Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Video File Formats > Other File Formats

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 17 Nov 2002, 12:10 PM   #1
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1
Default Xvid causes blurry green mess

I installed nimo built 7, and the koepi xvid codec.
I try to open Barbershop in mediaplayer 6.4 but all I see is a static blurry mess of green and a lot of other colors, with only some movement on top of the screen. The sound is good.

I hope somebody can help me out, because I tried everything to make this work.

Tnx
pace_nl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Nov 2002, 03:18 PM   #2
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
Batman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Gotham City
Posts: 2,317
Default

The NIMO codec pack has problems. Try uninstalling it and just using the xvid codec.
Batman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Nov 2002, 08:43 AM   #3
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 17
Default Nimo has problems if you don't know how to use it...

I had the same problem with the movie "Signs".
So I downloaded the newest "Nimo pack" because I already had an earlier one... but then it made a fatal error in all of my players(Real One, Windows Media Player), so I uninstalled it, and then not only the problem got solved, I also solved the green blure in my "Signs" movie.... so far so good.... but now I didn't have sound in thoes movies with an AC3 decoding... what to do??
well, because all movies was good in the video part, I had to fix only the sound part so I installed the nimo pack but I only installed the AC3 codec and and some other sound codecs, but not anything involved in the video codec, and it worked!
Conclution: you need to know what codecs are missing and then install them, how do you know what codec is missing? download the "G-spot" from dvd.box.sk and if you have a video problem or a sound problem just use that program, it will tell you what video codec and what sound codecs the file is using and it will also tell you if the video codec is installed or not, as for the sound? you'll figuerd it your self....

I hope this long answer helps you and others

Last edited by Mr.HicUp; 27 Nov 2002 at 08:48 AM
Mr.HicUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 Nov 2002, 06:01 PM   #4
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1
Talking mr. Hiccup is a genious

thanks a lot man, i had the same problem did exactly as you said and im running great now, im just pist cause i thought that the movies were at fault so i deleted them, lol oh well, thanks man
cyncprct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8 Dec 2002, 06:51 AM   #5
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 4
Default

Could you please post teh complete link to this proggy. I'm getting site not found

Quote:
download the "G-spot" from dvd.box.sk
bnn121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8 Dec 2002, 07:25 AM   #6
Moderator
 
gd_nimrod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,128
Default

This should work: http://dvd.box.sk/indexN.php3?pid=di...ools&tools=cut If not, then just search for "gspot"
__________________
Did you know you can SEARCH the forum? Fixes common problems too:
http://forum.digital-digest.com/search.php

Also search on the whole Digital-Digest website:
http://www.digital-digest.com/search.html
gd_nimrod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8 Dec 2002, 07:45 AM   #7
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks for the link but I still am not able to load it. When searching for gspot in google.

Oh, can you imagine the porn sites that pop up.

Dose anydoy have the proggy they can post to a site or something.
bnn121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8 Dec 2002, 07:54 AM   #8
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 4
Default

I found it,

thanks for the help
bnn121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8 Dec 2002, 10:45 AM   #9
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 4
Default

Is there a way to completely remove all the codecs in the system a nd completely star over?

I have done the above procedure, I finally get the video but for the life of me get the sound to work. I have run the G-spot utility, eould it help if I posted the screen shot for it? That is so someone can guide me to a successful viewing on the PC.

And to add to that. Which area is best to post help of burning the XVID to a VCD to view it on a standalone player?
bnn121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9 Dec 2002, 12:45 AM   #10
Moderator
 
gd_nimrod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,128
Default

The easiest (but not fastest) way to remove your system of all codecs would be to re-install windows. OTher than that, im pretty sure that some codecs will stay in your system. Then again, you could try uninstalling every codec if it appears in your Add/Remove Programs.
"Which area is best to post help of burning the XVID to a VCD to view it on a standalone player" VCD Conversion.
gd_nimrod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Dec 2002, 02:23 PM   #11
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Taiwan
Posts: 13
Default

Hi, guys
I have some problem in playing not only "Signs", but also "one hour photo", "Bourne Identity" ect.
My player is windows media player 6.4/BS player.
Codec is Nimo Codec pack build8.
Then I check all of films, they are in Xvid format.
I tried several settings, finally I found why it cause green mess.
If you install nimo with basic, ffdshow will be installed.
Check your entry in ffdshow if Xvid was checked.
If it is, uncheck that. So when you play Xvid film, it will use Xvid codec.
That's what I solve it. Those movies can be played without green screen both in media player/bs player.
I don't have any idea if it's caused by ffdshow.
Hope those will help you.
richard_chen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 Dec 2002, 12:51 PM   #12
Moderator
 
gd_nimrod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,128
Default

Well, there's another solution, although ive never had any problems with the XviD codec
gd_nimrod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Dec 2002, 11:46 AM   #13
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 15
Default

Please explain more when you say:

Check your entry in ffdshow if Xvid was checked.
If it is, uncheck that. So when you play Xvid film, it will use Xvid codec.

What do you mean by "entry"?
alisol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 Dec 2002, 12:15 AM   #14
Moderator
 
gd_nimrod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,128
Default

When you install a codec pack (like Nimo's) it asks you which codecs do you want installed, and here the "check" is simply which codecs you want installed (they have a checkmark beside them).
gd_nimrod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 Dec 2002, 10:24 AM   #15
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 15
Default

I have nimo 5-7, there is Xvid but I see nothing about ffdshow.

What am I missing?
alisol is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT +10. The time now is 04:53 PM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com