Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Other > Archive (Closed) > Disc Formats > DVD Blank Media, Burning, Recording Hardware

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11 Jan 2009, 04:27 AM   #1
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 33
Default Re; Image won't fit on 4.7 gb dvd-r??

hi, are all dvd-r 4.7 gb? I have always used that size but lately having trouble fitting my "full dvd" on those. it tells me not enough room. how can this be avoided? When buying dvds do I have to look for the package to say anything in particular?
Are there some dvd's that are double sided or do I have to break 1 movie into 2 dvds?
Can someone tell me a short answer and also give some links for me to understand different options how this can be done.
One of my movies I can't even burn just the "main movie" which is 5,907 mb? I am assuming 5,907mb is more than 4.7gb that I am using?? any help understanding this is much appreciated.

Last edited by renzandjo; 12 Jan 2009 at 12:53 AM
renzandjo is offline  
Old 11 Jan 2009, 11:36 PM   #2
Not a god of digital video
 
blutach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: is everything!
Posts: 24,627
Default

We can not talk about Fab or DVD Shrink (see rule 19). However, as a general rule, you will need to transcode the movie to 4480Mb or less using a transcoding program (and 5907 is certainly too high). In doing this, most popular transcoders can eliminate unwanted audio and subtitle tracks as well as condensing extras before applying "compression".

If you do not want to do this, you can get dual layer DVDs. The ONLY ones we recommend are Verbatim, +R, 2.4x, MKM-001-00, Made in Singapore.

Regards
__________________
Les

Essential progs - [PgcEdit] [VobBlanker] [MenuShrink] [IfoEdit] [Muxman] [DVD Remake Pro] [DVD Rebuilder] [BeSweet] [Media Player Classic] [DVDSubEdit] [ImgBurn]

Media and Burning - [Golden Rules of Burning] [Media quality] [Fix your DMA] [Update your Firmware] [What's my Media ID Code?] [How to test your disc]
[What's bitsetting?] [Burn dual layer disks safely] [Why not to burn with Ner0] [Interpret Ner0's burn errors] [Got bad playback?] [Burner/Media compatibility]

Cool Techniques - [2COOL's guides] [Clean your DVD] [Join a flipper] [Split into 2 DVDs] [Save heaps of Mb] [How to mock strip] [Cool Insert Clips]

Real useful info - [FAQ INDEX] [Compression explained] [Logical Remapping of Enabled Streams] [DVD-Replica] [Fantastic info on DVDs]


You should only use genuine Verbatim or Taiyo Yuden media. Many thanks to www.pcx.com.au for their supply and great service.

Explore the sites and the programs - there's a gold mine of information in them

Don't forget to play the Digital Digest Quiz!!! (Click here)

blutach is offline  
 

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Decrypter/Imgburn won't burn ISO image created by Acronis True Image 9.0 ed klein ImgBurn 8 15 Nov 2006 12:19 PM
Converted Title to Still Image - Image Shaking Sunray16 DVD Authoring and Editing 2 19 Aug 2005 02:06 PM
IMAGE TOOL message when trying to create image of disk1 greg3654 General Discussions 1 6 Jun 2005 04:50 AM



All times are GMT +10. The time now is 08:17 PM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com