Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Video File Formats > Other File Formats

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 1 Jan 2003, 08:47 AM   #1
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: mountains
Posts: 3
Default quick codec question

Say that 3 times!

I've read through the posts and learned a bit about avi audio and problems users have found, but I still need to get some input...

1) Before a "codec pack" (Nimo, tsunami..) is installed, should all currently loaded codecs be uninstalled? And how is this done? Selectively?

2) Is one of the above mentioned packs better than the other?

3) On my lunch half-hour I d/l'd the Nimo Lite Pack, and ran the executable (said I was missing one .dll- MSVR70 maybe?). I quickly sampled an avi that was "missing" audio, only to find out it was still "missing."
****this missing audio is the problem I'm trying to resolve****
Once a pack's exe is run, are the codecs instantly installed??

I need more than a half-hour lunch to play with the problem!!

Thanks much,
Springy
springy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1 Jan 2003, 09:22 AM   #2
Old member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 5,417
Default

Quote:
1) Before a "codec pack" (Nimo, tsunami..) is installed, should all currently loaded codecs be uninstalled? And how is this done? Selectively?
If you are installing a codec from the pack that you have already installed in the system, then do remove it. Otherwise, leave it well alone. As for removing it, your best hope is via the Add/Remove Programs option under the Control Panel.

Quote:
2) Is one of the above mentioned packs better than the other?
Not necessarily. From what I've gathered, the Tsunami codec pack is larger in size and hence should contain a larger choice of codecs (of course you don't really need to have all of them installed).

Quote:
3) On my lunch half-hour I d/l'd the Nimo Lite Pack, and ran the executable (said I was missing one .dll- MSVR70 maybe?). I quickly sampled an avi that was "missing" audio, only to find out it was still "missing."
To find out what codec you need, do the following:
1. Open the file in Virtualdub
2. Go to File -> File Information
3. Post what information you see here

Quote:
Once a pack's exe is run, are the codecs instantly installed??
There should be an installation dialog coming up right after you run the executable file. Follow the instructions.
Enchanter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1 Jan 2003, 09:33 AM   #3
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: mountains
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks for your time and advice-
I will try these when I get home.
I didnt get the instruction-prompt after running Nimo.exe, I will probably remove and (considering the .dll error received,) d/l Tsunami.
But getting VirtualDub is first on the list, and I'll post the info when I get to it....
Thanks!
springy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT +10. The time now is 02:41 PM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com