Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Video File Formats > Other File Formats

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 20 Dec 2002, 12:24 PM   #1
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Missoula, MT, USA
Posts: 21
Default Crash playing XviD

Not too long ago, before I installed the Tsunami Codec Pack, one of my XviD movies worked. Now it doesn't. I run it in WMP and it gives me an illegal operation type error. When I run it in BSPlayer it says 'overlay failed!' and again gives me the illegal operation error. Any ideas?
Gweedo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 Dec 2002, 12:28 PM   #2
Moderator
 
gd_nimrod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,128
Default

It sounds like a codec error, have you succesfully played ANY XviD movies in ANY player?
Try getting the Nimo Codec Pack, it should install another copy of the xvid codec which might make your movies work.
__________________
Did you know you can SEARCH the forum? Fixes common problems too:
http://forum.digital-digest.com/search.php

Also search on the whole Digital-Digest website:
http://www.digital-digest.com/search.html
gd_nimrod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 Dec 2002, 12:32 PM   #3
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Missoula, MT, USA
Posts: 21
Default

Yes, like I said, it used to work. I have installed Nimo too, no luck there.
Gweedo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 Dec 2002, 01:33 PM   #4
khp
The Other
 
khp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Online
Posts: 2,161
Default

The easy solution would be to change the fourc codes to DIVX.

But if you want to fix the problem, and are willing to put a little work into it, get graphedit from the download section at www.doom9.net. Start graphedit, drag one of the xvid files onto graphedit window, and post a screenshot of the graph that graphedit makes for you.
__________________
Donate your idle CPU time for something usefull.
http://folding.stanford.edu/
khp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Dec 2002, 04:17 AM   #5
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1
Default

Uninstall "Morgan Stream Switcher" from Tsunami filter pack
Bubico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Dec 2002, 09:56 AM   #6
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Missoula, MT, USA
Posts: 21
Default

I already uninstalled all of the Tsunami pack. Changing the FourCC codes to DivX made no change, player still crashed. And here's what I got on Graphedit...
Attached Thumbnails
Crash playing XviD-wws-graph.jpg  
Gweedo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Dec 2002, 10:14 AM   #7
khp
The Other
 
khp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Online
Posts: 2,161
Default

Then I would suspect that the problem is not video related. Could you try making an audioless avi file by loading it into nandub, select Video->'Direct Stream copy', and audio->'no audio'. Save as avi, under a new file name. And see how it plays.

You could also try simply refreshing the file with nandub by selecting Direct Stream copy for both audio and video, and save that as avi under a new file name.
khp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Dec 2002, 10:37 AM   #8
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Missoula, MT, USA
Posts: 21
Default

Without audio the video works fine. "Refreshing" it did no good, still did the same thing. I loaded it into GSpot and it said the AC3 codec wasn't installed. Although it did say that it was able to render it through some other means.
Gweedo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Dec 2002, 11:10 AM   #9
khp
The Other
 
khp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Online
Posts: 2,161
Default

Hmm

I'am no expert on ac3 DS decoder filters, so I would suggest that you convert the audio to mp3 instead.

To use nandub to extract the AC3 file from the avifile, just select File->'Save wav' and rename the file to whatever.ac3. Then you can use Besweet to convert to mp3 and finally mux the audio back into the avi file, using nandub, be selecting video->direct stream copy, and audio->(vbr) mp3 audio ....

Last edited by khp; 22 Dec 2002 at 05:48 AM
khp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 Dec 2002, 05:01 AM   #10
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Missoula, MT, USA
Posts: 21
Default Thanks

That did the trick. It all works fine now.
Gweedo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 Dec 2002, 09:11 AM   #11
khp
The Other
 
khp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Online
Posts: 2,161
Default Re: Thanks

Quote:
Originally posted by Gweedo
That did the trick. It all works fine now.
I'am happy to see that you have solved your problem, or at least worked around it

If you still have the original file, you might try getting 'AC3 filter 0.61', doom9 posted it on his site today.
It has more features than I can count, and works very well for me, except that it was set to mute the output by default, this was easily fixable in WMP6.4 by selecting File->properties->advanced->'AC3 Filter'->properties->preset->standart.
khp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT +10. The time now is 09:10 AM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com