Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Video File Formats > Other File Formats

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11 Nov 2002, 12:38 PM   #1
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 3
Unhappy Help! Choppy playback (dropped frames)

Just bought a GeForceMX2 MX400 64mb video card and I have trouble playing SOME DivX movies. It plays smoothly but some parts are choppy and dropping frames. The weird thing is I could play it just fine with my old Intel 740 card. BTW, I use Windows Media Player 6.4

These are the things I did and still failed.
1. Installed upgraded driver for my ALI motherboard (AGP,IDE)
2. Installed upgrade driver for my GeForce MX400 card
3. Reinstalled DirectX 8.1
4. Reinstalled DivX 5.02
5. Reencoded the DivX movie using Nandub
5. Moved the slider to minimum quality level under filter properties of windows media player

Anymore suggestions please. It is highly appreciated.

Thank You and More Power.

God Bless.
junz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 Nov 2002, 01:07 PM   #2
khp
The Other
 
khp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Online
Posts: 2,161
Default

Make sure you graphics card is set to maximum hardware acceleration.

You should be able to find this setting in 'control panel'->display->settings->advanced->Troubleshooting.

And you might get better preformance by enabling 'yuv extended mode and overlay extended mode in the divx5.0.2 playback filter.
__________________
Donate your idle CPU time for something usefull.
http://folding.stanford.edu/
khp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 Nov 2002, 11:47 AM   #3
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 3
Default

my graphics card is set to maximum hardware acceleration by default. tried also enabling yuv and overlay extended mode but to no avail.
junz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 Nov 2002, 12:31 PM   #4
Retired
 
setarip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 24,955
Default

If not already done, turn off as many background operations/programs as is possible...
setarip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 Nov 2002, 07:02 PM   #5
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 3
Default

Tried doing that. No success still. My only application working in the background is Norton 2003.
junz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 Nov 2002, 06:42 PM   #6
Old member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 5,417
Default

Try increasing the AGP Aperture size from within your BIOS.
Enchanter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT +10. The time now is 01:37 PM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com