Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Software Forums > DVD Rebuilder

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 6 Mar 2006, 05:16 AM   #1
Digital Video Expert
Digital Video Expert
 
sonic_emperor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: croatia
Posts: 560
Default commercial encoders

which is better...and more important faster?

procoder or cce...
__________________
cro-anthem-video
sonic_emperor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6 Mar 2006, 06:21 AM   #2
Super Moderator
 
UncasMS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 9,047
Default

speed doesnt matter to me

i consider procoder better
cce is faster though
UncasMS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6 Mar 2006, 06:07 PM   #3
Banned
 
techreactor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,309
Default

Amongst all commercial/free encoders

HC Encoder for high bitrates

AutoQmatEnc for low bitrates

Both are tough to beat on quality and performance value.
techreactor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7 Mar 2006, 02:14 AM   #4
Digital Video Expert
Digital Video Expert
 
sonic_emperor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: croatia
Posts: 560
Default

i thought its sure that commercial are better chice...
can u define high/low bitrate,how can i check that in dvdrb?
sonic_emperor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7 Mar 2006, 02:42 AM   #5
Super Moderator
 
UncasMS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 9,047
Default

concerning freeware vs commercial encoders:
confer the comparisons i have posted over the month in this rebuilder forum

cce results with low bitrates dont look good at all


in rb you could use the prepare phase and then see the bitrates which will be used later on

cce is the fastest - true
but with bitrates below ~3500kbps the results may look inferior compared to for example procoder
UncasMS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7 Mar 2006, 02:48 AM   #6
If you have any poo....throw it now
 
Furiousg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 306
Default

The bitrate will depend on how much compression a certain title will need to fit on your desired media. If you have a 3 hour movie at 4.3GB, compared to a 2 hour movie at 4.3GB, the 3 hour movie will still use the same total amount of information, but it will be spread a little "thinner" over the playtime of the film, hence the lower bitrate.
__________________
-FuriousG-



Furiousg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7 Mar 2006, 02:48 AM   #7
Digital Video Expert
Digital Video Expert
 
sonic_emperor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: croatia
Posts: 560
Default

thats good news...i got procoder....so should i use it for all,or could i for ex. use it at hight bitrts,and AutoQmatEnc for low bitrates?would that be reasonable?

where can i find a guide how to configure procoder(if theres anithing as such,i'm downloading quicktime at the moment as i cant really open procoder app without qt6 or higher...
sonic_emperor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7 Mar 2006, 02:53 AM   #8
Digital Video Expert
Digital Video Expert
 
sonic_emperor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: croatia
Posts: 560
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Furiousg
The bitrate will depend on how much compression a certain title will need to fit on your desired media. If you have a 3 hour movie at 4.3GB, compared to a 2 hour movie at 4.3GB, the 3 hour movie will still use the same total amount of information, but it will be spread a little "thinner" over the playtime of the film, hence the lower bitrate.
i knew that....i always back up just the movie,without extras and menu,and additiona languages(audio & subtitles)...i think thats the good way to save some bitrate,and i get nervous when i have to loose 10 mins just to set up the movie to what i want...
thats why i got dvdrb pro...it was kind of annoying to prepare each movie with shrink,and than "rebuild" it
sonic_emperor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7 Mar 2006, 03:06 AM   #9
Super Moderator
 
UncasMS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 9,047
Default

there is not much to do with procoder in order to run it

c.f. my quickstart guide; you will need to address eclpro in rebuilder's setup

use procoder for most if not all encodings and in case you want to save some time, use hc or cce with higher bitrates
(like i said: i'd use cce only for more than 3500kbps)
UncasMS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7 Mar 2006, 03:10 AM   #10
If you have any poo....throw it now
 
Furiousg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 306
Default

I think I prefer HC to CCE. The time difference is minimal, but the results seem a lot cleaner with HC. Which is definately impressive for a free encoder
As far as settings with Procoder, I believe menu-wise there is only the speed/quality settings. I do most of my encodes overnight, so speed really isn't an issue for myself.
Furiousg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7 Mar 2006, 03:33 AM   #11
Digital Video Expert
Digital Video Expert
 
sonic_emperor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: croatia
Posts: 560
Default

i do the same,my "hc time" was round 520mins encoding+round 15-20mins for other jobs...its nice that procoder works with all....i wasnt even considering cce,i must admit...
sonic_emperor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7 Mar 2006, 10:01 AM   #12
Not a god of digital video
 
blutach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: is everything!
Posts: 24,627
Default

Procoder's (v2) expensive, but it reigns supreme in my book. It just does so damn much.

HC is very good. I'll offend some folks here (and at doom9), but CCE ain't worth paying $$$ for IMHO.

Regards
__________________
Les

Essential progs - [PgcEdit] [VobBlanker] [MenuShrink] [IfoEdit] [Muxman] [DVD Remake Pro] [DVD Rebuilder] [BeSweet] [Media Player Classic] [DVDSubEdit] [ImgBurn]

Media and Burning - [Golden Rules of Burning] [Media quality] [Fix your DMA] [Update your Firmware] [What's my Media ID Code?] [How to test your disc]
[What's bitsetting?] [Burn dual layer disks safely] [Why not to burn with Ner0] [Interpret Ner0's burn errors] [Got bad playback?] [Burner/Media compatibility]

Cool Techniques - [2COOL's guides] [Clean your DVD] [Join a flipper] [Split into 2 DVDs] [Save heaps of Mb] [How to mock strip] [Cool Insert Clips]

Real useful info - [FAQ INDEX] [Compression explained] [Logical Remapping of Enabled Streams] [DVD-Replica] [Fantastic info on DVDs]


You should only use genuine Verbatim or Taiyo Yuden media. Many thanks to www.pcx.com.au for their supply and great service.

Explore the sites and the programs - there's a gold mine of information in them

Don't forget to play the Digital Digest Quiz!!! (Click here)

blutach is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What kind of bs is this new commercial about piracy? nucklbone Boycotts/Protests/Petitions/Rants 68 14 Oct 2006 12:17 PM
Freeware v Commercial MrE_H DVD Blank Media, Burning, Recording Hardware 5 16 Oct 2004 09:41 AM
High-End Hollywood Quality Mpeg2 Encoders Deepa DVD General Discussions 0 21 Mar 2002 11:45 AM
High-End Hollywood Quality Mpeg2 Encoders Deepa DVD DVD Authoring and Editing 0 21 Mar 2002 11:43 AM



All times are GMT +10. The time now is 10:07 AM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com