Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Other > Archive (Closed) > Disc Formats > DVD Blank Media, Burning, Recording Hardware

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 20 Nov 2008, 03:27 PM   #1
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6
Default Using DVD + RW for permanent storage of recorded footage - OK?

Hello there,

I've been raking my brains out over this one, and have spent hours googling, so if anyone can put my mind at rest I'd be hugely indebted!

I have a LOT of footage that has been recorded onto DVD + RW's. Recorded from one disc/tape/etc to the Blank DVD+RW using players/recorders, NOT burned on a PC (I wouldn't know where to start!)

Now, I would like to keep this footage indefinately, but is +RW safe to keep? I daren't even imagine having to transfer it all onto DVD R's as there is a lot!

I apologise if this has been covered already, but doubt was brought to my attention and I almost had a heart attack.

Help much appreciated!

ryanluke is offline  
Old 20 Nov 2008, 05:33 PM   #2
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
doctorhardware's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: In the land of Ice & Snow
Posts: 1,907
Default

It depends on the quality of the blank disks that you are using.
__________________
Star Baby Girl, Born March,1997 Died June 30th 2007 6:35 PM.
doctorhardware is offline  
Old 21 Nov 2008, 01:44 AM   #3
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6
Default

Thank you doctorhardware,
I should have mentioned that the alternative would be re-recording onto DVD + R 's of the same brand. I am mainly interested in longevity difference of +RW vs +R?
ryanluke is offline  
Old 21 Nov 2008, 05:28 AM   #4
Lord of Digital Video
Lord of Digital Video
 
doctorhardware's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: In the land of Ice & Snow
Posts: 1,907
Default

Verbatiums are good and the best would be Taiyo Yuden.
doctorhardware is offline  
Old 21 Nov 2008, 09:04 AM   #5
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6
Default

Thanks for the help doctorhardware.

The brand I am infact using is Kodak, and I know from this site that these aren't that great! (UK market).

My only alternative will be to transfer to Kodak +R, from the RW's, should I bother? Or will the storage life still be the same?

Thanks for your help, in time I will start using verbatim i think.

Last edited by ryanluke; 21 Nov 2008 at 09:23 AM
ryanluke is offline  
Old 21 Nov 2008, 10:44 AM   #6
King of Digital Video
King of Digital Video
 
NightTran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: eastcoast, on the beach
Posts: 4,224
Default

rw will not last long
__________________
NightTran is offline  
Old 21 Nov 2008, 12:54 PM   #7
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6
Default

Thanks guys, so I guess I'll get on with re-recording onto + R's then! I'll make a pot of strong coffee.
ryanluke is offline  
 

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Everybody Vote : Permanent or Non-Permanent Subtitles ? iparout AVI, DivX/Xvid 6 12 Dec 2002 05:24 AM
I want Permanent Subs... :( RFs AVI, DivX/Xvid 7 21 Nov 2002 08:53 AM
Permanent Subtitles to AVI mmystery Other Software 0 16 Nov 2002 09:04 AM
Want permanent sub shion AVI, DivX/Xvid 10 16 Feb 2002 10:45 PM



All times are GMT +10. The time now is 11:23 PM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com