Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Other > Archive (Closed) > Junior Members/Newbies

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13 Sep 2005, 09:36 PM   #1
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3
Default problems capturing NTSC video

Apologies if this has already been answered before.

I have been given a number of video-tapes, recorded in NTSC, and i am trying to transfer them to DVD for distribution to family members. I am in the UK.

When i view the tapes on a NTSC compatible video recorder on a TV i can watch them without problem. When i use the same video recorder, linked to a Canopus ADVC100, and try to capture onto PC i get a constant flickering picture and intermitent sound. I have tried using Premiere Pro 1.5, Scenealyser, Pinnacle Studio 9, & Intervideo WinDVD Creator, but without success.

What am I doing wrong????

Any advice would be appreciated. ( I have tried all settings on Premiere Pro but none have helped).
tartanbollox is offline  
Old 13 Sep 2005, 10:06 PM   #2
Gold Member
Gold Member
 
moonrocks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Lost in New Hampshire
Posts: 142
Default

Have you checked the dip switches on your Canopus? Dip Switch 1 toggles between PAL and NTSC. Dip Switch 2 toggles between Japanese and USA NTSC.

For capturing with the Canopus ADVC-100 I like WinDV. Gives good results and it's freeware.

http://windv.mourek.cz/
moonrocks is offline  
Old 13 Sep 2005, 10:57 PM   #3
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks very much Moonrock, that's fixed the flicker. (I forgot all about the dip switches). However it's only capturing in black & white now, any ideas?
tartanbollox is offline  
Old 14 Sep 2005, 12:02 AM   #4
Gold Member
Gold Member
 
moonrocks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Lost in New Hampshire
Posts: 142
Default

I don't use the software you mentioned in your first post so if a capture setting is off there I can't help you with that. Hopefully someone else can give you a suggestion.

If you try WinDV (very small and simple to use) is it still black and white in the preview window of WinDV? I can't imagine the Canopus could be causing that but just to rule that possibility out you could feed the analog out from the Canopus to your TV. At least then you'll know if it's the Canopus or your capture software causing the problem.

Also, if your NTSC tape has Macrovision the Canopus won't display it properly initially, until you adjust it a bit.

Last edited by moonrocks; 14 Sep 2005 at 01:50 AM
moonrocks is offline  
Old 19 Sep 2005, 08:13 AM   #5
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
tigerman8u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,124
Default

you might have to get a TBC/video stabilizer to completely correct the problem. Virtual vcr (free) has given me good results as a capturing software.
tigerman8u is offline  
Old 2 Oct 2005, 01:29 AM   #6
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks for your help guys.

After searching the Canopus website it would seem that the problem lies in the fact that my ntsc compatible pal vcr is transmitting a different signal to that of a true ntsc vcr and so the Canopus does not pick up the colour. I guess, as you say, some sort of convertor/stabilizer is required.

If there is anything you can recommend i would be greatful.

Thanks again.
tartanbollox is offline  
Old 2 Oct 2005, 06:22 AM   #7
Gold Member
Gold Member
 
moonrocks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Lost in New Hampshire
Posts: 142
Default

When playing your NTSC tape what's probably being output is PAL-60, PAL video resolution but at an NTSC 30 fps. Your TV can handle this hybrid signal but apparently the Canopus cannot. I'm not sure a regular video stabilizer alone will fix this because no matter what the stabilizer does with adjusting the color it's the combination of the PAL video resolution and 30 fps that's confusing the Canopus.

I'd think you'd need to shop for a video converter that specifically states it will convert PAL-60 to either standard PAL or standard NTSC. Try something with features like this:

http://www.tenlab.com/tr10.html

Another option, maybe cheaper as well, would be to get an NTSC VCR, one which will output a standard NTSC signal to your Canopus. I don't know if those are readily available in the UK (probably not), but in the US those are very inexpensive, maybe $25.


Last edited by moonrocks; 2 Oct 2005 at 06:25 AM
moonrocks is offline  
 

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT +10. The time now is 07:19 AM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com