Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Video File Formats > Other File Formats

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 21 Nov 2009, 04:12 AM   #1
Boiler Up!

Default need help - quality issue

Hey guys, I'm new to this forum and somewhat new to videography. I've been doing it for a few years now but high quality has never been a need until recently.

I'm wondering why my quality suffers. I have a consumer-type Sony Mini-DV camera and record the video through a firewire port on my Dell XPS420 machine (3 gig ram, quad core processor, vista, big graphics card, Cyberlink PowerDirector) but regardless of the settings I use, I can't get the quality of the recorded video up.

Why can I hook the camera up to the TV and it looks nice and crisp but the video, once on the computer, looks crappy? How can I make it better? Thank you.
biker250 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1 Dec 2009, 01:52 PM   #2
Boiler Up!

anybody?
Old 2 Dec 2009, 04:07 AM   #3
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video

What software are you using to transfer the video from cam to computer ?

Quote:
regardless of the settings I use
What settings ?

ONLY MOMENTS LINGER...DEWDROPS ON A FALLEN LEAF
paglamon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2 Dec 2009, 07:06 AM   #4
Boiler Up!

Quote:
Originally Posted by paglamon View Post
What software are you using to transfer the video from cam to computer ?

What settings ?

Using Cyberlink PowerDirector to import the video from the camera. I've tried all the settings. I'd have to open up the program and look at them specifically (different computer that I'm on now) but I've tried virtually everything and it all turns out about the same.