Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Other > Archive (Closed) > Other Software

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19 Dec 2004, 07:30 PM   #1
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 5
Angry ACE Mega Codec PACK

I have attempted to install ACEMCP601PRO.exe and keep getting the violation Code before in has full installed. When every I try to uninstall I get yet another violoation code and it deos nto install. How do I get this to install or uninstall?????
thesmiff is offline  
Old 20 Dec 2004, 01:00 AM   #2
Old member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 5,417
Default

Try another codec pack, such as Tsunami.
Enchanter is offline  
Old 20 Dec 2004, 01:50 AM   #3
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks Enchanter, but I still am unable to uninstall the W" Mega CoDec Pack."

I installed a codecs pack called "ACE Mega Codecs Pack", for video playback, as some videos werent playing. I uninstalled it at a later date, and now every time I want to play a video file of any form, Windows Installer comes up, and the following message comes up:

"The Feature you are trying to use is on a network resource that is unavailable."

I have srached my HDD and the file it is looking for does not exist anywhere on the HDD.

ANY IDEAS PLEASE
thesmiff is offline  
Old 20 Dec 2004, 07:46 AM   #4
Retired
 
setarip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 24,955
Default

If you are running WinXP, simply perform a "System Restore" back to the last time (prior to installing ANY codec pack) things were working properly.

Then install the FFDShow filter, which should handle most, if not all of your playback needs. Then, only install any SPECIFIC codec(s) that you may discover are also needed - NOT a "codec pack"...
setarip is offline  
Old 20 Dec 2004, 09:49 PM   #5
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks SETARIP, I have tried what you suggest, all seem to go well but it then reports after the reboot "Your System Cannot Be Restored". I then have tried all the restoire points and the same happens. Does anyone know waht I might try now please!!!!!!!!!

By the way, where can I get the FFDShow Filter?
thesmiff is offline  
Old 20 Dec 2004, 11:18 PM   #6
Old member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 5,417
Default

FFDShow Download Page
Enchanter is offline  
Old 20 Dec 2004, 11:54 PM   #7
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks for the link.
thesmiff is offline  
Old 21 Dec 2004, 11:08 PM   #8
Old member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 5,417
Default

You're welcome.
Enchanter is offline  
Old 4 Jan 2005, 05:08 AM   #9
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 5
Default

YES!!! I have finally got rid of it.

I used a program MISCUU2.EXE which removed not only the program but all the threads as well. You can get this program from the Micrsoft site.

Go get the critter people.
thesmiff is offline  
Old 4 Jan 2005, 09:19 AM   #10
Retired
 
setarip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 24,955
Default

"YES!!! I have finally got rid of it."

Congratulations on resolving your dilemma.

I presume FFDShow allows for your playback requirements...
setarip is offline  
 

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT +10. The time now is 08:09 PM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com