Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Video File Formats > AVI, DivX/Xvid

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13 Dec 2002, 04:13 PM   #1
Member
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 88
Default Sharereactor Rips and other Group Rips

I have noticed that all the new sharereactor and other group rips are super high quality xvid rips. I know khp does not recommend it but then why are all the groups using it. Also what do they use to rip with xvid(gordian knot or whatever ..) and also any guides would be helpful. thnx
audi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 Dec 2002, 08:10 PM   #2
khp
The Other
 
khp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Online
Posts: 2,161
Default Re: Sharereactor Rips and other Group Rips

Quote:
Originally posted by audi
I know khp does not recommend it
Uhhhhh, that must have been one of my poorer moments. Exactly what did I say ?

I usually try to stay as impartial as possible, regarding what codec might be better. I strongly believe that everyone should make up their own minds, on this.

Although I would like to say that just because, some pirate group uses xvid, does not make it a better codec. I don't think their choice of codec is solely based on quality.
__________________
Donate your idle CPU time for something usefull.
http://folding.stanford.edu/

Last edited by khp; 13 Dec 2002 at 08:27 PM
khp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Dec 2002, 04:23 PM   #3
Member
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 88
Default

ok then .... what would you reommend to econde with xvid cause right now im using gordian know and divx 5 and it isnt working out the greatest. Also are there any guides you can recommend.
thnx for your time
audi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Dec 2002, 05:57 PM   #4
khp
The Other
 
khp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Online
Posts: 2,161
Default

IMHO the best way to encode with xvid, is to use GKnot for creating the avs file, load that into virtualdub and go.

Sure there are good guides here at the divx-digest and at doom9's.
khp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 Dec 2002, 03:06 PM   #5
Member
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 88
Default xvid not comming up in gknot

im following a doom9 guide and it says to select divx 4 in gknot to encode with xvid but on my gknot bitrate tab there is only divx 3 and divx 5 i dont have divx 4. i have installed all the xvid pakages and i have all the version of gknot. also in my search to find out how the groups rip, i can across a method in which UNcasms recommend which was called Nandub rips and i was wondering if anyone had expierence in those.
audi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Dec 2002, 01:20 AM   #6
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
Batman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Gotham City
Posts: 2,317
Default

Rip groups do not use Divx 5.02 (pro) due to their belief that divx networks "souled" out. It has nothing to do with divx 5's technical features.
Batman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Dec 2002, 06:51 AM   #7
khp
The Other
 
khp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Online
Posts: 2,161
Default Re: xvid not comming up in gknot

Quote:
Originally posted by audi
im following a doom9 guide and it says to select divx 4 in gknot to encode with xvid but on my gknot bitrate tab there is only divx 3 and divx 5 i dont have divx 4.
Doom9's xvid guide is based on an older version of GKnot, before divx5 support was added to GKnot. But it makes no difference, since we are not letting GKnot run the encoding, just select divx5 in GKnot.
khp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Dec 2002, 12:10 PM   #8
Member
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 88
Default

wouldnt skrew up my bitrate calculation if i select divx 5 and i use xvid. and wouldnt it keep me from getting my desired file size of 700 megs or 1400 megs
audi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Dec 2002, 12:38 PM   #9
khp
The Other
 
khp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Online
Posts: 2,161
Default

The bitrate that GKnot calculates is not used for anything when you use XVID. In fact you don't need to calculate the bitrate at all when you use 2-pass encoding with xvid. When you configure the second pass in virtualdub you set the desired filesize in the xvid codec compressor config menu. As per the guide at doom9.
khp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT +10. The time now is 10:28 PM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com