Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Video File Formats > Other File Formats

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10 Nov 2002, 04:26 PM   #1
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: QC, Canada
Posts: 2
Default How can I prevent DivX 5 from playing DivX 4 content as well?

Hi guys,
I'm pretty sure most of you have read the sticky thread about preventing DivX 5 from playing DivX 3 content. That's all nice and good. But does it fix DivX 4 as well? How can I prevent DivX 5 from playing DivX 4 and 3 content and prevent DivX 4 from playing DivX 3 content at the same time. Is there a universal way of ordering codec priorities? (Ya, why the heck don't video codecs have priority setting like audio codecs do in Windows?)

BTW, what the heck are DirectShow filters for? Do you need the codec for playback if you have the DirectShow filter?
Seabook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 Nov 2002, 04:38 PM   #2
Retired
 
setarip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 24,955
Default

"prevent DivX 4 from playing DivX 3 content"

When installing DivX v.4.xx, simply respond with a resounding "No!" to "Do you want" the DivX v.4.xx codec to play DivX v.3.11 files...
setarip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 Nov 2002, 04:38 PM   #3
Old member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 5,417
Default

Why would you want to prevent DivX5 from playing DivX4 contents as well? DivX 5 is an upgraded form of DivX 4.

The decoding results between the two codecs are the same (to my eyes anyway), when it comes to DivX 4 contents. The same thing can't be said for DivX 3 contents and hence the necessity to put up the afore-mentioned sticky thread.

Last edited by Enchanter; 10 Nov 2002 at 04:41 PM
Enchanter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 Nov 2002, 04:50 PM   #4
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: QC, Canada
Posts: 2
Default about setarip's suggestion

the divx 4 codec is ALREADY installed. then I installed divx 5. So do you mean I should reinstall divx 4 over divx 5?
Seabook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 Nov 2002, 03:09 AM   #5
Retired
 
setarip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 24,955
Default

If you insist on having all three codecs installed, despite the fact that you really don't need the v.4.xx codec, uninstall ALL Three, then install in the following order:

v.3.11
v.4.xx - Answer "No"
v.5.xx
setarip is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT +10. The time now is 03:45 PM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com