Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Video File Formats > Other File Formats

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 9 May 2006, 09:29 AM   #1
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 44
Default Need help burning avi's to Disc

I am trying to burn avi's to disc and it seems near the end of the recording that the sound starts to slip and become further behind than what is on the screen (ie., sound isn't matching).
What could make this happen and how can I correct it?

I have been using RW's and the avi works fine on my comp. Maybe has to do something with the RW?
olmyforever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9 May 2006, 09:47 AM   #2
Super Member
Super Member
 
SMEG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: ENGLAND
Posts: 278
Default

Have you tried using nero vision express to burn your avi files
SMEG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9 May 2006, 09:56 AM   #3
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 44
Default

Oops, sorry I should have mentioned what I was using.

It is indeed NeroVision Express 2
olmyforever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9 May 2006, 09:57 AM   #4
Demigod of Digital Video
 
LT. Columbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 10,671
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by olmyforever
Oops, sorry I should have mentioned what I was using.

It is indeed NeroVision Express 2
no suprise, use a quality encoder such as TMPGEnc (trialware)
__________________
"One day men will look back and say I gave birth to the 20th Century". Jack The Ripper - 1888
Columbo moments...
"Double Shock" "The Greenhouse Jungle" "Swan Song" FORUM RULES
"You try to contrive a perfect alibi, and it's your perfect alibi that's gonna hang ya."
(An Exercise In Fatality, 1974)


LT. Columbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9 May 2006, 10:10 AM   #5
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
Gary D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Canada-eh?
Posts: 2,266
Default

Or update to Nerovision3 here but the consensus here at DVF is to use TMPGEnc
Gary D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9 May 2006, 11:11 AM   #6
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 44
Default

Thanks for the help. They are Xvids. Does that matter?
olmyforever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9 May 2006, 11:39 AM   #7
Demigod of Digital Video
 
LT. Columbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 10,671
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by olmyforever
Thanks for the help. They are Xvids. Does that matter?
not at all
LT. Columbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9 May 2006, 01:40 PM   #8
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 44
Default

Anything you recommend to tweak in Nero to get it to work better? (I did up grade to VisionExpress 3). Is it a matter of having the proper codecs installed? Does that matter? Is it bad media? Bad Burner? Or just simply bad encoder(nero)?
olmyforever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9 May 2006, 06:38 PM   #9
Demigod of Digital Video
 
LT. Columbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 10,671
Default

are you burning these as data? or is nero first encoding them to dvd? nothing that can be done in nero other than possibly an upgrade (but i doubt it) to fix this. IMO it;s likely the file/nero itself.
LT. Columbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9 May 2006, 11:12 PM   #10
King of Digital Video
King of Digital Video
 
NightTran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: eastcoast, on the beach
Posts: 4,224
Default

I have been use nero 3, I dont have any other codec install but it still look good on my TV, I just use one 38.3 GB, one long VMese movie
NightTran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 May 2006, 02:21 AM   #11
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 44
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LT. Columbo
are you burning these as data? or is nero first encoding them to dvd? nothing that can be done in nero other than possibly an upgrade (but i doubt it) to fix this. IMO it;s likely the file/nero itself.
Hi, Yes I use Nerovision to burn encode(?) the avi to dvd to watch on my dvd player/tv. I did upgrade it, but it didn't seem to help. Sometimes its bad, sometimes not that bad.

I think the program you recommended converts avi to mpeg? Would that work for that i want? To view as a dvd in my dvd player to watch on my tv?
olmyforever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 May 2006, 02:25 AM   #12
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 44
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NightTran
I have been use nero 3, I dont have any other codec install but it still look good on my TV, I just use one 38.3 GB, one long VMese movie
Hmm, not sure what you mean here. You use 38.3 gb hard drive? What is VMese movie?

Maybe I'm encoding/burning in the wrong format?

In Nerovision 3 I choose:
1)Make DvD video
2)Add Video files

Options:
1)Quality 'automatic'
2)Aspect ration 'automatic'
3)Encoding mode 'high quality 2-pass'
3)Then burn files to disc

Last edited by olmyforever; 10 May 2006 at 02:30 AM
olmyforever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 May 2006, 03:22 AM   #13
King of Digital Video
King of Digital Video
 
NightTran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: eastcoast, on the beach
Posts: 4,224
Default

it is a long movie in avi file, convert to dvd file, 28 chapter 45 minutes each, Vietnamese movie

that is what I use

In Nerovision 3 I choose:
1)Make DvD video
2)Add Video files
NightTran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 May 2006, 03:31 AM   #14
Demigod of Digital Video
 
LT. Columbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 10,671
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by olmyforever
I think the program you recommended converts avi to mpeg? Would that work for that i want? To view as a dvd in my dvd player to watch on my tv?
absolutely. i'm running it right now
LT. Columbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 May 2006, 04:22 PM   #15
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2
Default been here before...

I have experienced this before.

The problem lies with a combination of 2 things.

Nero Vision and Xvid encoded files!!
This causes sound sync problems, sometimes small, sometimes 30 secs.

In the past I simply Re-Encoded or Converted the file using a different codec and using a program called Smartsoft Video Converter Pro.
I had used a standard MS MP4 Codec and worked 100% with both quality and sound sync.

So that is your answer.

My problem today however is, I have updated my codecs to KLite Pack and the MS MP4 Codec that worked like a charm has now vanished and I am now spending almost days going through different codecs and settings to acheive the best quality for burning back to DVD. Any recomendations on the a Codec and setting is very much appreciated...

Cheers
MrSpikie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Error when burning AVI's manup Junior Members/Newbies 2 4 Apr 2006 03:20 PM
help..nero dvd burns NOW fail tigerz General Discussions 10 19 Mar 2006 06:00 AM
FAQ: Error Codes Nero 7 cynthia FAQ and Guides 3 6 Jan 2006 10:06 AM
Help with burning AVIs to DVD fifihump Junior Members/Newbies 11 8 May 2005 10:15 AM



All times are GMT +10. The time now is 04:24 PM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com