 Jan 2003, 07:11 PM   #1
Member
Member
 
HDRed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 52
Default Script Question

Ok I got the .vob files and the .ifo file from my DVD.

I made the .d2v file with DVD2AVI.

Now comes the hard part - the script. Enchanter showed me his template in another post, and I followed it along with the plugins he uses.

LoadPlugin("C:\Rip Tools\Avisynth Plugins\MPEG2DEC.dll")
LoadPlugin("C:\Rip Tools\Avisynth Plugins\DecombLegacy.dll")
LoadPlugin("C:\Rip Tools\Avisynth Plugins\Convolution3D.dll")
LoadPlugin("C:\Rip Tools\Avisynth Plugins\MSharpen.dll")
LoadPlugin("C:\Rip Tools\Avisynth Plugins\Tweak.dll")
LoadPlugin("C:\WINDOWS\System32\vobsub.dll")
mpeg2source("C:\Files\DVD Rips\Sum_Of_All_Fears\VIDEO_TS\d2a\SumOfAllFears.d 2v")
Telecide()
Decimate(cycle=5)
#The above 2 lines are for Inverse Telecining originally-FILM NTSC materials#
Convolution3d(0, 3, 4, 3, 4, 2.8, 0)
crop(0,61,2,66)
lanczosresize(592,240)
VobSub("C:\Files\DVD Rips\Sum_Of_All_Fears\VIDEO_TS\VTS_04_0.IFO")
Tweak(1)

I'm just messing with values, but that's what I'm using now to try out. It shows up as green and purple rectangles in WMP8 LOL

I know I'm not doing it right.....

I installed AVISynth 2.07, but I don't know how to get VirtualDub to load the plugins for AVISynth, like the MPEG2 one that lets me open .d2v files in VirtualDub. How do I do this?

Also, what are some good values for the script up there - like what is the format for entering the crop values? How do I enter the aspect ratio? What do I put for Telecide()? What do I put for convolution3d?

I'm learning folks, and my brain is about to fry here. Please tell me what to do next, thanks!
HDRed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3 Jan 2003, 07:17 PM   #2
Member
Member
 
HDRed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 52
Default

Ok i figured out the tweak part, but still don't know how to do the aspect or the crop??
HDRed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3 Jan 2003, 07:32 PM   #3
khp
The Other
 
khp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Online
Posts: 2,161
Default

You cropping values seem wrong.

The cropping function has the following arguments.

Crop(left,top,width,height)

So if your source is 720*480, and you want to crop 10 pixels off each side it should be.

Crop(10,10,700,460)

You then need to resize (stretch) that to the correct aspect ratio (or as close as possible, while maintaining modulo 16 height and width)

If it's a 16:9 movie the uncropped source should have been resized to 720*405. The calculation for the cropped sorce is obviously a bit more complicated, I do have some perl code that preforms this calculation, but it's really really ugly.
Anyway it's easiest to let GordianKnot calculate this, and then click edit in the save .avs menu in GordianKnot, which lets you edit the avs file that GordianKnot has created for you.
__________________
Donate your idle CPU time for something usefull.
http://folding.stanford.edu/
khp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3 Jan 2003, 07:40 PM   #4
Member
Member
 
HDRed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 52
Default

Ah ok.

Where in GordianKnot does it let you edit->save an .avs file? I don't see it...
HDRed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3 Jan 2003, 07:42 PM   #5
khp
The Other
 
khp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Online
Posts: 2,161
Default

In the 'save .avs menu' after clicking 'Save avs' in the preview window.
khp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3 Jan 2003, 07:45 PM   #6
Member
Member
 
HDRed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 52
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by khp
In the 'save .avs menu' after clicking 'Save avs' in the preview window.
I'm sorry for being so dense - I just don't follow - is this in the window that gives you the preview of the movie where you click "Save and Encode"?
HDRed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3 Jan 2003, 07:47 PM   #7
Member
Member
 
HDRed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 52
Default

OHHH I got it ok - thanks!
HDRed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3 Jan 2003, 07:54 PM   #8
Member
Member
 
HDRed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 52
Default

Now where it says this:
#
# Created with Gordian Knot
#
# http://thewef.nav.to
#
# PLUGINS
# get them from http://users.win.be/dividee
LoadPlugin("C:\PROGRA~1\GORDIA~1\mpeg2dec.dll")
#LoadPlugin("C:\PROGRA~1\GORDIA~1\decomb.dll")
#LoadPlugin("C:\PROGRA~1\GORDIA~1\InverseTelecine.dll")
#LoadPlugin("C:\PROGRA~1\GORDIA~1\Avisynth_Spatial.dll")
#LoadPlugin("C:\PROGRA~1\GORDIA~1\GreedyHMA.dll")
#LoadPlugin("C:\WINDOWS\System32\vobsub.dll")
#LoadPlugin("C:\PROGRA~1\GORDIA~1\SimpleResize.dll")
#
# SOURCE
mpeg2source("C:\Files\DVD Rips\Sum_Of_All_Fears\VIDEO_TS\d2a\SumOfAllFears.d 2v")
#
# TRIM
#trim(startframe,endframe)
#
# IVTC
#Telecide()
#Decimate(cycle=5)
# or use
#InverseTelecine(40,10,15)
#GreedyHMA(1,0,4,0,0,0,0,0)
#
# DEINTERLACING (1)
#FieldDeinterlace()
#
# CROPPING
crop(0,61,718,353)
#
# DEINTERLACING (2)
#VerticalReduceBy2
# or maybe
#GreedyHMA(1,0,0,0,0,0,0,0)
#
#
# SUBTITLES
#VobSub("FileName")
#
# RESIZING
BilinearResize(592,240)
#
# DENOISING: choose one combination (or none)
# 1) little noise (fast)
#TemporalSmoother(2,1)
#
# 2) medium noise (slow)
#SpatialSoftenMMX(1,4,6,false,false,4,4,6,8)
#TemporalSmoother(2)
#
# 3) heavy noise (very slow, you have been warned)
#SpatialSoftenMMX(2,4,6,false,false,4,4,6,8)
#TemporalSmoother(3)
#SpatialSoftenMMX(1,4,6,false,false,4,4,6,8)
#
# BORDERS
#AddBorders(left,top,right,bottom)
#
# COMPRESSIBILITY CHECK
# !!!!Snip Size now has to be 14 for use in GKnot!
#SelectRangeEvery(280,14)
#
# FOOL CCEnc
#ResampleAudio(44100)

That's from the GordianKnot .avs generator....

How do I change these things to incorporate my avisynth plugins without messing anything up?
HDRed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3 Jan 2003, 08:05 PM   #9
khp
The Other
 
khp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Online
Posts: 2,161
Default

It's not as complicated as it looks, all the lines that begins with a # are comments and don't do anything.

You can load the plugins you need at the begining of the file, but note that mpeg2dec.dll has already been added.

After that things need to be done in the proper order, GordianKnot has added Headings, written in CAPS, to help you do things correctly.

Last edited by khp; 3 Jan 2003 at 08:10 PM
khp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3 Jan 2003, 08:46 PM   #10
Member
Member
 
HDRed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 52
Default

Ok i got it configured and the output looks AWESOME!!! in the preview window - even better than the input! LOL

I'm going to get some Zzz's now and let it encode for awhile.

It's too late to ask this question now, but do if my movie is a 29.97 framer do I tell Vdub to make it 23fps or just leave it at 29?

Oh well I'm gonna see how she turns out in a few hours!
HDRed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3 Jan 2003, 09:20 PM   #11
khp
The Other
 
khp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Online
Posts: 2,161
Default

Virtualdub will know what fps you are using.

But if you told GordianKnot that you are using 29.9, while in fact you are using 23.9 (I assume because of IVTC), GordianKnot might make an incorrect bitrate adjustment, after the first pass, because it checks the number of frames encoded durring the first pass, and if it's lower than expected, GordianKnot will assume that this was because the movie was shorter than expected, as opposed to beeing at a different frame rate.
khp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3 Jan 2003, 10:08 PM   #12
Old member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 5,417
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by HDRed

It's too late to ask this question now, but do if my movie is a 29.97 framer do I tell Vdub to make it 23fps or just leave it at 29?
According to the AVS script you created in GK, you did not enable IVTC. Hence the framerate of the input video will be 29.97fps. I recommend that you enable it, ie. load up the plug-in decomb.dll and activate the command lines: Telecide() and Decimate(cycle=5) by removing the # signs from their left-hand side.

Here's what I recommend changing to your AVS script:

LoadPlugin("C:\Rip Tools\Avisynth Plugins\MPEG2DEC.dll")
LoadPlugin("C:\Rip Tools\Avisynth Plugins\DecombLegacy.dll")
LoadPlugin("C:\Rip Tools\Avisynth Plugins\Convolution3D.dll")
LoadPlugin("C:\Rip Tools\Avisynth Plugins\MSharpen.dll")
LoadPlugin("C:\Rip Tools\Avisynth Plugins\Tweak.dll")
LoadPlugin("C:\WINDOWS\System32\vobsub.dll")
mpeg2source("C:\Files\DVD Rips\Sum_Of_All_Fears\VIDEO_TS\d2a\SumOfAllFears.d 2v")
Telecide()
Decimate(cycle=5)
Convolution3d(0, 3, 4, 3, 4, 2.8, 0)
crop(0,61,718,353) #took the values from your GK AVS script
lanczosresize(x,y) #the values must be divisible by 16, and conform to the AR of the particular movie
VobSub("C:\Files\DVD Rips\Sum_Of_All_Fears\VIDEO_TS\VTS_04_0.IFO")
Tweak(sat=?,bright=?) #the correct ways of inputting the parameters are outlined in the readme. You don't really need this plug-in for successful ripping btw.

Edit:
By the way, be aware that the Convolution3D plug-in slows down the whole thing significantly (50% reduction or more in speed), so I recommend that you try encoding with this plug-in disabled for the first few tries (by simply adding # before 3DConvolution()). Once you have become comfortable with it, then you can start playing around with the plug-in.

Last edited by Enchanter; 3 Jan 2003 at 10:14 PM
Enchanter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT +10. The time now is 11:42 AM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com