Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Other > Archive (Closed) > Boycotts/Protests/Petitions/Rants

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19 Apr 2007, 09:16 PM   #1
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1
Default DirecTV, on your decision to transition to Mpeg-4

Message to DirecTV, I read somewhere else that you have launched a separate satellite and will eventually be sending all your HDTV eventually in Mpeg-4. I would just like to say while, hey, maybe Mpeg-4 looks acceptable by HD standards on a 17" PC monitor but not so much on a 50" HDTV display. Even with no equipment or interference problems, noise and artifacts will be clearly noticeable so please reconsider.

Last edited by mrvideo; 19 Apr 2007 at 09:22 PM
mrvideo is offline  
Old 19 Apr 2007, 10:20 PM   #2
BR7
He is coming to your little town!
 
BR7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sioux City,IA
Posts: 2,137
Default

You have to keep in mind that they are only allowed a certain amount of bandwidth so maybe
this is their best option
__________________

My Blu-ray Collection
BR7 is offline  
Old 20 Apr 2007, 11:53 AM   #3
NOT an online superstore
 
drfsupercenter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 4,424
Default

I hate satellite anyway, my grandparents like it because they don't have local news on stuff like the morning shows... but that's exactly why I don't like it.

And even their broadcasts of things like NBC come in seconds late anyway. Better off with cable.
__________________
CYA Later:

d̃ŗf̉śŭp̣ễr̀šŰǹt̉ếř
Visit my website!!

Cool Characters Make your text cool
My DVD Collection
drfsupercenter is offline  
Old 20 Apr 2007, 12:15 PM   #4
Super Moderator
 
Chewy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: millenium falcon
Posts: 18,971
Default

A HD mpeg 4 should do well with 10MB/min stream
Chewy is offline  
Old 20 Apr 2007, 12:25 PM   #5
BR7
He is coming to your little town!
 
BR7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sioux City,IA
Posts: 2,137
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by drfsupercenter View Post
I hate satellite anyway, my grandparents like it because they don't have local news on stuff like the morning shows... but that's exactly why I don't like it.

And even their broadcasts of things like NBC come in seconds late anyway. Better off with cable.
I know both Direct TV & Dish Network offer local channels in most areas.Second with the new law both Dish & Direct TV can't offer distant locals anymore.So if you in an area that Dish and Direct Tv hasn't set up shop for your locals then your SOL especially if you cant even get your locals with a rooftop antenna (there are no exceptions)
BR7 is offline  
Old 20 Apr 2007, 06:47 PM   #6
Super Member
Super Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 278
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BR7 View Post
So if you in an area that Dish and Direct Tv hasn't set up shop for your locals then your SOL especially if you cant even get your locals with a rooftop antenna (there are no exceptions)
Well, that's not totally true, but this isn;t a forum for that type of discussion.
You also need to remember one thing about he Satelite companies..both are fighting a constant battle against signal theft, a.k.a. pirates.
Many changes that are introduced are an effort to thwart those attempts.
DTV has been much more successful in cobatting the pirates, but Dish has had very little effect. Dish has had warnings as to actions thgat will be taken if they do not make better attempts at thwarting signal theft..... but again, their Smart Cards architecture have been studied very closely and emulating the card has become common.
Both have terrible customer service, but not nearly as bad as the cable companies..I went to satelite because of the customer service from cable... with satelite, I don;t need the customer service..


Budreaux is offline  
Old 20 Apr 2007, 09:38 PM   #7
NOT an online superstore
 
drfsupercenter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 4,424
Default

Quote:
I know both Direct TV & Dish Network offer local channels in most areas.Second with the new law both Dish & Direct TV can't offer distant locals anymore.So if you in an area that Dish and Direct Tv hasn't set up shop for your locals then your SOL especially if you cant even get your locals with a rooftop antenna (there are no exceptions)
They get ABC and NBC, but it's not local. That's what I mean.
drfsupercenter is offline  
Old 21 Apr 2007, 02:38 AM   #8
Super Member
Super Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 278
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by drfsupercenter View Post
They get ABC and NBC, but it's not local. That's what I mean.
But locals are available through the sat. companies, you just have to pay extra for them, like an add-on package.

However, there are antenas you can place on your dish to get your locals...FREE.... many folks seem to have forgotten that their local channels are still broadcasted for free in your area....
With the advent of cable tv and sat tv, folks forgot about the old rabbit ears... their not rabbit ears any longer, they have gotten pretty technical with local anteanas...
Budreaux is offline  
Old 21 Apr 2007, 06:18 AM   #9
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
katzdvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,198
Default

Quote:
However, there are antenas you can place on your dish to get your locals...FREE.... many folks seem to have forgotten that their local channels are still broadcasted for free in your area....
With the advent of cable tv and sat tv, folks forgot about the old rabbit ears... their not rabbit ears any longer, they have gotten pretty technical with local anteanas...
won't the analog signal be phased out shortly, when the digital comes on the scene? They are going to drop the analog broadcast.

At that point, they would need a dig. receiving antenna. (2008)
katzdvd is offline  
Old 23 Apr 2007, 09:30 AM   #10
NOT an online superstore
 
drfsupercenter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 4,424
Default

I have cable that has local channels... that does become a problem on my family room TV, however, because of what I call antenna interference. A weak signal from the air waves mixes with the slightly faster cable signal and makes a ghost image on the screen. The cable guys had no idea how to fix it either
drfsupercenter is offline  
Old 23 Apr 2007, 10:12 AM   #11
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
doctorhardware's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: In the land of Ice & Snow
Posts: 1,907
Default

@drf
No that is not the problem it sounds like you have a cable coax problem. What you need to do is to have the cable company come out and take measurments on the cable. Look at the bit error rate and the signal lost. Been there done that and finally found a tech that actually knew what they were doing, and how to take the proper measurements.
doctorhardware is offline  
Old 24 Apr 2007, 12:07 PM   #12
NOT an online superstore
 
drfsupercenter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 4,424
Default

Well you have to pay to have the cable people come out.

I never watch local channels, except if there's some breaking news, so it's not that big of a deal.
drfsupercenter is offline  
Old 25 Apr 2007, 10:41 AM   #13
Super Member
Super Member
 
olyteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 268
Default

Actually, what you have is 'ingress'. That's the local over the air leaking into the cable. The usual fix is to tighten or replace fittings. There are usually at least half a dozen, and if one or more are loose or poorly installed the coax's shield can't shield the cable signal and bingo, ghosts.
olyteddy is offline  
Old 25 Apr 2007, 10:58 AM   #14
NOT an online superstore
 
drfsupercenter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 4,424
Default

Would it be easier to replace the coax altogether?
drfsupercenter is offline  
Old 25 Apr 2007, 03:22 PM   #15
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
doctorhardware's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: In the land of Ice & Snow
Posts: 1,907
Default

I have comcast here and they don't charge anything to come out and check out any problems you may have.
doctorhardware is offline  
 

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer decision, what would you do? MisFire General Computing 2 20 Mar 2007 05:09 PM
Question about Directv, and Mpeg-4 AVC ajp MP4, MKV, MPEG-4 AVC (H.264) 5 4 Nov 2006 02:20 AM
Over expose transition for Premiere cvitanic DVD Authoring and Editing 0 4 Mar 2006 07:18 AM
Transition problems :( Jay Patrick Junior Members/Newbies 5 22 Nov 2005 08:44 AM
Need help in transition when editing Jay Patrick General Discussions 4 22 Nov 2005 08:06 AM



All times are GMT +10. The time now is 11:01 AM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com