Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Video File Formats > Other File Formats

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 29 Nov 2002, 09:43 AM   #1
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 15
Question problem converting RM to AVI. AVI dissappears after TINRA .05 completes

I've been trying to convert RealMedia files to AVI's and so far the only tool i've found to do this is TINRA v0.05 (link posted here at divx-digest.com), with stabilizer v1.2 and the GUI v1.4 (all most recent versions). Also I do have RealPlayerOne (most recent realplayer) installed on my system. when I run the tinraGUI program and convert a realmedia file to AVI, everything appears to run smoothly. the conversion seems to be executed (20 minute file takes 20 minutes to recode, presumably because its doing some sort of recapture). The avi file appears in the output directory as the conversion is occurring, but the instant the conversion comes up complete, the avi vanishes. In addition, i've tried aborting the recoding mid-process to see what happens, and the avi file remains, but the contents are just a black screen (audio exists as it should). I've tried encoding with HuffyYUV 2.1 and Divx Low-motion, both produce the same results. Any clues why all this is happening?

p.s. i'm not new to recoding video files, i'm just new to trying to recode realmedia files.
demise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 Nov 2002, 11:16 AM   #2
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
Batman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Gotham City
Posts: 2,317
Default

You may have better luck with screen capture software.
Batman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 Nov 2002, 11:23 AM   #3
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 15
Default

I tried that with windows media encoder, but it couldn't capture the multimedia environment. In other words, what I captured was the entire screen, but the playback area remained black. The same as if you use a 'print screen' screen capture and look at the results.

p.s. I also had trouble with the audio capture that way but I didn't look at all the options for that since it was useless when the video capture failed
demise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 Nov 2002, 02:54 PM   #4
Retired
 
setarip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 24,955
Default

By "screen capture software", batman was referring to products such as Camtasia and SnagIt (both by Wordsmith)...
setarip is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT +10. The time now is 11:00 AM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com