Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Video File Formats > AVI, DivX/Xvid

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 24 Nov 2002, 04:46 PM   #1
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 9
Default Star Wars Episode II

I know there are other Star Wars threads here, but i wanted to start a fresh thread...

anyway, i'm having problems encoding Star Wars. when i try to use EasyDivX, the resultant AVI seems to be short, only ~1:56:xx. this of course causes A/V sync probs when i multiplex the AC3 surround track and the AVI. what i found out is that the movie is not missing anything, but simply plays faster than real-time.

i did a test encoding with Flask, which looked great as long as everyone stands still ( go figure... ), and played the flask encoded movie, which came out ot be the correct length, side-by-side with the EasyDivX encoded movie. EasyDivX played faster.

anyone have an idea as to why EasyDivX spits out a file that plays faster than normal?? i have the American version of the movie (NTSC, 29.97fps, 4:3ar). i use these settings when setting up EasyDivX to encode.

i wouldn't mind doing it in Flask, but like i said the resultant file was less than desirable. the quality looked amazing at first, but i quickly realized that whenever there is motion on-screen, horizontal lines fill the picture. i'm not sure what that's about, but i dislike it.

i would appreciate assistance,

thx
Kdogg_71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 Nov 2002, 04:51 PM   #2
Retired
 
setarip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 24,955
Default

"i wouldn't mind doing it in Flask, but like i said the resultant file was less than desirable. the quality looked amazing at first, but i quickly realized that whenever there is motion on-screen, horizontal lines fill the picture."

Using Flask, set the output to 23.976Fps (If Flask didn't automatically do that for you) and put a checkmark in the "Deinterlace" box (set threshhold to 20)...
setarip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 Nov 2002, 05:26 PM   #3
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 9
Default

should that take car of the horizontal lines on the screen?? and, how big of an impact will having only ~23 fps have on visual quality? will it appear to skip at all?

thx, i'll give it another shot with flask, and i'm still open to suggestions regarding my probz with EasyDivX.

thx
Kdogg_71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 Nov 2002, 07:01 PM   #4
khp
The Other
 
khp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Online
Posts: 2,161
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Kdogg_71
should that take car of the horizontal lines on the screen??
It should, but there are no guarantees in life.

Quote:
Originally posted by Kdogg_71

and, how big of an impact will having only ~23 fps have on visual quality?
It will give you drastic improvements. if it works as it should.

Quote:
Originally posted by Kdogg_71

will it appear to skip at all?
No. Cinematic film run at 24 fps, which is perfectly OK. Slowing it down by 1/1000 is not going to matter.
__________________
Donate your idle CPU time for something usefull.
http://folding.stanford.edu/
khp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 Nov 2002, 07:09 PM   #5
Retired
 
setarip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 24,955
Default

23.976Fps is the CORRECT rate at which to convert "Attack of the Clones" - and using this framerate will in no way diminish the quality of the video output.

After you've loaded the DVD into Flask, select "Player" from the "Run" dropdown menu - and read the information that appears to the right...
setarip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 Nov 2002, 07:19 PM   #6
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 9
Default

it'll be a few hours before i get home to try it again, but i'll get back to the board as soon as i can. thx!

in the mean time, have any of you encoded the region 1 version of Star Wars II?? i've been trying for a couple of weeks already...i bought it, watched it, ripped it, and tried to encode it. i hate wasting 2 hours of processor time just to have it turn out like crap.
Kdogg_71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 Nov 2002, 05:45 AM   #7
Retired
 
setarip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 24,955
Default

"have any of you encoded the region 1 version of Star Wars II?"

Yes - using the methodology I described in my earlier post - no problems and good results...
setarip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 Nov 2002, 03:36 PM   #8
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 9
Default

wow! Gknot takes a long time! i couldn't even get back to flask last night to try the new tips...gknot is hogging all my resources. so many people are pleased with Uncas' guide for Gknot, i just had to try it. little did i know that it takes soooooooo long.

normally i can encode a two hour movie in less than two hours (single pass of course...), but Gknot has taken 8 hours so far. and, it doesn't show any signs of wanting to quit... i guess i wait.
Kdogg_71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 Nov 2002, 04:02 PM   #9
khp
The Other
 
khp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Online
Posts: 2,161
Default

Now that is a little odd, normally GKnot encodeds alot faster than flask. If you can encode realtime in flask using 1 pass, GKnot should take no more than about 50% longer to complete 2 passes.

What filters did you select in GKnot ?
If your not sure could you post the avs file that GKnot created ?.
khp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 Nov 2002, 05:02 PM   #10
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 9
Default

unfortunately i'm @ work now, so i can't get to my computer to get that file...

i followed Uncas' guide, substituting NTSC settings for the PAL settings that he uses. for the audio, i just told it mux the ac3 stream that was ripped when i created the d2v file with dvd2avi, but when i left it this morning it didn't seem to be at that point yet.

the only thing i can think of is that i had winamp3 running all night with avs on, but studio.exe only uses about 60% of the processor when its playing. even with only 40% available, i thought Gknot would have finished before i woke up this morning (way before i woke up this morning...).

i have:

ASUS P4T533 mobo
P4 2.4bGhz on 533Mhz FSB -- actually clocked @ 2.7GHZ
Z4 Water Cooler
256MB Samsung RIMM 4200 operating @ 1200Mhz -- dual channel RDRAM, single chip
160GB RAID array -- two 80GB WD800
80GB WD800
DivX 5.02 -- free version

the vobs already sit on on my disks, and i have the .26b version of Gknot with patch.

Last edited by Kdogg_71; 25 Nov 2002 at 05:09 PM
Kdogg_71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 Nov 2002, 03:29 PM   #11
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 9
Default

ok, so, Gknot took a whopping ten hours to complete! the quality looks good, but i still get those horizontal lines. they are not, however, as prominent as when i first encoded with flask.

i've also done a second run with flask using the settings described by setarip. it looks good. i still get the lines, but you have to look for them. if i get more than two feet from the screen, i wouldn't notice them.

i wanted to ask about the black bars on the top and bottom of the picture. in flask, i used the "keep aspect ratio" setting and clicked "4:3(tv)". did this cause the black bars?? when i previously ran it through flask, i didn't get the same black bars.

also, a two-pass run in flask ( without audio ) took only 2hours for a 2h22m movie. why would the performance differ so much from Gknot??
Kdogg_71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 Nov 2002, 03:45 PM   #12
khp
The Other
 
khp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Online
Posts: 2,161
Default

You should probably go read doom9's divx5+GKnot guide it explains how to use GKnot's ivtc and deinterlace options, most effectivly.

http://www.doom9.org/gknot-main3.htm
khp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 Nov 2002, 03:48 PM   #13
khp
The Other
 
khp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Online
Posts: 2,161
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Kdogg_71
why would the performance differ so much from Gknot??
You must be using some very cpu intensive filters in GKnot. This should not be nessesary assuming that you manage to get it properly ivtc'ed.
khp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 Nov 2002, 07:41 PM   #14
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 14
Default

using gknot when bringing up the save and encode tab select fast or field deinterlacing, this should get rid of the lines in fast moving scenes.

I have only used fast deinterlacing on animation and it comes out perfect, so try both and see which ones best
balthasar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 Nov 2002, 11:25 PM   #15
Super Moderator
 
UncasMS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 9,047
Default

since you were using gk, i'd suggest to use GREEDYHMA for de-interlacing

you can spare pass one and repeat the 2nd pass

http://forum.digital-digest.com/show...a&pagenumber=2
__________________
UncasMS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT +10. The time now is 12:04 AM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com