Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Video File Formats > AVI, DivX/Xvid

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10 Sep 2005, 05:15 PM   #1
Slightly Stupid
 
DAFT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: North East
Posts: 152
Default Too many Codecs???

I hope I'm not writing anly to find this question answered on another thread. I Codec snipered my comp and found that I have way to many codecs in my system. a friend told me that they conflict so what to do. I don't really know the good from the bad so I was wondering if any of you could recommend a program that would advise me when streamlining my system. I hope the Question makes sense.
__________________
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
I'm Watching You!!!
DAFT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 Sep 2005, 05:28 PM   #2
Demigod of Digital Video
 
LT. Columbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 10,671
Default

are there any problems at the moment? too many codecs CAN cause problems, basicly what i do is install codecs one file at a time as needed. if you have no problems whatsoever, then deleting some hasn't much of a point
__________________
"One day men will look back and say I gave birth to the 20th Century". Jack The Ripper - 1888
Columbo moments...
"Double Shock" "The Greenhouse Jungle" "Swan Song" FORUM RULES
"You try to contrive a perfect alibi, and it's your perfect alibi that's gonna hang ya."
(An Exercise In Fatality, 1974)


LT. Columbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 Sep 2005, 07:38 PM   #3
Slightly Stupid
 
DAFT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: North East
Posts: 152
Default

so your saying that it will not affect my computer in the future. the real question is do these unused codecs affect memory?
DAFT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 Sep 2005, 07:45 PM   #4
Kamen Moderator V3
 
2COOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,059
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DAFT
the real question is do these unused codecs affect memory?
If is unused, how can it affect memory? Just do a Ctrl+Alt+Del and check your Process tab.
__________________
2CL C Henshin!
If you got a dollar for everytime someone called you ugly, you'd be a millionaire...an "ugly" millionaire.


Last edited by 2COOL; 10 Sep 2005 at 07:47 PM
2COOL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 Sep 2005, 08:55 PM   #5
Super Moderator
 
anonymez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5,525
Default

IMO all these codecs should be installed on any windows xp system (in terms of playback), and NOTHING else :

latest ffdshow (celtic druid build)
powerdvd/nvidia purevideo decoder
real alternative
quicktime alternative
moonlight elecard decoder (because of its excellent dvb splitter)

and that's it. use ffdshow for the majority of playback, including the 'raw video' setting, so that every video played on your pc has exactly the same brightness, colour , saturation, etc. i can confirm that none of these codecs 'conflict'

when combined with 'media player classic' (the best player IMO) and 'videolan', you should be able to play pretty much every format under the sun, and maximum quality
__________________
"What were the things in Gremlins called?" - Karl Pilkington


Last edited by anonymez; 10 Sep 2005 at 08:57 PM
anonymez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 Sep 2005, 09:09 PM   #6
Kamen Moderator V3
 
2COOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,059
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by anonymez
IMO all these codecs should be installed on any windows xp system (in terms of playback), and NOTHING else :

latest ffdshow (celtic druid build)
powerdvd/nvidia purevideo decoder
real alternative
quicktime alternative
moonlight elecard decoder (because of its excellent dvb splitter)
For avid IfoEdit users, having different codecs lying around messes up its previewing. Elecard is found to be one of them.
2COOL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 Sep 2005, 09:25 PM   #7
Super Moderator
 
anonymez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5,525
Default

the only reason why i have elecard (and why i recommend it) is because of its very high quality vmr9 (windowed) playback of interlaced dvb material. it is the ONLY mpeg-2 codec that is able to play PAL interlaced dvb material in vmr9 without stuttering (because of its 'double rate' deinterlacing method). its splitter also has the fastest seeking i've ever seen...

i don't use ifoedit, but i imagine the preview problem could be fixed by lowering its priority in a 3rd party program (such as radlight filter manager)...

Last edited by anonymez; 10 Sep 2005 at 09:28 PM
anonymez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 Sep 2005, 09:28 PM   #8
Kamen Moderator V3
 
2COOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,059
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by anonymez
i don't use ifoedit, but i imagine the preview problem could be fixed by lowering its priority in a 3rd part program (such as radlight filter manager)...
I don't think it would but Derrow, IfoEdit's author, is the only one who knows the algorithm on how IfoEdit grabs what codecs to use. There is no option in IfoEdit to manually select a codec.

Last edited by 2COOL; 10 Sep 2005 at 09:49 PM
2COOL is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT +10. The time now is 12:55 AM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com