Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Other > Archive (Closed) > Nero Recode

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 16 Jul 2006, 08:05 AM   #1
Newby
 
TahoCliffhucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sierras
Posts: 42
Default Nero recode Freezes

Hi,

I am trying to backup "Kicking and Screaming" .
I do not know if my problem is related to this particular movie or if it is the software; for this is the first time I am using this program to burn.

I am using to DVD drives (no ripping), Region +CSS and Nero 6 with Nero Recode.

I get through advanced analysis and then it stops at about ~.4% while "Compiling DVD volume started" phase. The video preview shows that it is stopped at the menu just before the movie.

I have tried different types of blank dvds.
I am using Nero 6.6.0.14 bundled with Nero recode v. 2.2.6.16.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Cheers
TahoCliffhucker is offline  
Old 16 Jul 2006, 10:18 AM   #2
Super Moderator
 
Chewy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: millenium falcon
Posts: 18,971
Default

Test the movie with shrink, rip it to your hard drive, then play it off the hard drive. Burn manually with nero after that.
Chewy is offline  
Old 16 Jul 2006, 01:01 PM   #3
Newby
 
TahoCliffhucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sierras
Posts: 42
Default shrink error

Chewy,

thanks for the help.

I tried to use shrink and I recieved this error ~47% into it:

DVD Shrink encountered an error and cannot continue.
Failed to read file "G:\"
Data error (cyclic redundancy check)

G is the drive the movie is in.

I am trying to read everythig. I did see that this is one error that can occur with Shrink.

I suppose I need to study some more.

thanks again
TahoCliffhucker is offline  
Old 16 Jul 2006, 01:12 PM   #4
Just Trying To Help
 
soup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Canada Region 1
Posts: 7,524
Default

You might want read some error info. You might also want to take a look at the new kid on the block, RipIt4Me & it's user guide.
__________________


Last edited by soup; 16 Jul 2006 at 01:16 PM
soup is offline  
Old 16 Jul 2006, 01:21 PM   #5
Newby
 
TahoCliffhucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sierras
Posts: 42
Default I'm trying everything

Soup,

thanks for the suggestions.

I am spending the night searching and reading up to try and get this dvd burning to be easy when i do not have the time to go thrrough all the possible hassles.

I ideally want to burn disc to disc.

I could ask you if I need to rip some first or if Ripit4me can do disc to disc, But youll just give me a search link or something.

So, I will just spend the next 8 hours figuring it out so I can go back to workk.

And then when someone asks me for help I'll tell them to search.

Cheers
TahoCliffhucker is offline  
Old 16 Jul 2006, 01:31 PM   #6
Super Moderator
 
jmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: East, TX
Posts: 8,697
Default

I help them who help themselves first.

I would have told you the same thing soup did, so please be alittle more respectful to our members and do us all a favor and explore the links soup posted above.
jmet is offline  
Old 16 Jul 2006, 01:35 PM   #7
Newby
 
TahoCliffhucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sierras
Posts: 42
Default searchin links

Jmet,

Like I said, i am thankful for any help and also like I said, I am spending the evening researching all links givin to me as well as all the user guides to all the programs I am learniong.

Thanks
TahoCliffhucker is offline  
Old 16 Jul 2006, 01:39 PM   #8
Super Moderator
 
jmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: East, TX
Posts: 8,697
Default

Quote:
I could ask you if I need to rip some first or if Ripit4me can do disc to disc, But youll just give me a search link or something.

So, I will just spend the next 8 hours figuring it out so I can go back to workk.

And then when someone asks me for help I'll tell them to search.
Don't try to play the innocent type with me. That was so sarcastic and rude. Good luck on finding help!
jmet is offline  
Old 16 Jul 2006, 01:50 PM   #9
Newby
 
TahoCliffhucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sierras
Posts: 42
Default Not entirly

Jmet,

My statement was not entirely sarcastic.

I was simply accepting that I should/could find answers to my questions through searches and am realizing this.

And, I am very serious when I say I am spending the next 8 hours researching everything. I work 70 hours a week (not on a computer) and have little time to sort all this out. So I am devoting tonight to dvd stuff.

I do appreciate any help and links and am sorry if I came off rude. I have become increasingly friustrated with dvd burning and time constraints don't help.

Again thanks for the help.

This is where I am at.
the error I got suggests that I need to use something else to decrypt.
It seems to me that dvd decrypter wont work either and I need to use PLS2 and the pluggin. but I now have 10 programs to work with and see what does what etc.



Cheers
TahoCliffhucker is offline  
Old 16 Jul 2006, 02:23 PM   #10
Super Moderator
 
Chewy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: millenium falcon
Posts: 18,971
Default

your title yields nothing on a search, that tells us it's
rippable by shrink. your error and that clue yield only one conclusion, it's the disk and/or your reader(drive).
Chewy is offline  
Old 16 Jul 2006, 02:30 PM   #11
Digital Video Expert
Digital Video Expert
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 713
Default

Dowload the program RipIt4Me from the link supplied by soup above. Once you have it installed, open it and click on downloads and install any of the programs that you do not already have. This program is easy to use and should be able to handle any DVD available at this time. By now you probably have read about the error message and the causes, RI4M will also let you know if your disc is scratched. As it is most likely a scratched disc.

I know that you have said that you would like to copy disc to disc, but I would lose this notion, it is not recommended. I would suggest that you rip to your HD with RI4M and then burn to your disc with ImgBurn or the burning program of your choice.
copyless is offline  
Old 16 Jul 2006, 02:31 PM   #12
Newby
 
TahoCliffhucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sierras
Posts: 42
Default 1 conclusion

Chewy,

Hmm, I tried Legacy DVD-R 8x and a Verbatim.

I went through the golden rules and checked my drives through my Device manager.

I checked for firmware updates.

I also tried cleaning the disc.

Right now I am trying DVD Fab to rip and then I will try to compress and burn with nero recode.

Any other suggestions as to your conclusion?

I have Lite-on drives

Thanks
TahoCliffhucker is offline  
Old 16 Jul 2006, 02:40 PM   #13
Newby
 
TahoCliffhucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sierras
Posts: 42
Default RipIt4Me

Copyless,

Alot of people have been talking up RipIt4me. I downloaded itr. Now I need to read the guides.

I suppose I could resurface the disc and try again!?

Quote:
I would lose this notion, it is not recommended. I would suggest that you rip to your HD with RI4M and then burn to your disc
I was wondering about this.

Although A friend says he's burned 100 movies w/ ~95% success just using region+css and Nero going disc to disc.

Are there certain discernable situations that would flag me to rip first? Conversly, are ther certain movies you would automatically know that it would be an easy disc to disc burn (beyond no copyright curvballs).

DVD fab is taking forever.
I will try rip it to see if I get the disc scratch warning. then if so , I will resurface it and see if it works how I want it to ----region+css and nero disc to disc.

Cheers
Thanks
TahoCliffhucker is offline  
Old 16 Jul 2006, 02:47 PM   #14
Digital Video Expert
Digital Video Expert
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 713
Default

The only time I would attempt to burn disc to disc, would be when copying a back up. Since this has already been encoded and has no copy protection. All other times rip it first.

When RI4M starts DVDD you can also try lowering the read speed, some have had to lower it all the way to 1x to get it to read some scratched areas, but this is an option also. Start lowering it until hopefully you can read the entire disc.

Last edited by copyless; 16 Jul 2006 at 03:01 PM
copyless is offline  
Old 16 Jul 2006, 02:56 PM   #15
Newby
 
TahoCliffhucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sierras
Posts: 42
Default Rip vs burn

Copyless,

So the success rate is greatly increased by ripping first?

And, I suppose if burning direct does not work it just takes longer in the long run? so you might as well rip first.?

Do you does this becuse you store movies on your HD? or you don't have two DVD drives? or it just has a better success rate?


How does my friend have so much success just using regioncss and Nero?

thanks again for the guidance
TahoCliffhucker is offline  
 

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nero recode 2.2.7.2 looker Nero Recode 10 2 Dec 2005 08:24 AM
OT- Nero recode 2 question videot Nero Recode 11 13 May 2005 02:56 PM
Problems with Nero VisionExpress / Recode jimehc Nero Recode 0 14 Mar 2005 07:29 AM
Nero Recode Bug !! dgs2001 DVD Blank Media, Burning, Recording Hardware 3 29 Dec 2004 12:59 AM
Nero Recode kimomakano General Discussions 1 20 Dec 2003 04:34 AM



All times are GMT +10. The time now is 04:14 PM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com