Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Video File Formats > Other File Formats

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12 Sep 2003, 01:56 AM   #1
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 4
Default Adobe MPEG Encoder audio compression: AC3 and PCM

I am a newbie and here is my question:

The encoder will output PCM by default, which is a pretty big WAV file. I heard this file is NOT compressed. Is that true?

The other option is to compress with MPEG-2. I've heard about people talking about AC3. Is that the same? If not, the MPEG-2 compitable with DVD authoring software? How do I produce AC3 file?

Thanks!
cheerful is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 Sep 2003, 04:41 AM   #2
Retired
 
setarip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 24,955
Default

"The encoder will output PCM by default, which is a pretty big WAV file. I heard this file is NOT compressed. Is that true?"

Yes...



" MPEG-2 compitable with DVD authoring software?"

Yes...
setarip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 Sep 2003, 06:21 AM   #3
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 4
Default

Is MPEG-2 audio compression good? Can a DVD player play a DVD made from MPEG-2 video and MPEG-2 audio?

Do you have any website link that talks about these stuff? It is really confusing to me.

Thanks a lot!
cheerful is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 Sep 2003, 07:54 AM   #4
Retired
 
setarip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 24,955
Default

"Can a DVD player play a DVD made from MPEG-2 video and MPEG-2 audio?"

Yes...
setarip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 Sep 2003, 12:57 AM   #5
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 25
Default

MPEG-2 audio to which you are refering is actually MPEG-1 layer 2 audio which is the audio standard for VCDs, and it doesn't come even close to AC3 which is also known as Dolby Digital.

I'm not sure of how to encode AC3 but I believe that you can use besweet to do that. Try searching on www.google.com to see if you find something. If your source is from DVD then you probably already have AC3. Try searching this forum as well maybe there is something about that too

Good luck
Saiya-Jin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT +10. The time now is 02:49 PM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com