Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Other > Archive (Active) > VCD/SVCD > Conversion/Encoding

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 24 Oct 2005, 08:25 AM   #1
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3
Default Convert DAT to JPEG

Hi, I recently lost all my photos of my trip to Italy and I am extremely distressed!!! However, I was able to make a VCD of them all (ofcourse theyre not the 5MP that I shot them at now .. but atleast I can get a copy of them.

I've searched all over the web, but I havent been able to find a DAT to JPEG converter... could someone help?
jumbz55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 Oct 2005, 02:14 AM   #2
Super Moderator
 
UncasMS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 9,047
Default

dat can be converted to mpg (vcdeasy)

mpg could be loaded into many applications such as virtualdubmod (which will let you save i-frames to jpg)
UncasMS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 Oct 2005, 03:41 AM   #3
Super Moderator
 
anonymez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5,525
Default



you can open the dat file with 'media player classic' (you can get it at http://www.free-codecs.com). use the 'save image' function to get a screenshot. you're right though, its definitely not the same, but depending on the original conversion quality, it should be enough for small prints
__________________
"What were the things in Gremlins called?" - Karl Pilkington

anonymez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 Oct 2005, 04:06 PM   #4
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3
Unhappy-2

Hi again, first of all:

1. I wasn't able to open the DAT file or rip the VCD onto my computer.
2. Media Player Classic wasn't able to display the image. I was able to open the DAT file, but it just displayed a black screen.

However, I have been able to view the images in PowerDVD. I tried using PowerDVD's capture button but when pressing it, it dosen't do anything...

Anything else I can try?
jumbz55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 Oct 2005, 05:21 PM   #5
Super Moderator
 
anonymez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5,525
Default

if you're comfortable with using powerdvd to capture the images:

1.run powerdvd

2. right-click the window, click 'configuration'

3. click 'advanced', then the 'snapshot' tab

there you can set a directory for where you want the snapshots to be saved. now everytime you click the capture button, it will save a picture in that directory
anonymez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 Oct 2005, 08:52 PM   #6
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3
Smile-2

thanks heaps! this worked.... its still a shame theyre all low quality now
jumbz55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 Oct 2005, 09:08 PM   #7
Super Moderator
 
anonymez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5,525
Default

no problem

i like to think my photo storage system is fool-proof. i keep all photos on a read-only folder on my hard disk. once in a while i clean out the ones i don't wish to keep, and burn the good ones to a dvd-rw for backup...
anonymez is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT +10. The time now is 04:27 PM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com