Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Video File Formats > Other File Formats

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 16 Sep 2003, 08:54 PM   #1
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 2
Question repairing bad frames in xvid movies

i got a couple of xvid movies with bad frames in them

i'd like to repair and not remove the bad frames, or my subs won't work (i speak dutch, i need the subs)

i tried:
Vdub => won't work cause the sound is VBR encoded
Nandub => opens the file but cannot mask bad frames (or maybe i got an older version)
avi defreeze => generates huge file sizes
vdub-mp3-freeze => i can detect bad frames with this but not repair them
divx anti-freeze filter => it's xvid

someone pls help! tnx
Rufi0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 Sep 2003, 09:05 PM   #2
Digital Video Expert
Digital Video Expert
 
The Edge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Ireland
Posts: 610
Default

Use VirtualdubMod instead. When opening the file say "No" to re-writing the header. Then mask the frames and resave avi.

Also, could you have a look here for me
http://forum.digital-digest.com/show...threadid=25113

Edge
__________________
"ůI know the industry is formally opposed to that kind of thing [bootlegging] but I'm not. I don't have a problem with it at all." -- Paul McGuiness"
The Edge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Sep 2003, 02:21 AM   #3
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 2
Default

tnx
Rufi0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 Jan 2004, 08:40 PM   #4
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: San Jose
Posts: 49
Default one way I've just stumbled on

This is a convoluted way but I've had exciting results. (I've had some xvid bad frames myself and my Premiere chokes on xvid).

Track down a tool from Microsloth called Graphedit. Its free in the SDK, but I truthfully can't recall where I originally got it. I used to use it for stripping Wav audio off of streams btw. Works sweet.

Save your audio stream seperately to wav. (or whatever you like...)
Cut up your avi stream so that you have a starting keyframe in your chunk thats got the bad frames in it. I suggest you have disabled the audio stream so that your working with video chunks only. (Identify the bad frames using the scan routine of Vdubmod).
Start Graphedit and use the 'Render Media File" - selecting your bad video chunk.
Delete the Block called 'Video Renderer" by selecting it and pressing the delete key.
Under Graph- select Insert Filter. Select the AVI MUX filter found under the Directshow filters.
Insert a filter called "file Writer" also found under the directshow filters. It will prompt you for a file name for output. Choose something unique.
Drag from the 'connectors' to draw an arrow of direction from block to block. I can't diagram it here but experiment till you get the idea. Remember, output to input.
Click the green arrow icon to pump the output. Be patient, as the red 'stop' icon becomes available and you'll notice a small graphic line under the toolbar icons. 12k frames took 6 mins on my p4_1.8Ghz as I wrote this.

Now depending on your ffdshow settings ( I think... shoot me if I'm wrong) your output file should now have an error free stream. This does NOT put the data stream all back together, you still may have frames with unviewable data, but the frame itself is no longer corrupt.

At this point you can re-join your avi chunks, then weave the audio back in.

Good luck!
Shu
ShuMO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9 Aug 2005, 11:17 PM   #5
Gold Member
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 143
Default avi-mask the frames

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Edge
Use VirtualdubMod instead. When opening the file say "No" to re-writing the header. Then mask the frames and resave avi.

Also, could you have a look here for me
http://forum.digital-digest.com/show...threadid=25113

Edge
how do you mask the frames with vdm. i dont see that process. thanx in advance
mikeylikess99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 Aug 2005, 02:03 AM   #6
Demigod of Digital Video
 
LT. Columbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 10,671
Default

under "video" you have to "scan video stream for errors" first, then you will have the option.
__________________
"One day men will look back and say I gave birth to the 20th Century". Jack The Ripper - 1888
Columbo moments...
"Double Shock" "The Greenhouse Jungle" "Swan Song" FORUM RULES
"You try to contrive a perfect alibi, and it's your perfect alibi that's gonna hang ya."
(An Exercise In Fatality, 1974)


LT. Columbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 Aug 2005, 05:48 AM   #7
Gold Member
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 143
Default vdm-scanning

Quote:
Originally Posted by LT. Columbo
under "video" you have to "scan video stream for errors" first, then you will have the option.
hi there thanx for the quick response. i did that and it got about 4 min into movie then vdm gave me an out of memory erort..?what can i do with this, thanx in advance...
mikeylikess99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 Aug 2005, 06:23 AM   #8
Demigod of Digital Video
 
LT. Columbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 10,671
Default

4 min into vdubs process? or 4min into the playback of the file it created.
LT. Columbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 Aug 2005, 06:28 AM   #9
Gold Member
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 143
Default vdm

Quote:
Originally Posted by LT. Columbo
4 min into vdubs process? or 4min into the playback of the file it created.

sorry. it gave me that memory error in the 4th min of the movie while it was scanning it...im wondering does it have anything to do with the vbr message it gets at the beginning, when i open the file.. is there a way to put a screen image of the file posted on to here. i see others doin it but unaware of how to. maybe i can get a how to on that, then i can post the info here. perhaps its a different problem issue with the file.thanx in advance
mikeylikess99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 Aug 2005, 06:33 AM   #10
Demigod of Digital Video
 
LT. Columbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 10,671
Default

no it has nothing to do with the VBR audio, just say no to the header.

it seems as if the file can't even be rendered by virtualdubmod. sounds like it might be in pretty bad shape.

one thing you can try use "divfix" (freeware) see if it can repair it...otherwise if it was me i'd toss the thing.
LT. Columbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 Aug 2005, 06:35 AM   #11
Gold Member
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 143
Default thanx

thanks much for info. what about changin the vbr to pcm, would this make a difference?
mikeylikess99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 Aug 2005, 06:40 AM   #12
Demigod of Digital Video
 
LT. Columbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 10,671
Default

i can't say for sure, but i doubt it . if it's something you really want by all means play with it... you'd best try divfix first.
LT. Columbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT +10. The time now is 03:09 PM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com