Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Video File Formats > Other File Formats

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 22 Jan 2006, 10:14 AM   #1
Member
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 93
Default RAM or RM to MPEG1

I tryed encoding a RAM video with audio and video.
But when I use tmpeg to convert it to mpeg1,
it only encodes the video and not the audio. and the audio
is in there before I encode. video on one line and audio on
the other line. same as if you were going to convert a WMV
or AVI file. but whne I try it with a RAM or RM I get only the
video not the audio. Anyone know what Im doing wrong?
Shock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 Jan 2006, 10:56 AM   #2
Demigod of Digital Video
 
LT. Columbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 10,671
Default

typical of tmpgenc, try raising directshow first as described below.

FAQ
No Audio on Output File After Using TMPGEnc:
This is usually caused by the compression on the audio of the source file. If it is an AVI file it is very common. With an AVI file the easiest things to do here are set DirectShow Multimedia File Reader's priority to 2 or even better demcompress the audio.

To change the priority of DirectShow, this is done simply by clicking option - environmental setting. Click the VFAPI plug-in tab. You will see DirectShow in the list usually with a priority of -1. Right click on the NAME (not the priority) and click higher priority until the priority is 2 and it is at the top of the list. To decompress the audio for better results, do the following with VirtualDUB...

1. Click Video - Direct Stream Copy.
2. Click Audio - Full Processing Mode.
3. Click Audio - Compression. Select and click ok!
4. Click File - Save AVI and try it with TMPGEnc.
__________________
"One day men will look back and say I gave birth to the 20th Century". Jack The Ripper - 1888
Columbo moments...
"Double Shock" "The Greenhouse Jungle" "Swan Song" FORUM RULES
"You try to contrive a perfect alibi, and it's your perfect alibi that's gonna hang ya."
(An Exercise In Fatality, 1974)


LT. Columbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 Jan 2006, 12:34 PM   #3
Member
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 93
Default

Unfortionately I cant even open a RAM file with Vdub. however I was able to
use a work-around with movie maker. I dont like MS products but it was the
only thing that worked for me. I had to add the RAM file into movie makerand then add each clip to the strip, save it as a WMV file. and then I was able to
import the WMV file into TMPGEnc to save again as a mpeg1. Kind of a pain
But it worked. Thanks for the quick reply.
Shock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 Jan 2006, 02:02 PM   #4
Demigod of Digital Video
 
LT. Columbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 10,671
Default

i understand, and i'm happy to have helped you out
LT. Columbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NEED help increasing RAM/speed for multi-tasking Dr Klovernutz General Computing 11 8 Jan 2006 09:52 AM
Ram and dvd shrink..please answer droc327 Blank Media and Burning 2 6 Jan 2005 02:14 PM



All times are GMT +10. The time now is 03:42 PM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com