Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Video File Formats > Other File Formats

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11 Jan 2006, 12:46 PM   #1
Gold Member
Gold Member

Default Help understanding codecs

Hello everyone. I'd like to ask a question regarding codecs. I'm a newbie to video and audio editing and I'm trying to understand or put into some sense how codecs are used by the OS.

As I try to absorb all these things, I see talk of installing too many video editing NLE programs, even for trials, can result in codec conflicts.

I see codecs and codec paks named as standalone products.

I am most likely under a preconceived misconception about all this.

I assumed that (with respect to video editing programs.) when a program was installed on your computer, the files were assembled in folders and subfolders below the programs folder. I also assumed that the call to any specific codec would be a call to a file in one of those folders.

Based on the above, (which may be way off base) I also assumed that no matter how many programs I load for trial NLEs. All of the associated codecs would be in folders below the programs parent folder and not accessable to any other application.

I know you can put different versions of a file in various locations on your computer, and the program that is calling for the file will only use the version it is being pointed to.

I didn't think that Windows assembled some DEFAULT location for all codecs which were universally understood by NLE programs as the place to look, so my questions is .. how can any conflicts arise if things are seperated by the paths they use to look for programs.

If I am way off base (which is LOL most likely) where do I find these codec pools and if a particular program doesn't have one or is looking for one, how would I point the program to them.