Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Other > Archive (Closed) > Other Software

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 23 Apr 2003, 02:51 PM   #1
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
luiz.fernando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Brazil
Posts: 10
Question-2 DivX 3.11al and 5.xx - how to have'em both installed?

how can i install both divx 3.11alpha and 5.xx codecs in my computer without one overwriting the other?
is it possible? i've read on divx.com that codec 5.xx updates (=overwrites) any other version previously installed.
watching 3.x encoded movies with 5.xx codec slows my computer down, making sounds 'watered' with no sync with video, while watching them with 3.x everything runs smoothly, both video and sound.
i can't watch 5.xx encoded files with the 3.xx (3.11a) codec, so i need them both installed, since i don't wanna install e uninstall them everytime i watch a different encoded movie.

thanks u all,
luiz.fernando
luiz.fernando is offline  
Old 23 Apr 2003, 05:03 PM   #2
Gold Member
Gold Member
 
Toast B|M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 112
Default

think you would install divx 5 first and version 3 afterwards...and when any of them asks you to be handle the all other types just say no.
thats how i did it in my other pc, and yes it has both versions installed.
hope this works for you too
__________________
www.megamodels.biz | OC Crusaders
Toast B|M is offline  
Old 23 Apr 2003, 07:14 PM   #3
Old member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 5,417
Default Re: DivX 3.11al and 5.xx - how to have'em both installed?

Quote:
Originally posted by luiz.fernando
how can i install both divx 3.11alpha and 5.xx codecs in my computer without one overwriting the other?
The Tsunami codec pack contains the Tsunami-patched DivX 3.11a codec, which will not be "taken over" by DivX 5.

Quote:
Originally posted by luiz.fernando
is it possible? i've read on divx.com that codec 5.xx updates (=overwrites) any other version previously installed.
To be more precise, DivX 5 automatically plays back DivX 3.11 contents, which is pretty annoying given its decoder's smoothing effect.
Enchanter is offline  
Old 23 Apr 2003, 07:16 PM   #4
Old member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 5,417
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Toast B|M
think you would install divx 5 first and version 3 afterwards...and when any of them asks you to be handle the all other types just say no.
I don't believe DivX 5 installers come with that option (don't know about the more recent version 5.04 though). Are you sure you are not referring to the much older DivX 4?
Enchanter is offline  
Old 9 May 2003, 01:20 PM   #5
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
luiz.fernando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Brazil
Posts: 10
Default

i'll try that tsunami pack, enchanter... thanks a lot!
luiz.fernando is offline  
 

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT +10. The time now is 07:29 AM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com