Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Other > Archive (Closed) > Other Software

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 21 Oct 2002, 10:12 PM   #1
Member
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 58
Default Gknot and divx 4 problem

I keep getting an error, according to the gknot log file the first error reads "cannot open log file" and the errors after that are about changing the bitrate and file size not being correct. The encoding goes on but after it is finished the final file size is alot smaller and the quality is bad.


The error with the log file is right after the first pass is finished, and the strange thing is that it looks for a logfile named "filename.log" when the only log file created is named "filename_Gknot.log". Also the compression check doesn't work, also an error.

I'm using the latest version of gknot (.26.1) i've tried both divx 4.11 that came with Gknot and 4.12 i installed myself. Divx 3 works ok.

Am i doing something wrong?.

Robert
De Joker is offline  
Old 21 Oct 2002, 10:46 PM   #2
Old member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 5,417
Default

Try using the more updated 5.02.
Enchanter is offline  
Old 22 Oct 2002, 02:11 AM   #3
Member
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 58
Default

I will try it with divx 5, but i was hoping that it would work with divx 4.12.

If i install divx 5 will it play divx 4 movies?.

Robert
De Joker is offline  
Old 22 Oct 2002, 03:39 AM   #4
khp
The Other
 
khp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Online
Posts: 2,161
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by De Joker

If i install divx 5 will it play divx 4 movies?.
Yes.
__________________
Donate your idle CPU time for something usefull.
http://folding.stanford.edu/
khp is offline  
Old 22 Oct 2002, 09:33 AM   #5
Old member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 5,417
Default To De Joker

Just for your information, 5.02 has far better quality than any of its predecessors (4.x and earlier 5.x) ever were, and I'm sure you will agree with me once you have tried it out. As for concerns about using the ad-ware Pro version, there are ways to circumvent that, one of which is to simply block it with your firewall.
Enchanter is offline  
Old 22 Oct 2002, 10:14 AM   #6
Member
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 58
Smile

Well i just installed divx 5.02 pro and it worked, no more errors. I agree that the quality is better than divx3, to bad i can't compare it to divx4. Anyways i guess i will be encoding in divx 5 now, thanks.

Robert
De Joker is offline  
Old 22 Oct 2002, 10:35 AM   #7
Super Moderator
 
UncasMS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 9,047
Default

dont be sorry

divx4 is crap and very blurry!
__________________
UncasMS is offline  
 

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT +10. The time now is 08:00 PM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com