Digital Video Forums  

Go Back   Digital Video Forums > Software Forums > DVD Rebuilder

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10 Mar 2006, 01:24 AM   #1
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 6
Default For those who use Procoder

I'm quite pleased with the encoding results when using Procoder2, but one thing Ive noticed is that the high/low/typical bitrate value shown in rebuilder after prepare phase is not accurate. Anyway, for instance, if the typical bitrate is calculated to 3.500kbps, procoder wont encode higher than 2000kbps,that goes for high/low values too, they're quite under limit. I tried changing the encoder (used HCenc) on the same movie, the overall bitrate of the movie fits more to the rebuilder prediction(I got this case on every movie).I dont know if this is "under control" by eclPro, sending wrong bitrate values to procoder, or the encoder 'corrects' the values by itself.Whats your opinion on this?
loglord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 Mar 2006, 02:51 AM   #2
Super Moderator
 
UncasMS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 9,047
Default

works fine for me

maybe you should contact canopus
UncasMS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 Mar 2006, 05:27 AM   #3
Digital Video Expert
Digital Video Expert
 
sonic_emperor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: croatia
Posts: 560
Default

i never checked my result movie,if i correctly understood your "case",the result movie bitrate is lower than the one rebuilder "predicted"?
__________________
cro-anthem-video
sonic_emperor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 Mar 2006, 06:26 AM   #4
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 6
Default

exactly. i've downloaded the latest version of eclPro, doing another encoding right now to compare the results.keep you informed
loglord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 Mar 2006, 10:46 AM   #5
Not a god of digital video
 
blutach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: is everything!
Posts: 24,627
Default

Sounds like your settings aren't quite right. You on mastering quality? How many passes? Make sure your matrix is encoder default.

Regards
__________________
Les

Essential progs - [PgcEdit] [VobBlanker] [MenuShrink] [IfoEdit] [Muxman] [DVD Remake Pro] [DVD Rebuilder] [BeSweet] [Media Player Classic] [DVDSubEdit] [ImgBurn]

Media and Burning - [Golden Rules of Burning] [Media quality] [Fix your DMA] [Update your Firmware] [What's my Media ID Code?] [How to test your disc]
[What's bitsetting?] [Burn dual layer disks safely] [Why not to burn with Ner0] [Interpret Ner0's burn errors] [Got bad playback?] [Burner/Media compatibility]

Cool Techniques - [2COOL's guides] [Clean your DVD] [Join a flipper] [Split into 2 DVDs] [Save heaps of Mb] [How to mock strip] [Cool Insert Clips]

Real useful info - [FAQ INDEX] [Compression explained] [Logical Remapping of Enabled Streams] [DVD-Replica] [Fantastic info on DVDs]


You should only use genuine Verbatim or Taiyo Yuden media. Many thanks to www.pcx.com.au for their supply and great service.

Explore the sites and the programs - there's a gold mine of information in them

Don't forget to play the Digital Digest Quiz!!! (Click here)


Last edited by blutach; 10 Mar 2006 at 10:48 AM
blutach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 Mar 2006, 11:23 AM   #6
Super Moderator
 
UncasMS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 9,047
Default

the matrix doesnt matter with procoder - it wont be used
UncasMS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 Mar 2006, 03:15 AM   #7
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 6
Default

Ok, I got more accurate results with the latest version of eclPro, don't know if the version or some setting parameter was involved in this,but the encodes done with procoder and hc are quite similar now, like procoder has lower average bitrate by 100kbs, and the Q factor is also lower by 0.5-0.8 than HC , so I guess HC looses more detail than procoder?Well, it might just be the HC VBR Bias setting too, changing it to higher values would raise the Q level...
cheers
loglord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 Mar 2006, 03:22 AM   #8
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 6
Default

oops, i ment LOWERING the Q level
loglord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Mar 2006, 11:22 PM   #9
Digital Video Expert
Digital Video Expert
 
sonic_emperor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: croatia
Posts: 560
Default

where can i get a never eclpro?i took a look at the results this morning,rebuilder announced 4178 kbps,and i checked it in video calc,but when i turned on my powerdvd and displyed info during play,i got rare that bitrate jumps over 4mbps....
sonic_emperor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 Mar 2006, 02:33 AM   #10
Super Moderator
 
UncasMS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 9,047
Default

the latest version can be found here:

http://forum.digital-digest.com/showthread.php?t=63650
UncasMS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 Mar 2006, 07:15 AM   #11
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 6
Default

@sonic_emperor

If you still got your bitrate lower than predicted, check the Alwaysframe value in eclpro.ini and set it to 1, that means using a frame based encoding. If the value is 0, then field based encoding is enabled, which is stated as 'better' in the readme file of eclPro (that is for interlaced sources).IMHO it only does compatibility problems, video freezes in powerDVD when u play it on higher speeds, like 8x or above, bitrate values might be shown lower than expected, etc. Maybe this is not an issue in the latest eclpro version (1.0)
loglord is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RB 1.03 Pro vs DVD2ONE v2 vs ... UncasMS DVD Rebuilder 88 28 May 2008 02:51 PM
DVD-RB with Procoder express billywizz DVD Rebuilder 5 9 Feb 2006 03:22 AM
Procoder express zest DVD Rebuilder 4 7 Jan 2006 09:32 PM
DVD-Rebuilder + (CCE 2.5 or 2.7) or (ProCoder 1.5 or 2.0) ??? puraido DVD Rebuilder 21 21 Dec 2005 10:43 AM
Canopus ProCoder Vs TmPGEnc AussieWaz Junior Members/Newbies 2 24 Jan 2004 10:46 AM



All times are GMT +10. The time now is 06:28 PM.

Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2018 Digital Digest

Visit DivXLand   Visit dvdloc8.com