Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Other > Archive (Closed) > Nero Recode

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 9 Jul 2005, 01:08 PM   #46
Super Moderatress
 
cynthia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 14,278
Default

True, you can't do that. I never use that feature myself. That's why I always forget that it don't work in Nero Recode 2.

Even think there is an old thread where it was discussed.
__________________
cynthia is offline  
Old 10 Jul 2005, 01:28 PM   #47
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1
Default

where can i get nero recodeor should i just get dvd shrink, please help new to all this
dense2005 is offline  
Old 10 Jul 2005, 01:31 PM   #48
Super Moderatress
 
cynthia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 14,278
Default

You can download a demo version of Nero Recode 2 - here: http://www.nero.com/eng/nero-prog.html

But if you are new to the backup scene - try with DVD Shrink first.

You can find a guide here: http://forum.digital-digest.com/showthread.php?t=49051
cynthia is offline  
Old 10 Jul 2005, 07:25 PM   #49
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 47
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cynthia
You can do all the things with Nero Recode that you can do with DVD Shrink.
Not true. The important 'Set default audio/subtitle-streams' setting is still missing in Recode.

jaaay
jaaay is offline  
Old 10 Jul 2005, 07:58 PM   #50
Shrinkslinger, movie only
 
ger@co's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 843
Default

jaaay, I believe you can set the default audio and subtitle streams in "Profiles." After you select "Recode," click on the "More >>" button, then click the "Profiles" button. Select the "Audio" and "Subtitle" tabs to set your defaults.

Later.
__________________
ger@co rulez "A census taker once tried to test me. I ate his liver with some fava beans and a nice chianti." Hannibal Lecter (Anthony Hopkins). The Silence of the Lambs.

Last edited by ger@co; 10 Jul 2005 at 08:58 PM
ger@co is offline  
Old 10 Jul 2005, 11:24 PM   #51
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 47
Default

No, that's not it.

I'm talking about DVD Shrink's possibility to set any given subtitle/audio-stream to 'active', meaning that it will automatically be activated when playing the movie in the player. This is needed for all movies with seperate forced-subtitle streams.

It's absolutely puzzling to me, why the author still hasn't implemented this rather basic but important feature yet...

jaaay
jaaay is offline  
Old 11 Jul 2005, 03:39 AM   #52
Super Moderatress
 
cynthia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 14,278
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jaaay
Not true. The important 'Set default audio/subtitle-streams' setting is still missing in Recode.

jaaay
You can do it in a work-around way.

http://forum.digital-digest.com/show...threadid=51158
cynthia is offline  
Old 11 Jul 2005, 09:57 AM   #53
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Baltic Sea
Posts: 27
Default

I' ve come to the conclusion to use DVDShrink 3.2 for movies (progressive) to preserve maximal sharpness (it's a bit more than Recode's output).

But for interlaced material (music, concert, some documentations and television series DVDs) I use Recode to get much faster my copy.

I found a workaround to avoid the bug of unrecognised deepanalysis in Recode.
You have to do the deepanalysis without any preselections of streams or deactivations of titles or menus (blacking) and interrupt the encoding process.
With this trick the next time Recode will remember the deepanalysis and you can do your deactivations of streams, titles or menus the way you want it.
michi90 is offline  
Old 12 Jul 2005, 12:43 AM   #54
Member
Member
 
Dashiell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 91
Default

@JAAAY & Cynthia


Hello again!

It has been my experience that Recode2 adds the forced subtitles automatically, provided they're "checked" (not removed) to begin with.

I've encountered this on a few dvds, particularly the new dir cut of "Stripes." (There's a forced subtitle that appears before and after each scene that was put into the movie.) This was done with the "rebuild a dvd" feature.


I'm not referring to subs that were burned into the print by the filmmakers, I'm referring to player-generated subs. This may be why this feature is not user selectable...?
Dashiell is offline  
Old 30 Sep 2005, 03:27 PM   #55
Digital Video Enthusiast
Digital Video Enthusiast
 
Mike89's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: California
Posts: 348
Default

I have them both and just like DVD Shrink better. That's the one I started with and just feel more comfortable with it.

Quote:
I use DVD Decrypter and PcgEdit (after reading a really useful guide on this site!).
I am interested in this guide referred to here. I can't find it. Can someone provide a link? Thanks
__________________
I7 920 @ 3.5 gig (ThermalRight U120E 1366 RT Heatsink), Asus P6T, 3x1024 Corsair DDR3 1600, EVGA GTX 280, NEC 90GX2, X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Pro, Lite-on IHAS4228 SATA DVD R/W, Pioneer DVR-216D SATA DVD R/W, LG GH22NS30 SATA DVD R/W, 2 WD 640 gig (32 meg cache) SATA HDDs, WD 750 gig SATA External HDD (eSata), Winfast USB2 TV Tuner, Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Speaker System, Corsair TX750w PSU, HSPC Top Deck Tech Station, Windows XP Pro
Mike89 is offline  
Old 30 Sep 2005, 04:52 PM   #56
Not a god of digital video
 
blutach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: is everything!
Posts: 24,628
Default

Click on PgcEdit on my signature. The guide may be how to burn ISO images with PgcEdit or How to burn dual layer disks with PgcEdit.

Regards
__________________
Les

Essential progs - [PgcEdit] [VobBlanker] [MenuShrink] [IfoEdit] [Muxman] [DVD Remake Pro] [DVD Rebuilder] [BeSweet] [Media Player Classic] [DVDSubEdit] [ImgBurn]

Media and Burning - [Golden Rules of Burning] [Media quality] [Fix your DMA] [Update your Firmware] [What's my Media ID Code?] [How to test your disc]
[What's bitsetting?] [Burn dual layer disks safely] [Why not to burn with Ner0] [Interpret Ner0's burn errors] [Got bad playback?] [Burner/Media compatibility]

Cool Techniques - [2COOL's guides] [Clean your DVD] [Join a flipper] [Split into 2 DVDs] [Save heaps of Mb] [How to mock strip] [Cool Insert Clips]

Real useful info - [FAQ INDEX] [Compression explained] [Logical Remapping of Enabled Streams] [DVD-Replica] [Fantastic info on DVDs]


You should only use genuine Verbatim or Taiyo Yuden media. Many thanks to www.pcx.com.au for their supply and great service.

Explore the sites and the programs - there's a gold mine of information in them

Don't forget to play the Digital Digest Quiz!!! (Click here)

blutach is offline  
Old 30 Sep 2005, 07:06 PM   #57
BR7
He is coming to your little town!
 
BR7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sioux City,IA
Posts: 2,137
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by laserfan
When I select "Recode Main Movie to DVD" I don't seem to be able to apply selective compression to the movie like I could with Shrink.

One example is: select just the end credits and apply max compression, then select the entire movie beginning-to-end and the result would be "Mixed Compression". How can I get Recode 2 to do this??? It won't let me move the compression slider...
The best I could do is go to my profile before I import video on recode and I unchecked keep all menus in original quality and I made sure assign best quality to main movie is checked This way recode dosent try to even everything out. IMO I think it does a better job then shrink.I thought it did great before untill I found out on this site how to set recode to maximum sharpness


__________________

My Blu-ray Collection

Last edited by BR7; 1 Oct 2005 at 08:41 PM
BR7 is offline  
Old 30 Sep 2005, 07:12 PM   #58
Digital Video Specialist
Digital Video Specialist
 
Taelon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 887
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jaaay
I'm talking about DVD Shrink's possibility to set any given subtitle/audio-stream to 'active', meaning that it will automatically be activated when playing the movie in the player. This is needed for all movies with seperate forced-subtitle streams.
Thanks for pointing this out. I've been used Shrink on hundreds of titles and thought I knew all it's tricks but never even realized this option existed. Time to do some experimenting
__________________

Start Here!
DVD Shrink for Dummies Guide
Search the Incredible Knowledgebases
DVD Shrink FAQ's - DVD Decrypter FAQ's
Eliminate CRC & Read Errors
Cleaning & Polishing Guide

Advanced DVD Reauthoring Essentials
PgcEdit v6.1 - Muxman - PgcDemux - VobBlanker v2.0.1
Taelon is offline  
Old 2 Oct 2005, 06:42 AM   #59
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 9
Default

I have been a Shrink fan since version 1, so I thought I would do my own little tests. Nothing technical...."just eyeball it" I decided to do the same movies with the same system,same media,same speed...etc..etc. I was really surprised at my result, being that I have been a rabid Shrink fan....To my surprise the disc's that were done with Recode2 appeared brighter and more colorful.


D
ironD is offline  
 

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT +10. The time now is 04:44 AM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com