Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Video File Formats > Other File Formats

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 7 Sep 2008, 02:08 PM   #1
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
dr_ml422's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New York City.
Posts: 1,903
Question Hi admin. Hi fellas.

I just googled this >In the analog world, even a signal thatís technically too weak might still put something on the screen. Not so for digital. At best, youíll probably get an image that occasionally breaks up into what resembles a mosaic missing a bunch of tiles. At worst, youíll be staring at a blank screen.

This is happening to me right now w/my sony wega trinitron which i hooked up digital cable to from time warner. now it was also happening on my old cable box also. some of my friends w/hdtv's also say that from time to time this happens to them. the break up into a bunch of tiles resembling a mosaic.
Now what i would like to know is this happening w/me because my sony's a analog w/a digital comb filter hooked up to digital cable, and if so why is it happening to my friends who have hdtv hooked up to digital cable also? Is it that the digital signals are not at full strength yet as they should be come feb 2009 w/the transition? This is important to find out before i drop $500-$1000 on a hdtv to still get this break up even w/digital cable. thnx.

I have a funny feeling this dtv transition is a long ways from coming correct.
__________________
SAMSUNG SH-S203B, SAMSUNG SH-S223F,

Take the suggestions and follow the directions. The results will speak for themselves.



Google is definitely our friend.
dr_ml422 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8 Sep 2008, 12:00 AM   #2
Super Moderator
 
Chewy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: millenium falcon
Posts: 18,971
Default

If you look at the mess of most cable routing and splitting over older outdated cabling, it's a wonder they get a picture at all
Chewy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8 Sep 2008, 01:08 AM   #3
Who Farted?
 
locoeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: behind you
Posts: 2,509
Default

Storms can also cause pixellation from time to time. I don't have problems on my LCD with the digital cable I used to have or the satellite I have now, until a heavy storm cloud gets between me and the satellite. The same would happen with the hard wired cable..they have to get their signal from somewhere.
__________________


"I refuse to have a battle of wits with an unarmed person. It's not fair to you and no challenge for us."
Walt Kelly
locoeng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8 Sep 2008, 01:10 AM   #4
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
dr_ml422's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New York City.
Posts: 1,903
Default

yeah well i figured that into the equation believe me and not until i get more info on this whole thing via here, through the cable company, google or the geniuses at best buy, pc. richards, etc.. i'm not diving into a new set just yet. especially as how blu-ray might not even pan out as the replacement for dvd formats. At least verizon is uprooting all their cables and thus it'll take maybe a year more or less to get fios here in Manhattan. Time Warner if i'm not mistaken is either the outright owner of the Knicks or under their parent company so go figure. you see what a mess they're in.
dr_ml422 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8 Sep 2008, 01:20 AM   #5
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
dr_ml422's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New York City.
Posts: 1,903
Default

Hi loco. by hardwired cable you mean just a direct connection to a coaxial cable for reception purposes or just simply any cable/cord plugged into the wall from a component. in this case a television or digital cable box? thnx.
dr_ml422 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9 Sep 2008, 01:17 AM   #6
Who Farted?
 
locoeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: behind you
Posts: 2,509
Default

By hardwired I meant that the actual signal coming into your house is coming from elsewhere (cable company), where as satellite is getting signal from outerspace directly into your living room.
locoeng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9 Sep 2008, 02:19 PM   #7
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
dr_ml422's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New York City.
Posts: 1,903
Default

I got you now loco. many meanings for same jargon sometimes. I've been doing my home work on this whole dtv thing. next on my list is calling sony customer support for feedback concerning my 2 wega trinitrons. so far in my searches it looks like the best i might be able to do is hook up my tvs to the digital cable box via the ypbr component output and input. i have dtv cable not hdtv and my set only filters the digital signal. basically i'm either going to have to sell my set for an upgrade or just use it for watching videos. hopefully when this whole blu-ray thing comes to fruition either as the main format, or just plain folds, anyone who owns a hdtv will still be able to watch w/e format whether it's new or not on their set. in this case new if blu-ray is replaced.
dr_ml422 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 Sep 2008, 11:39 PM   #8
Who Farted?
 
locoeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: behind you
Posts: 2,509
Default

Quote:
or just use it for watching videos.
You could always stick it up in the corner of the game room over the bar and next to the pool table.
locoeng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 Sep 2008, 12:20 AM   #9
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
dr_ml422's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New York City.
Posts: 1,903
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by locoeng View Post
You could always stick it up in the corner of the game room over the bar and next to the pool table.
Hi Loco. Game room, pool table, bar. 2 out of 3 ain't bad. Put a bar here there won't be anything soon. Including me. Lol... I'm trying to declutter. Old railroad flat here. In NYC either you got a deal or your rich.
Warning: Not responsible for any adverse effects as a result of reading voluntary info. 3 BR, Living Room, Kitchen and Bath>$250...


Any change in the near future I'm outta here. Lol...
dr_ml422 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT +10. The time now is 04:33 PM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com