Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Other > Archive (Closed) > Other Software

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 21 Feb 2003, 04:26 AM   #1
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 4
Question Encoding DivX 5.0.3 in VirtualDub

Hi,

I have some problems encoding DivX 5.0.3 in VirtualDub. When I put filters on (Brightness/Contrast) and crop the image so there's no "wasteland" (blackbars), and then encode the file all I get is the sound and some "images" but they are all grey, and "disturbed" (red and green lines over the picture, and it's distorted). I've tried with XviD, but the only codec that works is Cinepak Codec - anyone who has a solution?
AfterDarkness is offline  
Old 21 Feb 2003, 05:02 AM   #2
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
STEVE1232003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Somewhere in the Digital Galaxy
Posts: 46
Default

Have you tried uninstalling your codec and installing the nimo build codec pack?

This would eliminate the possibility of a faulty codec.

Steve....
STEVE1232003 is offline  
Old 21 Feb 2003, 06:13 AM   #3
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 4
Default

Yep - I've uninstalled all my codecs and just installed Nimo 5.0 - Build 9 Beta 1 - Didn't work any of them (MS MPEG4 3688 V1; MS MPEG4 3688 V2; MS MPEG4 3688 V3).

Still the same old grey distorted image
AfterDarkness is offline  
Old 21 Feb 2003, 06:33 AM   #4
Digital Video Technician
Digital Video Technician
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 462
Default

Have you tried the more stable DivX 5.02?
gs0666 is offline  
Old 21 Feb 2003, 07:16 AM   #5
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 4
Default

Yep, and it's all the same. When I try DivX 5.0.3, I get a error saying "Invalid width size, please resize the image" - Then I hit "OK", and then a new error appears, saying "Cannot start video compression. The source image format is not acceptable (error code -2)". I've cropped the image.
AfterDarkness is offline  
Old 21 Feb 2003, 04:01 PM   #6
Digital Video Technician
Digital Video Technician
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 462
Default

"Invalid width size, please resize the image"

Then you need to resize the image to a valid size.
Check the Format Restrictions for the codec in VDub.
gs0666 is offline  
Old 22 Feb 2003, 03:09 AM   #7
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 4
Default

arrh, now that helped alot

Had cropped 2 pixels too much, but it works fine now - thanks
AfterDarkness is offline  
Old 22 Feb 2003, 02:24 PM   #8
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
STEVE1232003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Somewhere in the Digital Galaxy
Posts: 46
Default

Glad to see you sorted it.....That one was starting to get me going..............Lol

well done gs0666, u da man............



STEVE1232003 is offline  
 

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT +10. The time now is 08:02 PM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com