Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Software Forums > DVD Rebuilder

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 5 Jun 2006, 09:04 AM   #1
Super Member
Super Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 201
Default Seriously considering Pro Coder 2.0

Ok. I just recently purchased Dvd Rebulder Pro. I have been using HCC encoder on the best quality settings, and have been more than happy with the results. However, I am extremly Obssesive Compulsive when it comes to quality. I have been reading these forums and others and pro coder is highly liked and seems to produce the finest quality backups. Is it correct that it costs around $450 dollars?? (I want to make sure I am not getting ripped off or anything). Also, Does it need to be used with anything? Filters or any kind of special settings? or can it just be used alone on best quality mode in Rebuilder and produce amazing backups? Also it doesn't darken backups does it? I read that somewhere on these forums. Thanks for any info you can give me. I am thinking about ordering it later this week.
youthinksoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5 Jun 2006, 09:48 AM   #2
Super Moderator
 
anonymez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5,525
Default

Quote:
Also it doesn't darken backups does it? I read that somewhere on these forums
procoder and CCE only accept YUY2. since dvd is YV12, a colourspace conversion is needed before encoding. converttoyuy2() should always be included in the script. that may or may not change the levels a bit (it shouldn't really, if done within avisynth) but if it does, can always be remedied with tweak()

as for your main question, can't answer it-- i don't have procoder, and don't use dvd rebuilder, sorry!
__________________
"What were the things in Gremlins called?" - Karl Pilkington


Last edited by anonymez; 5 Jun 2006 at 10:14 AM
anonymez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5 Jun 2006, 09:54 AM   #3
Not a god of digital video
 
blutach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: is everything!
Posts: 24,627
Default

It is seriously good - does just about anything.

http://canopus.com/products/ProCoderSW/index.php

It's quite slow, however, (in mastering quality mode) and does cost a lot, yes (US$500 IIRC). I use it without filters and the output is sensational, especially for low BR material.

Regards
__________________
Les

Essential progs - [PgcEdit] [VobBlanker] [MenuShrink] [IfoEdit] [Muxman] [DVD Remake Pro] [DVD Rebuilder] [BeSweet] [Media Player Classic] [DVDSubEdit] [ImgBurn]

Media and Burning - [Golden Rules of Burning] [Media quality] [Fix your DMA] [Update your Firmware] [What's my Media ID Code?] [How to test your disc]
[What's bitsetting?] [Burn dual layer disks safely] [Why not to burn with Ner0] [Interpret Ner0's burn errors] [Got bad playback?] [Burner/Media compatibility]

Cool Techniques - [2COOL's guides] [Clean your DVD] [Join a flipper] [Split into 2 DVDs] [Save heaps of Mb] [How to mock strip] [Cool Insert Clips]

Real useful info - [FAQ INDEX] [Compression explained] [Logical Remapping of Enabled Streams] [DVD-Replica] [Fantastic info on DVDs]


You should only use genuine Verbatim or Taiyo Yuden media. Many thanks to www.pcx.com.au for their supply and great service.

Explore the sites and the programs - there's a gold mine of information in them

Don't forget to play the Digital Digest Quiz!!! (Click here)


Last edited by blutach; 5 Jun 2006 at 10:01 AM
blutach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5 Jun 2006, 11:52 AM   #4
If you have any poo....throw it now
 
Furiousg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 306
Default

Time Constraints:

I am encoding Season One/Disc 2 of the Trailer Park Boys right now with a filter ( Removegrain ) and Procoder2 on Mastering Quality...Disc1 took me 667 minutes from Prepare to Completed ISO creation. Time is quite irrelevant for me though, as I usually let it run over-night, and the quality is well worth it
__________________
-FuriousG-



Furiousg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8 Jun 2006, 02:46 AM   #5
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 25
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by anonymez
procoder and CCE only accept YUY2. since dvd is YV12, a colourspace conversion is needed before encoding. converttoyuy2() should always be included in the script. that may or may not change the levels a bit (it shouldn't really, if done within avisynth) but if it does, can always be remedied with tweak()

as for your main question, can't answer it-- i don't have procoder, and don't use dvd rebuilder, sorry!
wondering is "converttoyuy2()" just a instruction or do i have to d/l a filter and place it in the avisynth filter folder
also should i only use that script if i'm encoding a dvd movie or can i use that if i'm encoding a movie that i encoded my self to dvd mpeg

Last edited by chris_j11; 8 Jun 2006 at 02:48 AM
chris_j11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8 Jun 2006, 09:43 AM   #6
Super Moderator
 
anonymez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5,525
Default

converttoyuy2() is an internal function, no need to download anything

Quote:
also should i only use that script if i'm encoding a dvd movie or can i use that if i'm encoding a movie that i encoded my self to dvd mpeg
depends; if the colourspace is already YUY2 then there's no need. dvd's are YV12
anonymez is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Optimal Import setting in Premiere Pro 1.5 ? aku General Discussions 0 16 Sep 2005 06:37 PM
screenshots 2 UncasMS DVD Rebuilder 3 2 Sep 2005 10:43 AM
Which Is Better DivX Pro 5.2 or DivX Pro 5.0.5 zx50 AVI, DivX/Xvid 2 11 Sep 2003 02:45 PM
is 'DivX 5.0' codec different from 'DivX 5.0 Pro' codec ?? VanDine Junior Members/Newbies 9 18 Nov 2002 10:04 AM



All times are GMT +10. The time now is 06:26 PM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com