Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Disc Formats > DVD Blank Media, Burning, Recording Hardware

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 20 Aug 2008, 11:47 PM   #1
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 3
Question Big DMA problem

First of all, I have 2 Primary and 2 Secondary IDE channels, but I've heard that I must have 1 Primary and 1 Secondary. I have a burner in my laptop as well and there's only 1 Primary and Secondary.. So.. is this a problem or is this supposed to be like that ?

The second Primary channel is in Ultra DMA, mode 5, but The secondary channels say not applicable.. but I've heard it has to say Ultra DMA, Mode 2 and my laptop has Ultra DMA, Mode 2 and my laptop burns fine, but my PC doesn't.

How can I enable DMA for my secondary IDE channel and are there supposed to be 2 Primary and 2 Secondary IDE channels?
Saduff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Aug 2008, 09:03 AM   #2
Super Moderator
 
Chewy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: millenium falcon
Posts: 18,971
Default

what is your exact problem?

does the secondary ide controller say PIO mode

http://forum.digital-digest.com/showthread.php?t=61905
Chewy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Aug 2008, 08:10 PM   #3
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 3
Default

No.. it says 'not applicable' for both secondary channels.
Saduff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Aug 2008, 08:51 PM   #4
Super Moderator
 
Chewy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: millenium falcon
Posts: 18,971
Default

not applicable usually means there is nodevice attached, or the device or cable is broken
Chewy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Aug 2008, 09:30 PM   #5
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 3
Default

That's what I thought.. I'm gonna see if my burner is connected.. Thank You! And one more thing.. Is it possible for a burner to be in Ultra DMA Mode 5 or is it Always Ultra DMA Mode 2 ?
Saduff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 Aug 2008, 01:32 AM   #6
Super Moderator
 
Chewy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: millenium falcon
Posts: 18,971
Default

Some of the newer ones are dma4 if I remember right but at 100MB/s that would be 48X dvd burning speed and the disk would shatter from the FORCE
Chewy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DVDx problem and FLASKmpeg problem (encoding problem) Alex Conversion/Encoding 0 12 Feb 2002 09:31 AM



All times are GMT +10. The time now is 11:22 PM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com