Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Other > Archive (Closed) > Video File Formats > AVI, DivX/Xvid

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 17 May 2008, 09:41 AM   #1
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 13
Default xvid movie is failing to play on my divx/xvid certified dvd player

I have burnt 2 different movies which were XviD 1.0 RC3 (Ni hao) and XviD Dev ver. 25-Mar-03 according to Gspot. Both of those movies worked fine but when I try burning this movie that's XviD 1.0.1 to a DVD it skips the first minute then pixels are misplaced throughout the movie. I tried burning the movie to a CD and it just plays the first 20 seconds, freezes then starts over. I'm not sure what the problem is i'm doing everything exactly the same as with the other movies and my dvd player is certified for xvid format, any ideas?
TacoROCKrj is offline  
Old 17 May 2008, 10:48 AM   #2
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,500
Default

Hi Taco,

If I am understanding your problem correctly ... sounds that you have a "Bad" AVI file ... you need to repair that AVI file first and then try playing it back or burning it. But sometimes, it is a more work than it is worth it. Just get a new AVI ...

BTW, most of the XviD AVI's that I have seen use XviD 1.1.2 or something like that.

G!
gonwk is offline  
Old 17 May 2008, 10:53 AM   #3
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 13
Default

Hey, the file works just fine when i play it on my computer. It's the dvd player that isen't playing the file correctly.
TacoROCKrj is offline  
Old 17 May 2008, 10:55 AM   #4
King of Digital Video
King of Digital Video
 
NightTran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: eastcoast, on the beach
Posts: 4,224
Default

Burner? Disc type? and how is the burn logs?
__________________
NightTran is offline  
Old 17 May 2008, 11:13 AM   #5
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 13
Default

There are no burn logs, I just created a data dvd/cd using nero. Like I said my DVD player is xvid/divx certified so theres no need to convert it to mpeg2 or anything complicated.

The disc type makes no difference in this case like I said everything i'm using is exactly the same as befor and if it worked befor that's no factor.

Last edited by TacoROCKrj; 17 May 2008 at 11:17 AM
TacoROCKrj is offline  
Old 17 May 2008, 11:24 AM   #6
King of Digital Video
King of Digital Video
 
NightTran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: eastcoast, on the beach
Posts: 4,224
Default

use imgburn and burn one then post a burn log?
NightTran is offline  
Old 17 May 2008, 02:30 PM   #7
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
paglamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: 22░38'12.55" N, 88░25'20.87" E
Posts: 2,126
Default

Post full file information of the problem avi files using Mediainfo.
__________________

ONLY MOMENTS LINGER...DEWDROPS ON A FALLEN LEAF
paglamon is offline  
Old 19 May 2008, 08:27 AM   #8
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 13
Default

1 video streams: MPEG-4 Visual (XviD)
1 audio streams: MPEG Audio (mp3)
Writing application: AVI-Mix GUI 1.17.7, aug 8 2006 20:5

First video stream:
1255kbps, 640*480 (16/9), at 23.976 fps, MPEG-4 Visual (XviD) (Packet Bitstream)(Streaming video@L1)(BVOP / GMC3 / Custom Matrix)
TacoROCKrj is offline  
Old 19 May 2008, 05:57 PM   #9
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
paglamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: 22░38'12.55" N, 88░25'20.87" E
Posts: 2,126
Default

Quote:
full file information
Mediainfo tree-view File/Export as text. Copy-paste here.

Quote:
GMC3
GMC should be 0(zero) for standalone compatibility.

Last edited by paglamon; 19 May 2008 at 05:59 PM
paglamon is offline  
Old 20 May 2008, 02:42 PM   #10
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 13
Default

I changed to tree-view and exported the file, this is all that was in it.

Complete name;Format;Codecs Video;Audio codecs;Text codecs
D:\Yu Yu Hakusho 01.avi;AVI;XviD;MPEG-1 Audio layer 3

Here's a screenshot in case that isen't enough:

TacoROCKrj is offline  
Old 20 May 2008, 03:53 PM   #11
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
paglamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: 22░38'12.55" N, 88░25'20.87" E
Posts: 2,126
Default

Quote:
Format settings, GMC : 3 warppoints
As I mentioned earlier, most standalones accept upto 1 warppoint GMC. Best to have GMC at 0.

See here for more info into GMC;http://www.gromkov.com/faq/conversion/xvid_options.html

Last edited by paglamon; 20 May 2008 at 03:56 PM
paglamon is offline  
Old 20 May 2008, 05:36 PM   #12
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 13
Default

So, I would need to download a program to re-encode all the avi files? Would there be a faster way to change the GMC to 0, or a way to change it without messing with all the other encode settings.
TacoROCKrj is offline  
Old 21 May 2008, 03:06 AM   #13
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
paglamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: 22░38'12.55" N, 88░25'20.87" E
Posts: 2,126
Default

Quote:
So, I would need to download a program to re-encode all the avi files?
Virtualdub is all you need. And XviD codec too.
Quote:
Would there be a faster way to change the GMC to 0, or a way to change it without messing with all the other encode settings.
No. You will have to re-encode the files.
paglamon is offline  
Old 21 May 2008, 03:37 AM   #14
Eclectician
 
MilesAhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,615
Default Avi ReComp

Quote:
Originally Posted by TacoROCKrj View Post
So, I would need to download a program to re-encode all the avi files? Would there be a faster way to change the GMC to 0, or a way to change it without messing with all the other encode settings.
Avi ReComp http://www.videohelp.com/tools/AVI_ReComp
is designed to try to reencode to stand-alone compatibility.
Only thing is it insists on 2 passes so I haven't had the patience
to give it a thorough trial. It's faster just to convert to DVD and
be done with it. It seems somewhat mysterious what settings will
produce good stand-alone output. Or it may be certain settings will
work if you have decent input to start with. But now unless I'm
working with something that has a lot of episodes I usually just convert
to DVD since the chance of usable output is a lot higher.
MilesAhead is offline  
Old 21 May 2008, 03:46 PM   #15
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
paglamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: 22░38'12.55" N, 88░25'20.87" E
Posts: 2,126
Default

Quote:
Format settings, Matrix:Custom
This is also a source of problems. Better to have it as H.263 or MPEG.

As Miles suggested,AVIRecomp will do these automatically.
You can also try AutoGK.
paglamon is offline  
 

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to burn an avi or xvid movie to play it in a dvd player ????? Saleen AVI, DivX/Xvid 29 27 Jun 2007 05:59 PM
Will Xvid movies play in my Phillps DivX/DVD player? kc_lupo General Discussions 2 2 Mar 2006 11:36 PM
Xvid movie can't play from CD Sling Other File Formats 8 13 Apr 2003 12:33 AM



All times are GMT +10. The time now is 01:38 PM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com