Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Software Forums > DVD Rebuilder

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 26 Jan 2007, 11:38 AM   #1
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
catthepatch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sunny Southern Alberta
Posts: 16
Question Getting Software?

Have just upgraded to Pro and have not seen a speed increase, more features, still a newbie, will take time. I hope that getting an encoder program like CCE Basic will speed things up. Thing is I don't have a credit card and have only found links that need it. Are there any links that use PayPal?
catthepatch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 Jan 2007, 12:09 PM   #2
BR7
He is coming to your little town!
 
BR7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sioux City,IA
Posts: 2,137
Default

The speed of things will depend on what type of processor you are using
__________________

My Blu-ray Collection
BR7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Jan 2007, 06:47 AM   #3
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
catthepatch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sunny Southern Alberta
Posts: 16
Default

I am using an AMD Sempron 2800, 1Gb ram, 60Gb HD, 128Mb graphics card and a 300Gb external HD. My thoughts are to getting CCE software, is the cost going to be worth the wait since I have to send a money order. I have no credit card, and the site does not accept PayPal.
catthepatch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Jan 2007, 06:55 AM   #4
BR7
He is coming to your little town!
 
BR7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sioux City,IA
Posts: 2,137
Default

I am not sure how fast CCE is because I never used it.I felt HC and AutoQMatENC were just as good as CCE based on the test results I seen posted from others.If your worried about time then just let it run while your sleeping,if you have more then one movie to do then use batch mode
BR7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Jan 2007, 08:05 AM   #5
Super Member
Super Member
 
shrink0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 247
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BR7 View Post
I am not sure how fast CCE is because I never used it.I felt HC and AutoQMatENC were just as good as CCE based on the test results I seen posted from others.If your worried about time then just let it run while your sleeping,if you have more then one movie to do then use batch mode
Hey BR7 thanks for all tips!! how does AQmat compare to HC in time and quality? I'd like to try AQ. I've got pro as well and do I just choose to run it by clicking that mode ,or do i need to change other settings? TIA!!!!
shrink0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Jan 2007, 08:18 AM   #6
Super Moderator
 
UncasMS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 9,047
Default

search the rebuilder forum for a couple of "comparisons" (hc + cce among others) and you may find that hc is a marvellous piece of software especially since it is total freeware

rather than buying cce trial maybe think of spending the money on a faster cpu!?

concerning speed take a look at this (old) idct comparison:
http://forum.digital-digest.com/showthread.php?t=55813


some comparisons:
http://forum.digital-digest.com/showthread.php?t=57569
http://forum.digital-digest.com/showthread.php?t=54679
http://forum.digital-digest.com/showthread.php?t=54761
http://forum.digital-digest.com/showthread.php?t=63668

Last edited by UncasMS; 27 Jan 2007 at 08:25 AM
UncasMS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Jan 2007, 09:44 AM   #7
Super Member
Super Member
 
shrink0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 247
Default

Thanks UncasMS ! In my pro HC settings ,should I click the One pass CQ VBR (with analysis) setting? And will that improve my encode times, based on your tests ? And what does the C in CQ stand for? TIA again!!!!
shrink0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Jan 2007, 10:22 AM   #8
BR7
He is coming to your little town!
 
BR7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sioux City,IA
Posts: 2,137
Default

With HC I always use 2-pass and set it to best and with AutoQMatENC I set it to 3-Pass with qmatop enabaled
BR7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Jan 2007, 11:32 AM   #9
Super Member
Super Member
 
shrink0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 247
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BR7 View Post
With HC I always use 2-pass and set it to best and with AutoQMatENC I set it to 3-Pass with qmatop enabaled
BR7, in your opinion ,is there a significant diff. in quality using 2-pass as opposed to OPV and quality best ( slowest)? what about encode time? I read somewhere that anything over 2-pass just a waste of time! At this moment I'm running my Lord of War backup (on another PC) with HC encode ,One pass VBR clicked, and noticed it is encoding at a faster pace. However quality is my main concern !!!!
shrink0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Jan 2007, 12:10 PM   #10
Super Member
Super Member
 
shrink0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 247
Default

Hey ,here's my log, from previous post! What do you guys think? TIA.

[14:50:22] Phase I, PREPARATION started.
- DVD-RB v1.21.0
- AVISYNTH 2.5.6.0
- HC encoder selected
- "One Pass VBR (w/analysis)" mode is enabled.
- Source: LORD_OF_WAR
- VTS_01: 3,832,956 sectors.
-- Scanning and writing .D2V & .AVS files
-- Processed 175,302 frames.
-- Building .AVS and .ECL files
- Reduction Level for DVD-5: 55.8%
- Overall Bitrate : 4,969/3,976Kbs
- Space for Video : 3,548,310KB
- Analyzing VTS_01 for optimal CQ factor.
-- TargetSize (sectors):1,800,767
-- Sampling 3516 of 175302 frames.
-- Predicted size (sectors) at CQ=2.5: 2,803,482
-- Predicted size (sectors) at CQ=3.8: 1,867,659
-- Predicted size (sectors) at CQ=3.9: 1,835,539
-- Predicted size (sectors) at CQ=16.9: 334,842
-- Predicted size (sectors) at CQ=10.4: 507,903
-- Predicted size (sectors) at CQ=7.2: 844,392
-- Predicted size (sectors) at CQ=5.6: 1,086,827
-- Predicted size (sectors) at CQ=4.8: 1,353,342
-- Predicted size (sectors) at CQ=4.4: 1,579,148
-- Predicted size (sectors) at CQ=4.2: 1,696,920
-- Predicted size (sectors) at CQ=4.0: 1,811,879
- CQ Value selected: 4.0
- HIGH/LOW/TYPICAL Bitrates: 4,255/400/3,976 Kbs
[15:17:17] Phase I, PREPARATION completed in 27 minutes.
[15:17:17] Phase II ENCODING started
- Creating M2V for VTS_01 segment 0
- Creating M2V for VTS_01 segment 1
- Creating M2V for VTS_01 segment 2
- Creating M2V for VTS_01 segment 3
- Creating M2V for VTS_01 segment 4
- Creating M2V for VTS_01 segment 5
- Creating M2V for VTS_01 segment 6
- Creating M2V for VTS_01 segment 7
- Creating M2V for VTS_01 segment 8
- Creating M2V for VTS_01 segment 9
- Creating M2V for VTS_01 segment 10
- Creating M2V for VTS_01 segment 11
- Creating M2V for VTS_01 segment 12
- Creating M2V for VTS_01 segment 13
- Creating M2V for VTS_01 segment 14
- Creating M2V for VTS_01 segment 15
- Creating M2V for VTS_01 segment 16
- Creating M2V for VTS_01 segment 17
- Creating M2V for VTS_01 segment 18
- Creating M2V for VTS_01 segment 19
- Creating M2V for VTS_01 segment 20
- Creating M2V for VTS_01 segment 21
- Creating M2V for VTS_01 segment 22
- Creating M2V for VTS_01 segment 23
- Creating M2V for VTS_01 segment 24
- Creating M2V for VTS_01 segment 25
- Creating M2V for VTS_01 segment 26
- Creating M2V for VTS_01 segment 27
- Creating M2V for VTS_01 segment 28
- Creating M2V for VTS_01 segment 29
[16:43:22] Phase II ENCODING completed in 86 minutes.
[16:43:22] Phase III, REBUILD started.
- Copying IFO, BUP, and unaltered files...
- Processing VTS_01
- Reading/processing TMAP table...
- Rebuilding seg 0 VOBID 1 CELLID 1
- Rebuilding seg 1 VOBID 1 CELLID 2
- Rebuilding seg 2 VOBID 1 CELLID 3
- Rebuilding seg 3 VOBID 1 CELLID 4
- Rebuilding seg 4 VOBID 1 CELLID 5
- Rebuilding seg 5 VOBID 1 CELLID 6
- Rebuilding seg 6 VOBID 1 CELLID 7
- Rebuilding seg 7 VOBID 1 CELLID 8
- Rebuilding seg 8 VOBID 1 CELLID 9
- Rebuilding seg 9 VOBID 1 CELLID 10
- Rebuilding seg 10 VOBID 1 CELLID 11
- Rebuilding seg 11 VOBID 1 CELLID 12
- Rebuilding seg 12 VOBID 1 CELLID 13
- Rebuilding seg 13 VOBID 1 CELLID 14
- Rebuilding seg 14 VOBID 1 CELLID 15
- Rebuilding seg 15 VOBID 1 CELLID 16
- Rebuilding seg 16 VOBID 1 CELLID 17
- Rebuilding seg 17 VOBID 1 CELLID 18
- Rebuilding seg 18 VOBID 1 CELLID 19
- Rebuilding seg 19 VOBID 1 CELLID 20
- Rebuilding seg 20 VOBID 1 CELLID 21
- Rebuilding seg 21 VOBID 1 CELLID 22
- Rebuilding seg 22 VOBID 1 CELLID 23
- Rebuilding seg 23 VOBID 1 CELLID 24
- Rebuilding seg 24 VOBID 1 CELLID 25
- Rebuilding seg 25 VOBID 1 CELLID 26
- Rebuilding seg 26 VOBID 1 CELLID 27
- Rebuilding seg 27 VOBID 1 CELLID 28
- Rebuilding seg 28 VOBID 1 CELLID 29
- Rebuilding seg 29 VOBID 1 CELLID 30
- Updating NAVPACKS for VOBID_01
- Updated VTS_C_ADT.
- Updated VTS_VOBU_ADMAP.
- Updated IFO: VTS_01_0.IFO
- Updating TMAP table...
- Correcting VTS Sectors...
[16:57:48] Phase III, REBUILD completed in 14 minutes.

Done.
[16:57:48] PREPARE/ENCODE/REBUILD completed in 127 min.
shrink0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Jan 2007, 01:04 PM   #11
BR7
He is coming to your little town!
 
BR7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sioux City,IA
Posts: 2,137
Default

For low bit rate stuff IMO it is better to do two pass with HC if you got a movie that is high bit rate I would say you can get a way with one pass or even use DVD Shrink for that matter.I can't really tell you what looks good you would have to judge that for your self all you have to do is set DVDRB do the same part of the movie about 10-15 minutes should do, one with one pass the other with two pass and see which you like best.IMHO if your going to do one pass you may as well use shrink I am sure others may disagree but that's the way I look at it
Quote:
Reduction Level for DVD-5: 55.8%
- Overall Bitrate : 4,969/3,976Kbs
- Space for Video : 3,548,310KB
With what you got posted above I would have used two pass

Last edited by BR7; 27 Jan 2007 at 01:14 PM
BR7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Jan 2007, 02:55 PM   #12
Super Member
Super Member
 
shrink0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 247
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BR7 View Post
For low bit rate stuff IMO it is better to do two pass with HC if you got a movie that is high bit rate I would say you can get a way with one pass or even use DVD Shrink for that matter.I can't really tell you what looks good you would have to judge that for your self all you have to do is set DVDRB do the same part of the movie about 10-15 minutes should do, one with one pass the other with two pass and see which you like best.IMHO if your going to do one pass you may as well use shrink I am sure others may disagree but that's the way I look at it

With what you got posted above I would have used two pass
Thanks BR7 ,I'm going to run the same movie with 2-pass and see quality diff.
I've used shrink and Rip4me on many backups and it seems to me thatDVDRB kicks Ars, but I'm a noob to DVDRB and just my HO!!!!,I accept and will utilize the experts/more knowledgeable tips from you all! Thanks a bunch, DVDRB pro rocks!!!!

Last edited by shrink0; 29 Jan 2007 at 02:33 AM
shrink0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Jan 2007, 09:37 AM   #13
Digital Video Enthusiast
Digital Video Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 324
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by catthepatch View Post
I am using an AMD Sempron 2800, 1Gb ram, 60Gb HD, 128Mb graphics card and a 300Gb external HD. My thoughts are to getting CCE software, is the cost going to be worth the wait since I have to send a money order. I have no credit card, and the site does not accept PayPal.
You are probably seeing a significant slowdown from using an external hard drive. Neither USB 2.0 nor Firewire is even close to as fast as an internal ATA 100 drive -- let alone SATA...
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Jan 2007, 10:01 AM   #14
Super Moderator
 
UncasMS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 9,047
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shrink0 View Post
Thanks UncasMS ! In my pro HC settings ,should I click the One pass CQ VBR (with analysis) setting? And will that improve my encode times, based on your tests ? And what does the C in CQ stand for? TIA again!!!!
1 pass will improve encoding times to a certain degree but may decrease quality in some cases

i think you better use 2 pass - i only used 1 pass because i wanted to test the effect of idct's on the encoding speed and running an entire movie a dozen times takes a lot of time so i went for the shortest possible solutions

the C stands for CONSTANT if i'm not mistaken
UncasMS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Jan 2007, 11:03 AM   #15
Digital Video Enthusiast
Digital Video Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 324
Default

Yep. CQ = Constant Quantization. It means that every picture will be encoded with the same quantization level -- making them all the same (approximate) quality. In CQ bitrate varies dramatically -- but keeps quality consistent.

The loss in overall quality you get from CQ is in the fact that the output size is approximated based upon some sampling during PREPARE -- while with 2 pass you get a very accurate output size (utilizing all the bits).
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is the best software to use? stylings300 General Discussions 1 11 Oct 2006 12:32 PM
software help cpk333 DVD Blank Media, Burning, Recording Hardware 1 27 Dec 2004 06:17 PM
ATI DVD Software jcsston DVD Encoding and Playback 0 13 Nov 2002 11:07 AM



All times are GMT +10. The time now is 09:48 AM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com