Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Video File Formats > Other File Formats

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 16 Nov 2002, 02:46 PM   #1
Super Member
Super Member
 
Glanz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 204
Default tv out

I have a ge force 4 mx 420 , yeah it sucks, I am trying to send video out to my tv to watch a movie i ripped but my tv only has composite in. What is the best way to solve this problem. thank u

Last edited by Glanz; 16 Nov 2002 at 02:49 PM
Glanz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 Nov 2002, 02:57 PM   #2
Retired
 
setarip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 24,955
Default

(Not joking) A new television...
setarip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 Nov 2002, 03:06 PM   #3
Super Member
Super Member
 
Glanz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 204
Default

that is a little depressing, so ur saying that i have to get a tv with s video in? There is no other way to solve this?
Glanz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 Nov 2002, 03:08 PM   #4
Retired
 
setarip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 24,955
Default

That's it, as far as I know...
setarip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 Nov 2002, 03:13 PM   #5
Super Member
Super Member
 
Glanz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 204
Default

ok, well thank u setarip
Glanz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 Nov 2002, 03:27 PM   #6
Retired
 
setarip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 24,955
Default

My pleasure ;>}
setarip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Nov 2002, 02:52 AM   #7
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
Batman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Gotham City
Posts: 2,317
Default

Not 100% sure but maybe check your local electronics retailer for some sort of converter (but you may lose quality)?
Batman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Nov 2002, 04:34 AM   #8
Super Member
Super Member
 
Glanz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 204
Default

ok thanks
Glanz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Nov 2002, 03:12 AM   #9
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 33
Default

You can get a converter but it's not cheap and it's not common. I travel a lot and spend a lot of time waiting around in hotel rooms so I'll carry several movies with me to play from my laptop on the hotel TVs but not all have the s-video plugs. The only place I found with a converter for these TVs was from a very large electronics store that had just about everything you could think of.
PCaravan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Nov 2002, 10:35 PM   #10
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 5
Default

I have the same problem. But have the following solution.

If you have a SCART connection on your tv or video it's very easy and not that expensive to view movies. The scart adapter can handle svideo, composite and sound. If your tv cant handle svideo get a small svideo to composite cable. Its not very hard to get and fairly cheap. Both are available in any good electronics store.
Koebilai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 Nov 2002, 12:39 AM   #11
Super Moderator
 
UncasMS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 9,047
Default

Quote:
If you have a SCART connection on your tv or video it's very easy and not that expensive to view movies
ABSOLUTELY


why would one buy a new tv because the recent one lacks s-video-in???
__________________
UncasMS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 Nov 2002, 07:37 AM   #12
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 27
Default

run the video out from your computer to the video in on a vcr then run the vcr to the tv
__________________
The King Of Sneaky

Spam Free Email
Kill All Spammers

Remove "spyware" from your pc
Get Adaware
webgenius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 Nov 2002, 09:39 AM   #13
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 4
Default

the easy solution is ---->

s-video to rca(composite) adapter. dont cost much either.

try here http://www.videocapturecard.com/svideorca.html
fuel__2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 Nov 2002, 10:48 AM   #14
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 5
Default Scart only?

I have a geforce 2 mx card which has scart and composite out. Just like you... my tv doesn't have s-video. Picture quality is very good on the television with this setup. I'm sure it could be better with s-video but none the less its as good as vcr or better.
Billnj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT +10. The time now is 03:45 PM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com