Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Software Forums > DVD Rebuilder

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 7 Mar 2006, 04:38 PM   #1
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Great white north
Posts: 31
Default I am confused!

The backups I have made using rebuilder will only paly on the newest dvd player in the house. The other players tell me the disc cannot be played.

I am having a hard time beliveing its a problem with rebuilder. I believe I must have over looked something but I can not figure it out.

I have converted the files that rebuilded has generated to an iso using folder2iso. Then burn with DVDD.

When I explore the backups made with rebuilder in windows the audio_ts folders are empty as expected. The video_ts folders look to have the correct structure and all the nessary files.

I have extracted an iso file that folder2iso made for me from a rebuilder back up and ran it through shrink, the resulting iso from shrink that DVDD burned plays on all players.

Any help in this matter will be welcome.

Thank you
Doug
spinner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7 Mar 2006, 04:52 PM   #2
Not a god of digital video
 
blutach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: is everything!
Posts: 24,627
Default

Sounds like folder2iso might be to blame. DVDRB makes its own ISOs, you know - why don't you try that?

Also, what media/firmware etc are you using? It might be a burning issue. Read the Golden Rules of Burning in my signature.

Regards
__________________
Les

Essential progs - [PgcEdit] [VobBlanker] [MenuShrink] [IfoEdit] [Muxman] [DVD Remake Pro] [DVD Rebuilder] [BeSweet] [Media Player Classic] [DVDSubEdit] [ImgBurn]

Media and Burning - [Golden Rules of Burning] [Media quality] [Fix your DMA] [Update your Firmware] [What's my Media ID Code?] [How to test your disc]
[What's bitsetting?] [Burn dual layer disks safely] [Why not to burn with Ner0] [Interpret Ner0's burn errors] [Got bad playback?] [Burner/Media compatibility]

Cool Techniques - [2COOL's guides] [Clean your DVD] [Join a flipper] [Split into 2 DVDs] [Save heaps of Mb] [How to mock strip] [Cool Insert Clips]

Real useful info - [FAQ INDEX] [Compression explained] [Logical Remapping of Enabled Streams] [DVD-Replica] [Fantastic info on DVDs]


You should only use genuine Verbatim or Taiyo Yuden media. Many thanks to www.pcx.com.au for their supply and great service.

Explore the sites and the programs - there's a gold mine of information in them

Don't forget to play the Digital Digest Quiz!!! (Click here)

blutach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7 Mar 2006, 06:25 PM   #3
Banned
 
techreactor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,309
Default

Are these very old players, then they might need the Audio_TS folder in the DVD also for compatibility.
techreactor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7 Mar 2006, 07:08 PM   #4
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Great white north
Posts: 31
Default

Thank you for the quick response. No, I was unaware that that DVDRB could generate an iso for me. I was following a guide that suggested using folder2iso as a path to take. Unfortunately it seems that DVDRB dose not receive the attention it merits in the form of threads started and guides generated, or perhaps I might have learned that by now.
fficeffice" />>>
My firmware is up to date thanks to your signature as of last month.
>>
I am using Ridata Ritek 8X and I burn at 4X
>>
@Techreactor My other backups have no problems playing in all dvd player. The files on the dvds that don’t work do have audio_ts folders. I am close to certain that Blu is correct regarding folder2iso.
>>
Many thanks
Doug
spinner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7 Mar 2006, 07:36 PM   #5
Super Moderator
 
UncasMS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 9,047
Default

the freeware edition does NOT have the "output to iso" option
UncasMS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7 Mar 2006, 09:34 PM   #6
Not a god of digital video
 
blutach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: is everything!
Posts: 24,627
Default

Then consider making an ISO with PgcEdit - see here.

Regards
blutach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8 Mar 2006, 08:10 AM   #7
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Great white north
Posts: 31
Default

the guide for using Pgcedit to create an iso is great!

Problem solved!

much appreciated.

Did I degrade DVDRB's effort by having shrink recreate an iso?

Doug
spinner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8 Mar 2006, 08:54 AM   #8
Not a god of digital video
 
blutach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: is everything!
Posts: 24,627
Default

Not if it already fitted onto a DVD5 - it just runs through with no compression etc. Setting DVD Shrink to "No compression" means it just does nothing.

Regards
blutach is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I'm confused ElJester Off Topic 4 25 Jul 2005 07:19 PM
Confused!! mstyra2u General Discussions 2 4 Jun 2002 02:14 AM



All times are GMT +10. The time now is 10:04 AM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com