Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Video File Formats > Other File Formats

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 15 Feb 2006, 04:11 AM   #1
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3
Default 12HOURS to transcode

I have a 600 mb avi file which I have been asked to put onto a DVD. Iam trying to use Nerovision Express 2 and it says 12hrsplus to transcode.Can this be true or have I got big problems?
Operating system Windows XP Home, Gigabyte motherboard with via chipset,Intel celeron 1.0gHz cpu. 646 Mb Ram,25 gb hard drive, DMA enabled on both IDE's. Burning (eventually) to a NEC 3540 dual layer DVD burner.
CAN ANYONE HELP???
Vich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 Feb 2006, 04:13 AM   #2
Demigod of Digital Video
 
LT. Columbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 10,671
Default

seems reasonable.
__________________
"One day men will look back and say I gave birth to the 20th Century". Jack The Ripper - 1888
Columbo moments...
"Double Shock" "The Greenhouse Jungle" "Swan Song" FORUM RULES
"You try to contrive a perfect alibi, and it's your perfect alibi that's gonna hang ya."
(An Exercise In Fatality, 1974)


LT. Columbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Feb 2006, 06:41 AM   #3
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3
Default

Lt.Columbo,
Sorry to have taken so long to get back, have been away.I have read that Via motherboards can have problems with Windows xp and that windows xp can have problems with Nero!! Can you suggest any way to speed up the transcoding? If I have to do any more it will drive me up the wall.
Thanks
Vich
Vich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Feb 2006, 07:28 AM   #4
Demigod of Digital Video
 
LT. Columbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 10,671
Default

upgrading the pc, that's what i did for the same reason.
LT. Columbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Feb 2006, 04:56 AM   #5
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks Columbo. I will put off doing any more avi files for a while.
How are you on putting large wav files(1.1Gb) onto Dvd? I have recorded a classical concert from BBC radio in stereo and it is now a very big wav file.
Too big for burning to CD and I don't want to compress it because the sound quality is very good. I have had to cut it down by ommitting some pieces to get it onto cd, the reproduction is very good but I would really like to be able to play the whole concert (audience noise included). Any ideas??
Vich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Feb 2006, 07:40 AM   #6
Demigod of Digital Video
 
LT. Columbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 10,671
Default

Quote:
How are you on putting large wav files(1.1Gb) onto Dvd?
i don't, and i'd convert the wav to something else.
LT. Columbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
mp4studio : One-Step mp4 transcode Tool(win32) j5liu AVI, DivX/Xvid 0 21 Feb 2003 08:20 PM
transcode audio cole DivX/XviD Conversion/Encoding 5 30 Jan 2003 11:52 PM
audio transcode incomplete d-clone DivX/XviD Conversion/Encoding 1 25 Nov 2002 08:05 PM



All times are GMT +10. The time now is 03:36 PM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com