Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Disc Formats > DVD Blank Media, Burning, Recording Hardware

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 1 Aug 2005, 01:14 PM   #1
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 198
Default software putting gap in burn?

OK i think this is kinda weird



I was making a backup of a backup , i just go DVD to DVD (on the fly)

when i use Sonic record now> copy disc; it starts out fine but the the time remaining jumps up (start at 13:49 and when and at random periods the amount of time left may increase to any amount; one time it went to over an hour)
and it takes forever to burn and when it finishes i go to play it and it is an unreadable disc. And when you look at where the burn is on the purple side there is a ring of burned data then a ring of blank then the full burn.??
This also happens when i use Nero smart start (copy on the fly)



BUT when i use nero xpress and choose copy disc
the copy starts, the time may jump up a bit (start at 13:49 and when there is about 3:00 left it may jump up to 5:00 min left)
but when it finishes it plays fine. and when you look at where the burn is on the purple side of the DVD+R there are no gaps.

If anyone has any input i would appreciate it
Dr Klovernutz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1 Aug 2005, 01:50 PM   #2
Demigod of Digital Video
 
LT. Columbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 10,671
Default

"If anyone has any input i would appreciate it"

don't copy on the fly, this is what happens.

you have nero, use "copy disc" feature, or dvd shrink.

save the file to your HD first, burning on the fly is asking for trouble.
__________________
"One day men will look back and say I gave birth to the 20th Century". Jack The Ripper - 1888
Columbo moments...
"Double Shock" "The Greenhouse Jungle" "Swan Song" FORUM RULES
"You try to contrive a perfect alibi, and it's your perfect alibi that's gonna hang ya."
(An Exercise In Fatality, 1974)


LT. Columbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2 Aug 2005, 10:41 AM   #3
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
tigerman8u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,124
Default

as columbo stated never burn on the fly always copy to hard drive 1st. not putting your software down but since nero is working for you if it ain't broke don't fix it unless you want to experiment
tigerman8u is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT +10. The time now is 07:10 PM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com