Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Other > Archive (Closed) > General Discussions

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 25 Jul 2005, 05:17 AM   #1
Digital Video Enthusiast
Digital Video Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 338
Default DMA/PIO..... what if the best one can get is DMA ultra mode 2?

After I had problems with my PC I suggested to a friend he check his IDE channels.

When he reinstalled the drivers the best the secondary channels could do was go into DMA ultra mode 2.

His system is newer and faster than mine. He has a new DVD burner.

So why can't he get into DMA ultra mode 3 or 4 like mine can?


(side question.... does any of this apply to older PCs with ME or Win98? )

Thanks again!

Last edited by ulTRAX; 25 Jul 2005 at 06:30 AM
ulTRAX is offline  
Old 25 Jul 2005, 05:36 AM   #2
nwg
Left *****
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 5,196
Default

Is he using 80 wire IDE cables? They are needed to get up to UDMA 5.

I have mine set to Multi Word DMA 2 since replacing the motherboard. It is worse than UDMA 2. I can't get rid of it and so far it hasn't really affected me except a slow copy from one HD to another.
nwg is offline  
Old 25 Jul 2005, 06:41 AM   #3
Digital Video Enthusiast
Digital Video Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 338
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nwg
Is he using 80 wire IDE cables? They are needed to get up to UDMA 5.

I have mine set to Multi Word DMA 2 since replacing the motherboard. It is worse than UDMA 2. I can't get rid of it and so far it hasn't really affected me except a slow copy from one HD to another.
Thanks for responding.

I don't know what he has. But are you saying that my DVD drives can only go to DMA mode 3 and 4 because of the wires I have as opposed to the data transfer rate of each drive?
ulTRAX is offline  
Old 25 Jul 2005, 06:52 AM   #4
An Eagles Fan, A MenuShrinker
 
jm1647's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,661
Default

I'm pretty sure I read somewhere that the IDE channel would only have the maximum speed of the slowest device on it. Try it with only one device on the channel at the same time. And as nwg mentioned all the higher speed DMA devices usually come with an 80 wire ribbon cable that have the blue connector that goes to the motherboard.
jm1647 is offline  
Old 25 Jul 2005, 07:00 AM   #5
nwg
Left *****
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 5,196
Default

I believe that 40 wire cables (often used on older DVD and CD drives) can only go up to UDMA 2 (33MB/s). More and more recent DVD and Hard Disk drives can go higher to UDMA 5 but, will still be restricted to UDMA 2 by a 40 wire cable.

The age of the Hard disk can determine how fast the DMA can go. The highest is UDMA 5 which is 100MB/s. It is possible that the hard disk can only go up to UDMA 3 or 4 (66MB/s). To get this speed, it sounds like you are using 80 wire cables. Using a 40 wire cable will restrict the speed to UDMA 2.

My Multi Word DMA is 16MB/s

This link may help

UDMA modes
nwg is offline  
 

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT +10. The time now is 01:21 AM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com