Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Other > Archive (Closed) > Other Software

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 15 Feb 2007, 04:37 AM   #1
Member
Member
 
Gillou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: FRANCE/USA
Posts: 54
Default Changing Audio using Virtualdub

I'm trying to change the audio of my .avi to a .WAV file using Virtualdub.
(I'm following the method explained in the guide Basic TMPGEnc .avi/.mpg to DVD conversion guide)



But I get an error message:



What does it mean? Any help will be appreciated.
Thank you
Gillou is offline  
Old 15 Feb 2007, 04:50 AM   #2
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
paglamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: 22░38'12.55" N, 88░25'20.87" E
Posts: 2,126
Default

Can u post the file information from Virtualdub? I think you need the Fraunhofer MPEG Layer 3 codec.
__________________

ONLY MOMENTS LINGER...DEWDROPS ON A FALLEN LEAF
paglamon is offline  
Old 15 Feb 2007, 05:11 AM   #3
Member
Member
 
Gillou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: FRANCE/USA
Posts: 54
Default

Thanks for your answer Paglamon

Gillou is offline  
Old 15 Feb 2007, 09:12 AM   #4
Digital Video Expert
Digital Video Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 514
Default

Windows comes with an ACM mp3 decoder (from Fraunhofer). So basically two possibilities. The decoder got corrupted (usually due to codec packs) or there is an issue with certain avi headers, VDub and the Fraunhofer decoder which has the same effect.

You could always use something else or frameserve the avi with AVISynth. That way AVISynth decodes the audio on the fly and serves TMPGEnc with PCM audio. Also means faster encoding if you let AVISynth do the resizing, etc. instead of TMPGEnc.
celtic_druid is offline  
Old 15 Feb 2007, 09:42 AM   #5
Super Moderator
 
anonymez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5,525
Default

download & install LAME ACM http://www.free-codecs.com/download/LAME_ACM_Codec.htm

or as mentioned above, use an alternative, eg avisynth or avi-mux GUI to extract and decompress to pcm wav afterwards.
__________________
"What were the things in Gremlins called?" - Karl Pilkington

anonymez is offline  
Old 15 Feb 2007, 10:54 AM   #6
Demigod of Digital Video
 
LT. Columbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 10,671
Default

no need to change to .wav audio. TMPGEnc will handle this audio with the proper codec.
__________________
"One day men will look back and say I gave birth to the 20th Century". Jack The Ripper - 1888
Columbo moments...
"Double Shock" "The Greenhouse Jungle" "Swan Song" FORUM RULES
"You try to contrive a perfect alibi, and it's your perfect alibi that's gonna hang ya."
(An Exercise In Fatality, 1974)


LT. Columbo is offline  
Old 15 Feb 2007, 03:52 PM   #7
Member
Member
 
Gillou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: FRANCE/USA
Posts: 54
Default

What about changing it to AC-3? Would it result in better sound quality?

Last edited by Gillou; 15 Feb 2007 at 04:09 PM
Gillou is offline  
 

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Changing an xvid rips' AC3 audio to mp3? skoodog AVI, DivX/Xvid 1 4 Feb 2004 12:05 AM
changing audio to match new frame rate deadbeet Other File Formats 3 27 Apr 2003 07:35 AM
Virtual Dub for changing audio? Vaughn Other Software 0 24 Jun 2002 06:09 AM



All times are GMT +10. The time now is 09:36 AM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com